We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location, location, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Columbus Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Columbus Motor Inn
Save Saved
You added Columbus Motor Inn to your Saves list
1075 Columbus Ave, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Russian Hill)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct and Save!!
Ranked #31 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Zurich/Switzerland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“location, location, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed at the Columbus Motor Inn 3 years ago and since then they have considerably gone up with the price. We returned for a 3 nights stay because of the great location (a few blocks from Fisherman's Wharf) and the free parking which is a big plus in San Francisco. The rooms are basic and dated, but spacious. Pat's Cafe around the corner is a good place for breakfast and lunch.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    394
    65
    16
    8
See reviews for
302
348
19
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

My boyfriend & I stayed in the hotel for 4 nights during a Californian road trip and can honestly say it was a great find! When looking for other hotels in the area the already exorbitant rates were then pushed up again when you added on the cost of parking – especially on a nightly basis for 4 nights - which made the free parking here invaluable and the rates were already very reasonable. The other great thing about this hotel is the location – just a few blocks from the touristy Pier 39 and Fisherman's Wharf but as the hotel advised us – it also has a bus stop right outside for the Number 30 bus which takes you downtown through China Town, Union Square and all the way down to a few blocks from the San Francisco Giants Baseball Park – which was very handy for us! It costs just 2 Dollars a ride and this will last a few hours so don’t do what we did and pay every time (even then it was still a great, cheap way to get around).

The rooms were dated in décor but had all modern amenities you would expect such as tea/coffee, toiletries, a flat screen TV and so on and it was very clean. The bed was massive and one of the most comfortable we had on our whole visit. We were on the 2 floor facing the street with a balcony (and a view of the Coit Tower and Transamerica Pyramid Center) and I was worried at first it may be noisy from the road outside but this turned out to not be an issue and the road quietened down completely by the time we went to bed.

All in all a great value hotel and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland,Mi.
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We chose this place because of the reviews. The rate was decent and the free parking was great.
The parking garage can be a little tight at times but is sufficient. We had a suite with 3 beds on the front corner of the 3rd floor. They were upgrading the TVs to HD the day we arrived. We had 2 TVs and asked for a mini fridge in our room for drinks and fruit. We also had a balcony overlooking the street and the windows fully opened. The beds were fine and the bathroom was adequate. No breakfast area but there were plenty of places nearby. The location is about 3-4 blocks from Fishermans Wharf which was convenient. The bus stop was also right outside of the front door. We took the bus to the ballpark. We had no issues or problems with this place. I would stay here again. It is a nice affordable option in downtown SF.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Husband & I stayed 4 nights in a king room which was very nice, comfortable, 3rd floor on Columbus Ave side. I am a light sleeper and was not awakened by any noises or early morning traffic. Hotel is within easy walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf, Ghiradelli Sqare (get a sample of chocolate and buy some wonderful ice cream) & restaurants. Very friendly staff who offered tips for getting around town and even arranged shuttle service to airport via Lorrie's Shuttle Service and at a good price! Free parking but you won't need a car. Bus stops in front of hotel or hop on a trolley at Fisherman's Wharf.
Fast and free wi-fi
Negative:tub water is extremely hot, be careful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle at heart
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed here for one night to explore the main tourist attractions in San Francisco. As for location, I really don't think you can beat it. As most reviews have mentioned, almost everything you'd want to see is within walking distance. Yes, it is a budget motel with dated rooms, but everything looked clean and it was comfortable enough for one night at the price ($128 plus tax). I couldn't believe that just one block down the street, the Marriott was charging their GUESTS $50 for overnight parking!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Not much to add about the overall hotel from all the other reviews. The location is great and when you get free parking, you have hit the jackpot. For room details... we had one of the "suites" (I think it was room 212?) which had one separate room with a queen bed and another room (like normal hotel room connected to the bath area) with a king bed. The TV in the room with king bed was very fuzzy and they couldn't fix it while we were there. Not a big deal considering you are sight-seeing all day, but at night, you will look at a scratchy\fuzzy TV. The housekeeping room was next door, too, so there was some noise coming from there in the morning. There is no view from this room but even if you were on the front of the hotel you would just be looking at the street (but you would have a little balcony). There is a unique irish pub\indian restaurant place across the street (great if you want a beer or snack before going to your room each night).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Along with majority of the reviews, it is in an excellent location, and a very short walk to several main tourist spots, we did not feel far from anywhere we wanted to visit.
Rooms are basic, but clean and comfortable, but great value. The room was a bit dated, but we were only there to sleep after busy days sightseeing.
Very little noise at night, and comfy beds, pillows
The options for breakfast nearby seemed limited, but would recommend Pat's and Hollywood cafe.
For dinner, try Fior d'italia, it was very good and not touristy.
Would recommend as a good value base for seeing the city

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Columbus Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Motor Inn

Address: 1075 Columbus Ave, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Columbus Motor Hotel San Francisco
Columbus Hotel San Francisco
Columbus Motel San Francisco
Columbus Motor Inn San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbus Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.