We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Columbus Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Columbus Motor Inn
Save
You added Columbus Motor Inn to your Saves list
1075 Columbus Ave, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Russian Hill)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save!!
Ranked #32 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
South Daytona, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Value and Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at the start of our trip down the PCH. Clean, comfortable, very convenient location...really terrific for the price! I travel a lot for business, and generally stay in the upper middle range of chain hotels, and this hotel is as good as any chain experience I have had...better than many, actually. We would recommend to anyone, and will definitely book again when traveling to San Francisco!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    413
    69
    16
    8
See reviews for
310
365
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

When we checked in, the guy at the front desk treated us like it was a high end hotel. For the price, it is fantastic. The pricing structure is predictable, rooms are clean and above average for the price and they have FREE parking - seriously, just a few blocks from the wharf. I think we paid $110. We stayed at a chain hotel in the wharf as well 2 blocks away where we paid more, were treated like a number, paid a bunch for parking, etc. STAY HERE!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

If the popular tourist attractions are what brought you to San Francisco, you can't really beat Columbus Motor Inn for location at an extremely reasonable price. We booked for two weeknights at a rate of $125US taxes included. As others have noted, this includes parking which could run you another $20-30 a night in other downtown establishments. The two double beds room was spacious enough for us three, nicely decorated, and very clean. We also were fortunate to have a third floor room facing away from the street with a great view of the Transamerica tower. It's a quiet, small hotel with almost a nice feel of exclusivity. It's only three floors, so if the lone elevator were to ever conk out, it's an easy jaunt up and down the stairs.

The immediate area doesn't have much in terms of restaurants (there is bar next door), but that probably makes it more peaceful compared to Lombard street hotels. It felt safe, which was important to us. A few minutes walk north on Columbus and you're in Little Italy, a little further and it's Chinatown. Fisherman's Wharf, Ghiradelli Square, all the tour bus and cable car stops are within 5-10 minutes walk.

The hotel manager was efficient and helpful.

We would always check the availability of this hotel first the next time we decide to visit San Francisco,

Room Tip: Third floor facing away from Columbus. It's quiet (except when the garbage truck comes down the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We wanted someplace near the waterfront and tour buses with free parking. This hotel is certainly conveniently located within walking distance to the waterfront, cable car route, the Italian district of SF. The price is excellent for this area. The staff is very helpful. The rooms are quite spacious and comfortable and clean. Bedding is very comfortable. No breakfast but there are nice cafés in the area. A great bargain in SF!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The Columbus Motor Inn is in a perfect location...one block from cable cars, three blocks from the waterfront, 6 blocks from Ghiradelli. There is a great restaurants near by. We rented there because of the free parking which was ample. Forgot to ask for a room in the back...we were one floor up above the sidewalk and it was noisy on Saturday night.

Room Tip: Forgot to ask for a room in the back...we were one floor up above the sidewalk and it was noisy on S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford Hills, NY
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed at the Columbus Motor Inn for 4 days during a recent trip to San Francisco. This was our second time staying there. It is the perfect place to stay in San Francisco! The rooms are spacious and clean, and the location is the best: It is walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf, lots of great restaurants, Lombard Street, the Alcatraz ferry, the beginning of 2 cable car lines, and so much more! The price is so reasonable, and it even includes free parking. There are lots of cafes nearby for breakfast, but we get a refrigerator in our room ($5 per day) and pick up yogurts, cereal, milk, juice, and fruit at the Trader Joe's a few blocks away and eat in the room.
We will always stay here when we visit San Francisco.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Cet hôtel est bien placé, à environ 10mn à pied du bord de mer très touristique et le parking est gratuit. Les chambres sont propres mais la décoration est vieille, il n'y a ni frigo ni micro-onde mais un supermarché situé à côté dépanne bien. Cependant il y a plusieurs points négatifs : le bruit des chambres côté rue (à éviter absolument), le réseau internet est un peu lent et pas toujours au top. Si vous choisissez cet hôtel c'est avant tout pour le prix et la localisation mais n'attendez pas plus au niveau de l'accueil. Un point important la literie est très très souple…...En résumé la qualité correspond au prix.

This hotel is placed well, in approximately 10mn on foot of the very tourist seaside and the parking lot is free. Rooms are clean but the decoration is old, there is neither refrigerator nor microwave but a supermarket situated close by repairs well. However there are several negative points: the noise of rooms on the road side (to avoid absolutely), the internet network is a little bit slow and not always at the top. If you choose this hotel it is above all for the price and the location but do not wait more at the level of the reception. A mattering point beds are sorting very flexible...In fact the quality corresponds to the price.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Columbus Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Motor Inn

Address: 1075 Columbus Ave, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Columbus Motor Hotel San Francisco
Columbus Hotel San Francisco
Columbus Motel San Francisco
Columbus Motor Inn San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbus Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.