We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A solid budget hotel in the Nob Hill area with perks” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Castle Inn to your Saves list
Castle Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1565 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Nob Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“A solid budget hotel in the Nob Hill area with perks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

The Castle Inn was a back-up hotel when we suddenly need an extra night in SF. This is a budget hotel snuggled into a densely packed city, like a motor inn. The rooms are small, plain, but clean. The bathroom was clean, but without ventilation, becoming steamy within minutes of running the shower. The complimentary breakfast is very rudimentary; we skipped it The free parking is a great bonus, though the spaces are tiny and you have to be comfortable navigating your car in cramped quarters. The internet is free. The surrounding neighborhood is okay, but you are a short walk to the bus on Van Ness and cable car on California. If you don't mind budget-level accommodations and only need a staging ground for your SF trip, stay here and enjoy the free perks and excellent location.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    257
    83
    31
    15
See reviews for
130
165
26
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

We booked the Castle Inn quite at the last minute because I couldn't seem to find a good option for us in SF, and got tired of looking at the reviews. We were not disappointed! The hotel offers free parking (but, like all driving in SF, it was difficult to get in/out), the staff gave us a very good map and suggestions (not just endorsements) and were quite friendly, and our room was very nice. Not ritzy, but nice. The only complaint was that, for a change, SF was HOT and if we left our windows open, there were some noisy neighbors, but the hotel cannot control that. Our TV didn't work the first night but they quickly repaired it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

The family (wife and 2 teenage girls) and I stayed here for 2 night in early August. The hotel is basically no friils, with 2 double beds, a bathroom and a mini fridge. It's about a 10 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf. My kids found it creepy and disgusting because it was an old hotel and hadn't really been updated in awhile. It was a good place to sleep because it was very convienent to all the touristy stuff we had planned. It all depends on how you want to look at it. The front desk was very helpful with directions and reservations for a double decker bus tour. There is free parking at the hotel. Plenty of restaurants within 2 blocks. All in all, an OK place to spend a few days. Not luxury, but it serves it's purpose. Free internet, but it was spotty.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

Spent four nights touring the city, and had a great time. Staff provided me with all the information needed to get around on public transit, so didn't even rent a car this time. Russian Hill is a great neighborhood with plenty of dining and easy access to everything. Price seems to have gone way up since my last trip 3 years ago, but that's probably citywide. Would definitely stay there again. GREAT diner at another motel just across the street on Van Ness and good Thai food right on the corner of Polk and Broadway. Venture further south on Polk for a great Tacqueria.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

This is a good clean motel with comfortable beds, fridge and WiFi and free off-street parking. There is ample space in the room, although the bathroom is a bit of a squeeze. Street noise was not a problem and we had no trouble sleeping. We stayed here for four days at the end of July and returned here at the end of August for another three days, because it was such a good base. The staff are fantastic - very helpful - nothing was too much trouble and the advice they provide regarding transport, services, locations to go and those to avoid is invaluable. Restaurants, bars, cafe's and retail stores in Polk and Lombard Streets are within easy walking distance, the area felt safe to walk around day and night, and Chinatown and Fisherman's Wharf are nearby. Access into the city is easy. The Castle Inn is a great place as a base to explore San Francisco.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

The best that can be said is that the hotel is clean and safe and in a good location, and sometimes that's all you need. But . . . everything -- rooms, bathroom especially, lobby, parking stalls -- all very small, almost claustrophobic. The room was pretty dark--see the picture of the narrow ally which is the only source of natural light. Continental breakfast was cold, pre-packaged muffins and yogurt, which you had to take back to your room; no room to eat in the lobby, which was about the size of a typical hotel bathroom. And don't be late for it -- it's swept away at 9 o'clock sharp. My wife walked in as the innkeeper was carrying the tray of muffins away and told her she couldn't take one from the tray! Our room was the farthest back from the street, so we didn't hear street noise, but the guest upstairs was up early every morning, and we heard his/her footsteps, along with some noise from next door. This was the most expensive room on our trip, all the others were far nicer, but admittedly this was the only one in a major city. Next time I'd probably grit my teeth and pay more for nicer accommodations.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

This hotel is not fancy, but it is comfortable. We were looking for a hotel with free parking in San Francisco and found this hotel on Trip Advisor. It has a great location within walking to the pier and cabel car stops. It was comfortable and quite. The room had a refrigerator and microwave. The staff was friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast consisted of muffins, oatmeal, fruit, and coffee/hot chocolate. It was plenty for us and we found a StarBucks just down the street.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Inn

Address: 1565 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94109
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Castle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described by guests as "the ideal place to stay in San Francisco," Castle Inn offers beautiful rooms, a fantastic location, and wonderful, friendly service. With FREE PARKING, FREE wireless internet access, in-room coffee, cable TV with HBO, hairdryers, iron/boards, mini-fridge/freezers, microwaves, a/c, and mini-breakfast, you have all of the comforts of home. Perfectly situated for your SF visit, we are within walking distance to Fisherman?s Wharf, Chinatown, Cable Cars, Crookedest Street, and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel San Francisco
Castle Motel San Francisco
Castle Inn San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.