We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Columbus Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Columbus Motor Inn
Save
You added Columbus Motor Inn to your Saves list
1075 Columbus Ave, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Russian Hill)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save!!
Ranked #32 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for somewhere to stay that is a great location, reasonably priced with free parking in San Fran then stay here.
The hotel is a 5 min walk away from fisher and wharf for Alcatraz and restaurants, blazing saddles bike hire is 3 doors away. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable with a hair dryer, iron and ironing board. All I would say is ask for a room either at the back of the hotel or as high as possible as the road can be pretty noisy in the morning however this did not ruin our stay. We also noticed that rooms by the lifts maybe noisy due to the drinks and ice machine as they are very loud and on 24/7.
If you are looking for a great place to have breakfast then turn right out of the hotel first left opposite the sports bar pats cafe. Check out the reviews on here but it's fantastic and we ate there both mornings.
For restaurants in the evening either fisher and wharf or turn right out the hotel and continue up the road for about 10/15 mins.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    413
    69
    16
    8
See reviews for
310
365
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sonora, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Booked after looking over tripadvisor and we wanted a close location to Coit tower. My wife and I were doing an overnight getaway trip to view places the kids wouldn't care to go. Hotel is perfectly located between the pier 39 area and North Beach, both within walking distance. Also the bus stops right in front for going south to North Beach/ Business district. Across the street you can pick up the bus to go to the palace of fine arts for awesome pics. Bus fare is $2 pp for unlimited riding for 90 mins. The 30 and 30x lines go in a loop on Columbus back to near the palace.busses arrive around every 5-15 mins. I reserved a room on the third floor to get a view of Coit tower. Paid 148 total for the night, an incredible deal from what I've researched in the surrounding area. We stayed in room 303 just across from the elevator. We slept fine that night with only light traffic on Columbus ave below us. If your a light sleeper request a room facing the alleyway out back. Room was furnished with a king size bed that was compfy. Never turned on the tv but it looked to be about a 40 in flatscreen. They have free wifi that worked fine. Staff was courteous and we arrived at 0930am they let us park there and said our room would be ready before 3. We walked to the tower, washington park,and had a bite, returning around 1 and it was ready. From our patio the 180 degree view was from north above the pier area, across the top of the lighthouse at Alcatraz, full view of Coit tower, and south down the street to the north beach area. We had to lean out to see the transamerica pyramid. A solid view. The only way it could be better would be to be up a story or two but this is a three story building. If your somewhat fit you can easily walk to all the sights nearby, or take the bus on the cheap. Other places I looked at were starting at $200 and that didn't include parking which could reach 40-50$ a day! This place was free!! I dare you to find a better deal. The room was clean enough though the bathtub could have used a good bleaching. It's not the W or one of the high class hotels near the business district but if you want a good deal on a room for a couple visiting north beach or a family visiting the pier, this place will save you big money for very very little downside. Or go ahead and throw your money away and stay closer at the pier it's up to you. When we come back with the kids we are definitely staying here!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, GA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Our family requires a suite when traveling and finding one under $300 in SF was a challenge. This place was great. Extremely quiet (on the backside of the motel), friendly, convenient to all the touristy things and rather nice inside the room. I was surprised that the provided amenities were good. Thick enough towels and good coffee. Only negative was that the air unit was in the main room and the second room didn't have one. So when the second room's door was closed it got stuffy and hot. I highly recommend this place to anyone who doesn't need fancy and does need free parking.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The Columbus Motor Inn definitely lived up to its ratings. Got into our room very late on a Sunday night and I was very pleased to find a clean, comfortable, fairly large room. We stayed in 312 and it had a small balcony with a great view. The bed was really comfortable as well. We stayed 2 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. The place is walking distance to the cable cars (2 city blocks) and the wharf (8/10ths of a mile). Parking was free....Yes Free and they allowed us to stay in the garage until 3pm the day we checked out. Overall great experience with the Columbus Motor Inn. Will definitely come back for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We just needed one night during a college tour. I thought this one would work since it was between Chinatown and Fisherman's Wharf. It is very walkable to the Wharf but we never made it to Chinatown.

We got room 208: a large room with two queens and a couch. The nice thing about this room was the hallway Inside the room. No noise from the hallway as we could not see the door from in the room. We were awakened just before 7am on Saturday morning by a trash truck in the alley dumping bins of bottles from a club called Bimbos that is adjacent to the hotel. Other than that the room was very quiet. Many rooms do not face an alley but they face the side of a building. We had some view of the surrounding neighborhood.

The room was clean, beds comfortable. Not a resort but a good room to explore the city from. Nice than I expected. The parking garage has two levels so stop at the office to find parking if the street level garage is full - and yes the parking is free.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reno
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Columbus Motor Inn did not disappoint. We were traveling with twin toddlers and this place was perfect! We were within walking distance to the Wharf, Ghiradelli Square, Pier 39 and North Beach. We had the two queen room and there was plenty of space for all of us. The staff was super friendly (I got a thank you note after leaving a tip for the housekeeping staff- that was a first!) and the place was clean. It is an old hotel and you can tell they tried to renovate some but there is still some peeling wallpaper here and there, but it's very clean. Here's an example... I'm a bit of a germphobe so before my kids sat down at the table to eat I whipped out my trusty Lysol wipes to clean off the table. When I looked at the wipe after thoroughly cleaning the surface there wasn't even a speck of dirt on it. I was very impressed! On a side note, my mom stayed in a two double room and it was also nice but she didn't have any sunshine due to a wall outside her window. She wasn't as happy as I was with my gorgeous view and tons of sunshine. Probably a good idea to request a view. Overall, I was very pleased and would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Ask for a view and if you have more than two people request the two queen room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is why I have Trip Advisor on my phone and Ipad! The Columbus Motor Inn lived up to its great ratings. Got into our room late last night, was happy to see a large, clean room with comfortable bed. Wished we could have had more time in area and at Inn. Will definitely come back. It was also great to not have to pay for parking in SF.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Columbus Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Motor Inn

Address: 1075 Columbus Ave, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Columbus Motor Hotel San Francisco
Columbus Hotel San Francisco
Columbus Motel San Francisco
Columbus Motor Inn San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbus Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.