We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value, absolutely nothing special” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Castle Inn to your Saves list
Castle Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1565 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Nob Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“good value, absolutely nothing special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

we stayed here on our last night after staying in napa and sonoma. i knew that this would be a budget place and had very low expectations.

like others have said, the parking is very tight. the clearance is 6' 5 so if you have an SUV or truck or van, don't plan on parking in the ramp (there are about 8 spots there). there is a little alley you can drive your car into and i saw a SUV there but i would never want to be tasked with parking a truck there - no way.

we were upgraded to a "suite" which was unncessary, but welcome. the guy at the counter (i think his name was Damon?) was very nice, knowledgable and helpful. the room had a sort of 50 or 60's feel and a clean but mothball type smell. i didn't sleep at all but my husband slept soundly. the windows were open and i heard every car drive by, every young person coming home from the bars, etc. all in all, i felt safe, the value couldn't be beat but i would only stay there again for the same scenario - one night before we take our early flight the next morning.

ps we left before 7 a.m. and there was a note on the door that the person would be back at 7:15...we didn't have their breakfast so we can't speak to that.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    266
    94
    33
    18
See reviews for
142
178
27
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

for our anniversary trip, we went to SF and planned to travel the surrounding area. this hotel was a sell for us when we saw it had FREE parking since we would have a rental car!!! the parking accomodates more of a smaller vehicle so keep that in mind. hotel is nothing fancy but good value for its location. don't count on a nice breakfast at this hotel but there is a diner across the street that my husband loved (Peter D's).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

This is the second time staying here, and if your looking for a basic room without the fancy stuff, then this is the place for you.
The rooms are clean and nothing fancy. It's a good place to sleep in. Check in was no problem If you have AAA you can get a discount. Front desk is very informative and give you a map with the popular spots highlighted.
The location is great. Minutes away from russian hill and china town. The trolly is about two blocks away and will take you straight to the pier or the market place. Many pubs and restaurants surrounding the hotel.
I would definitely come back a third time.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We stayed couple of days here in June. The room was very nice & clean with all the needed amneties. We left the car for free parking and walked/used buses. The location was indeed quite nice and centric. We kinda liked the wharf and the walk there was manageable :) The service was great! They helped us to book the needed tours and googled stuff for us. The pool was the only one thing missing as it happened to be quite hot (unusual to Frisco :P).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Nothing special but with the parking included it seems like a good deal. Clean and nice, the parking garage however seemed like it could be better secured. I was a
Iittle concerned with the safety of my car. Overall ok but not great.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

The Castle Inn was a bit of a mixed bag for us. Compared to other hotels and motels in San Francisco, they offer rooms for a decent price and the motel is located in a safe street, almost right between Fisherman's Wharf and the Union Square area. The clerk gave us helpful advice and overall we had an okay stay but it isn't exactly a quiet place. We could hear every single footstep from the room above us loud and clearly, and our room itself while big wasn't in great shape -- the rug looked even downright awful. We probably would stay again but only if we can't find better alternatives.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

this hotel is convenient to everything. We left our car at the hotel (free of charge) and walked or bussed everywhere. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. I would recommend it to anyone. The breakfast was not the best, but there are markets and restaurants in the neighborhood. We also felt very safe walking any where we went.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Inn

Address: 1565 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94109
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Castle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described by guests as "the ideal place to stay in San Francisco," Castle Inn offers beautiful rooms, a fantastic location, and wonderful, friendly service. With FREE PARKING, FREE wireless internet access, in-room coffee, cable TV with HBO, hairdryers, iron/boards, mini-fridge/freezers, microwaves, a/c, and mini-breakfast, you have all of the comforts of home. Perfectly situated for your SF visit, we are within walking distance to Fisherman?s Wharf, Chinatown, Cable Cars, Crookedest Street, and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, BookIt.com and Booking.com so you can book your Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel San Francisco
Castle Motel San Francisco
Castle Inn San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.