We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place - convenient, good price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Columbus Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Columbus Motor Inn
Save
You added Columbus Motor Inn to your Saves list
1075 Columbus Ave, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Russian Hill)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place - convenient, good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Well. We booked 4 nights of our road trip here based on reviews. Well done! The room was largish, facing the (hardly) noisy road, with view and teeny balcony, and the extra cost refrigerator which worked fine.
Their parking area is TINY and under the building, but it was included in the price. We never used the car while there since it was close enough to the action. We DID see a hotel closer to the Wharf, and when I looked up the price, I decided that I could walk the extra few blocks after all.
Our big beef was that the TV did not swivel out from the wall, so it was hard to see from the little table and chairs in the room. That is how few issues we had with this hotel. No chance that the closer place, at three times the price could have been three times better.

Room Tip: I think we were in Rm 302, just off the elevator. Could see the cruise ship coming and going all wee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    440
    75
    16
    8
See reviews for
324
385
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for about 5 nights with 2 friends. It was the end of a long road trip and the base for a few days to chill before flying back to the UK. We had pre booked a suite with two bedrooms. It was very spacious and clean. A bit pricey but we needed the space. There was no breakfast and it would have been useful to have had a fridge and microwave. However there was a great cafe around the corner, Pat's Cafe, for breakfast. The hotel itself was situated in a perfect spot for sightseeing, everything was within walking distance, with the cable car just around the corner and busses going past the door. Staff were polite especially the younger man who seemed to do everything from booking us in to mending the toilet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Boro, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We were on a mosaic tour of San Francisco and the Columbus Inn gave us a place to leave our car while easily using mass transit to get around. Not too many amenities at the hotel but it was clean and the room was big and comfortable.

Room Tip: Try not to get on the street side. The bar across the street gets noisy toward closing time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This motel is within walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf. Near cable car and bus lines. This motel is an older one but rooms are clean and staff is very helpful. Plus free parking for your car. Three couples spent three in San Francisco and didn't have to move the car once.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Columbus Motor Inn is a favorite of mine if I need to watch my money. $ 179 or so for a nice, clean room. If you can request to be on a high floor facing Columbus Street there is a balcony with a decent view. Flat Screen TV is a plus. The beds are newer and comfy. Bathroom is clean. Good Value overall.

Room Tip: Columbus Street View
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire,scotland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed in this very basic but extremely clean hotel. Rooms are large, plenty of storage space for clothes. Beds very comfortable, slept well. Staff at front desk very friendly, polite and helpful, answered any questions asked of them.
Hotel is situated in a prime position for sight seeing. Fisherman's Wharf about a 15 minute walk, cable cars, fantastic restaurants and good cafe's for breakfast. Walgreen's also 1 block away. Bus stops outside the hotel which takes you to Union Square and more.
Would definitely recommend. Free parking.
Overall a thoroughly enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: Plenty of storage space for clothes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Columbus Motor Inn is an older property but maintained very well and is comfortable, clean, and close to everything. Walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf, China Town and Little Italy restaurants nearby, and access to all kinds of public transportation. We chose the Columbus Motor Inn because it had the most reasonable rates for this area plus included free parking.....we were not disappointed. We would recommend this hotel and Pat's Cafe around the corner for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Columbus Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Motor Inn

Address: 1075 Columbus Ave, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Columbus Motor Hotel San Francisco
Columbus Hotel San Francisco
Columbus Motel San Francisco
Columbus Motor Inn San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbus Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.