We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and price was good too!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on Broadway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Inn on Broadway to your Saves list
Inn on Broadway
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2201 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Formerly Broadway Manor Inn) (Pacific Heights)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #157 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
San Jose, Ca
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great Location and price was good too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I have stayed at this clean and comfortable hotel over the past few years. It's ALWAYS CLEAN and very convenient to the night life and public transportation. They have free parking too.

I usually stay here for Business and recommend it to friends that don't want to pay $400.00 and up in SF.

The manager Rahil, does a great job to make sure you have a good stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sacramento
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This hotel is what I expected. It had a refridgerator and a microwave, the shower was nice. The bed wasn't all that great but I've had worse. The floor was squeaky but that's ok. The room was clean. Staff was friendly. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

First, let me say-- this is San Francisco-- it's old and most of it's buildings are old; it's very high density and built on the steepest angled streets I've ever seen--and I am fairly well traveled. San Francisco can be an expensive place to visit--hotel rooms no matter where in this city are expensive and parking can be too. All things considered this is a great motel for the price in a great location. You are quite close to all attractions here. The neighborhood is middling but nice. We had a coupon from HotelCoupons.com/formerly RoomSaver-- their magazines can be found at Dennie's and other traveler frequented locations--gas stations, national restaurant chains, etc. We highly recommend checking these mags or going online to print their coupons to get a bargain on a room--the rooms with such discounts are limited but worth the effort. They did not have any of the Coupon Rate rooms left but gave us Senior and AAA discounts so we still paid less than we would have anywhere else we checked. The room was clean, smelled good, rather spacious for a budget motel, free wifi and free parking in the underground garage--THIS IS PRICELESS in San Francisco where many hotels charge for parking as well!! Very quiet when we were there, Sept. 23-24. The only thing noisy is the elevator--it sounds like it is falling apart going up, but quiet as a mouse if you're going down---it just made us laugh. About 5 blocks from Chinatown and Little Italy which has some fabulous places to have a Cappuccino and a pastry in the morning---it's like walking thru a European Village. We will definitely stay here next time we come to SF.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and I think the higher up you go, the less likely you are to be bothered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YAYASister70128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Espensive , Old Beds, RUDE CUSTOMER SERVICES and every morning when you have to take the elevator you Find out that all around smells like a Dirty Restroom!!!! and the bad part of all this you talk about this problems with the Manager he say is because you paid so little you get this services!!!!!

Room Tip: Well never in this hotel but when you come to San Francisco get a hotel more close to the Financial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank avasheli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Pros:
The location is prime. Lot's of nightlife down Polk for blocks in either direction. Start with Nick's on Broadway and Polk. Lots of shops, restaurants, bars, etc to satisfy all your needs. Easy enough to get around to other parts of the city. Safe, clean and hip.

The room was very clean. Checked thoroughly for bed bugs and was completely satisfied that there weren't any. Mattress, linens and towels were adequate. Room stayed cool with ac and it was not too loud. All in all, it was just fine, not dumpy at all.

This hotel was half priced from equivalent hotels around the city. When I return to SF, I will stay here again because it really is a steal. FREE PARKING!!!

Cons:
The maid comes in even if you put up do not disturb sign. I stayed 3 nights and did not need new towels or sheets. The maid came in anyways. Not awful, but I dont like strangers near my personal belongings.

Truly can not name another con. The hotel is across the street from a beautiful stone cathedral so you are immediately drawn into SF's beauty at your first step out the hotel room. Stay here if you like a true bargain and hidden gem.

Room Tip: I had a room on the first floor which made for easy access to the street and my car in the parking l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valeriavaliente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

A coworker and I stayed at this hotel after deciding to spend the weekend in San Fran following a business trip. Needless to say she and I (both in our mid-20s) were absolutely terrified staying in this hotel. There were loud parties, crashing furniture, random people banging on our door, etc. We called the front desk numerous times and they did nothing except say something along the lines of "that comes with staying in a hotel". Having traveled extensively for work, I can tell you that does not usually come with staying in a hotel! After a long, long night of no sleep in a room that felt disgustingly filthy, we ended up checking out the next day and demanded a refund of the two-night prepaid amount. After lengthy discussions with the front desk and the manager, we finally were granted a refund which I can say is the only thing remotely positive about this hotel and our experience. We seriously spent the night expecting to be robbed, killed or have something else bad happen to us and were so happy to leave the next day and find a nice, clean hotel in a different part of the city.

I would avoid this hotel at all costs. There are numerous options in San Fran and this hotel is a clear example of "you get what you pay for"!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B-K6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Great location, great staff, great price, safe, respectable clientele, and it was clean. If you're looking for long-term or short-term stay then highly consider it. It's easy to get many of the great areas you will want to see in the great San Francisco!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nyviolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#130 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
SoMa
Civic Center Motor Inn
Civic Center Motor Inn
#181 of 233 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 300 reviews
Encore Express Hotel
#153 of 233 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Redwood Inn
Redwood Inn
#127 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 413 reviews
Nob Hill
Nob Hill Motor Inn
Nob Hill Motor Inn
#105 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 696 reviews
Nob Hill
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#108 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Broadway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Broadway

Address: 2201 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Formerly Broadway Manor Inn)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on Broadway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly and completely renovated, the Inn on Broadway welcomes you. Our customer service staff receives each guest with exceptional service and a pleasant smile. FREE PARKING is available for all of our guests. Our on-site restaurant offers a quick and delicious way to grab a bite to eat before exploring San Francisco's beauty. Located in a safe and convenient neighborhood of San Francisco, the Inn on Broadway is within walking distance of the legendary Cable Car route, Fisherman's Wharf, Chinatown and our City's famous 'Crookedest Street'. The Inn on Broadway's spacious rooms include: Flat Screen TVs, In-room microwave & fridge, Modern and newly renovated rooms, In-room coffee and tea, FREE Hi-speed wireless Internet access, Expanded Cable TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN100% Non-smoking rooms, Iron & ironing boards, Direct dial phones with dataport. The Inn on Broadway is a quality approved member of AAA and the San Francisco Convention and Visitor's Bureau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Inn on Broadway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Broadway Hotel San Francisco
Broadway Manor Hotel
Broadway Manor San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing