We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only if your desperate..” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on Broadway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Inn on Broadway to your Saves list
Inn on Broadway
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2201 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Formerly Broadway Manor Inn) (Pacific Heights)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #152 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Brisbane
1 review
“Only if your desperate..”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My best friend and I pulled up at the Broadway inn exhausted from a 2day drive, desperate for a rest Walked into the slightly less appealing "reception area" stained stinky carpet, uninviting stench and terrible service, we continued with our reservation for the price. Parked and took our bags upstairs, the floor throughout the entire place was grubby, the elevator creaked and sounded as if it was struggling to make it up the floors, opened the door to our room where the warm welcome was an overwhelming odour, placed out bags onto the beds, had a quick scan of the room lined with some more heavily stained carpet. Thinking it would be ok, walked into the bathroom to use the toilet only to find it had already been used... STILL giving this place the benefit of the doubt we left our things and went to dinner down the street. After walking by far more appealing inns at basically the same price, we started to re think. Asked a few locals what we could expect and our response from each differed between, paper thin walls "dont expect any shut eye if youre a light sleeper" too having randoms bashing on your door during the night, and the deal breaker... "possible bed bugs". Feeling dirty, we booked a new room at a place down the street, we returned to get our stuff and drop the key back to the front desk where we sugar coated why we were leaving to save the staff at the counter embarrassment, after the rude response and disgusting service we received she said she could try get a refund organised but we would have to phone later as her manager was out. Phoned back around 30mins later to see the progress on the refund, only to be told our bed had been used.. ( top sheet slightly peeled back to search for those bed bugs) and only half the price could be refunded THEN HUNG UP ON US. Absolutely disgraceful! Travelled across the whole US and not once did we come across a place as horrendous as this.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    88
    82
    44
    42
See reviews for
70
94
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Ok... so Van Ness Avenue is noisy. The constant drone of daytime and evening traffic is not the problem... it's the 3am dump trucks, fire engines and street sweepers that will wrench you from the arms of Morpheus.

However... If you can get a room 3 or 4 back from the road (and not overlooking Broadway), you'll probably be fine. I was initially in a room on the Van Ness end and it was dire. I asked to be moved and the receptionist was happy to oblige, moving me to a room about 4 from the end, and it was MUCH better.

Also, if you turn on the air con, you might notice a faint urine smell. I thought someone had pee'd on the air inlet, but later discovered (when I changed rooms) this is the smell of the carpet 'freshener'.

The location (Pacific Heights) is great. Very safe and charming, with a regular bus service right out front, a great brunch diner on the corner and the cool neighbourhood area of Polk St and Union St (rather upmarket) each a short walk away.

I was in town on the busiest weekend of the year and was left with limited options for reasonably priced accommodation. I made a good choice (once I'd moved rooms).

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room in the northern wing (where the reception is) and at least 3 units from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Ca
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I have stayed at this clean and comfortable hotel over the past few years. It's ALWAYS CLEAN and very convenient to the night life and public transportation. They have free parking too.

I usually stay here for Business and recommend it to friends that don't want to pay $400.00 and up in SF.

The manager Rahil, does a great job to make sure you have a good stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This hotel is what I expected. It had a refridgerator and a microwave, the shower was nice. The bed wasn't all that great but I've had worse. The floor was squeaky but that's ok. The room was clean. Staff was friendly. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hueneme, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

First, let me say-- this is San Francisco-- it's old and most of it's buildings are old; it's very high density and built on the steepest angled streets I've ever seen--and I am fairly well traveled. San Francisco can be an expensive place to visit--hotel rooms no matter where in this city are expensive and parking can be too. All things considered this is a great motel for the price in a great location. You are quite close to all attractions here. The neighborhood is middling but nice. We had a coupon from HotelCoupons.com/formerly RoomSaver-- their magazines can be found at Dennie's and other traveler frequented locations--gas stations, national restaurant chains, etc. We highly recommend checking these mags or going online to print their coupons to get a bargain on a room--the rooms with such discounts are limited but worth the effort. They did not have any of the Coupon Rate rooms left but gave us Senior and AAA discounts so we still paid less than we would have anywhere else we checked. The room was clean, smelled good, rather spacious for a budget motel, free wifi and free parking in the underground garage--THIS IS PRICELESS in San Francisco where many hotels charge for parking as well!! Very quiet when we were there, Sept. 23-24. The only thing noisy is the elevator--it sounds like it is falling apart going up, but quiet as a mouse if you're going down---it just made us laugh. About 5 blocks from Chinatown and Little Italy which has some fabulous places to have a Cappuccino and a pastry in the morning---it's like walking thru a European Village. We will definitely stay here next time we come to SF.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and I think the higher up you go, the less likely you are to be bothered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Espensive , Old Beds, RUDE CUSTOMER SERVICES and every morning when you have to take the elevator you Find out that all around smells like a Dirty Restroom!!!! and the bad part of all this you talk about this problems with the Manager he say is because you paid so little you get this services!!!!!

Room Tip: Well never in this hotel but when you come to San Francisco get a hotel more close to the Financial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Pros:
The location is prime. Lot's of nightlife down Polk for blocks in either direction. Start with Nick's on Broadway and Polk. Lots of shops, restaurants, bars, etc to satisfy all your needs. Easy enough to get around to other parts of the city. Safe, clean and hip.

The room was very clean. Checked thoroughly for bed bugs and was completely satisfied that there weren't any. Mattress, linens and towels were adequate. Room stayed cool with ac and it was not too loud. All in all, it was just fine, not dumpy at all.

This hotel was half priced from equivalent hotels around the city. When I return to SF, I will stay here again because it really is a steal. FREE PARKING!!!

Cons:
The maid comes in even if you put up do not disturb sign. I stayed 3 nights and did not need new towels or sheets. The maid came in anyways. Not awful, but I dont like strangers near my personal belongings.

Truly can not name another con. The hotel is across the street from a beautiful stone cathedral so you are immediately drawn into SF's beauty at your first step out the hotel room. Stay here if you like a true bargain and hidden gem.

Room Tip: I had a room on the first floor which made for easy access to the street and my car in the parking l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on Broadway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Broadway

Address: 2201 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Formerly Broadway Manor Inn)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on Broadway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly and completely renovated, the Inn on Broadway welcomes you. Our customer service staff receives each guest with exceptional service and a pleasant smile. FREE PARKING is available for all of our guests. Our on-site restaurant offers a quick and delicious way to grab a bite to eat before exploring San Francisco's beauty. Located in a safe and convenient neighborhood of San Francisco, the Inn on Broadway is within walking distance of the legendary Cable Car route, Fisherman's Wharf, Chinatown and our City's famous 'Crookedest Street'. The Inn on Broadway's spacious rooms include: Flat Screen TVs, In-room microwave & fridge, Modern and newly renovated rooms, In-room coffee and tea, FREE Hi-speed wireless Internet access, Expanded Cable TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN100% Non-smoking rooms, Iron & ironing boards, Direct dial phones with dataport. The Inn on Broadway is a quality approved member of AAA and the San Francisco Convention and Visitor's Bureau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Inn on Broadway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Broadway Hotel San Francisco
Broadway Manor Hotel
Broadway Manor San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on Broadway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.