We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mixed blessings...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Francisco Bay Inn to your Saves list
Francisco Bay Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1501 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Marina District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #136 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“mixed blessings...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

very friendly staff HOWEVER to take nearly an hr to book in was terrible, the rooms are dated but clean so not so bad, the breakfast was strange in that it was placed in the front office then one collected it to take back to the room ... ok but not separate to bookings in or anything and did feel strange , limited free parking however free !!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    137
    90
    53
    62
See reviews for
80
112
27
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central Islip, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights.
The staff at this hotel is soooo friendly and nice!! The hotel itself is dated but clean (who cares if the furniture is from the 80s, if the room is clean, who really cares?).
Great location!! About a 15 minute walk to The Buena Vista (yummy Irish Coffee) and Ghiardelli Square and about 20 minutes to the Wharf. 2 Blocks away from the "crookedest street in the world." Which we walked back to the hotel from one night...UPHILL!!! LOL
The parking is free which is a bonus. It does get a little cramped so be patient, most people are very accomodating and move their car if you need to get out.
As for the noise, it is a little noisy since this hotel is right on Lombard Street. They know this so they leave earplugs in the room if you want to use them. The noise did not bother me one bit.
The shower pressure was excellent!! And the bathroom was very clean.
The wifi was a little spotty and not great.. but it made us spend more time having fun and exploring then being on the web!!
The FREE Breakfast was ok, it was danishes, coffee, juice, nothing crazy, just enough to get you going in the morning (I dont understand people who complain and base their negative comments on a FREE breakfast...smh).
Overall I would highly recommend anyone to stay here... the price is great, free parking, a clean hotel and a friendly staff!! If you want updated furniture, spend four hundred a night, and pay thirty dollars a night for pakring, and stay at the hotels down by the wharf. This is perfect, clean and affordable :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We booked through Hotels.com and got a reasonable rate, given how expensive San Francisco is. The room was a decent size, although on reflection we should have booked the two room family suite, we were 2 adults and 2 kids. The bathroom was very spacious and the whole unit was clean and well presented.
The complimentary breakfast was a little limited but it was handy to fuel up before hitting the sights. The booking blurb suggested that Fisherman's Wharf was within walking distance and it was, generally the location of the property was excellent.
We took room 432 which was a corner room on the top floor very convenient for the (incredibly slow) lift. Our only compliant was the very poor wifi service. This was complimentary but had no signal strength in our room.
We'd certainly recommend a stay here, it was a cool place.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I loved the hotel clean rooms, and great customer service. They also provide free breakfast, and free wifi. And most important free parking in and out available. I will definitely be going back soon.
It is close to Fisherman's Wharf. Price is good not that expensive why stay at a high cost hotel if you can use that money on all the activities at Pier 39.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

It's obvious they're trying to make the place better, but it still falls short. Decor is terribly outdated, but the bedspreads and curtains are fairly new. Room and bathroom were very clean, but the sinks and vanity were in very poor cosmetic condition. Advertised wi-fi barely worked - I could get a few emails but no websites would work on iPad or Kindle. Coffee in the morning was instant (really!) with pastries and packaged oatmeal and toast. The location was relatively convenient to visiting Fisherman's Wharf, Ghiradelli Square, but it was still a 20 minute walk to any decent restaurants. The staff was pleasant and the room was a decent size (4th floor, yes there was a view of the GG bridge from the outdoor hallway, but our room had a view of the roof of the neighboring building. Noisy with windows open, but they provided earplugs in the room. Yes, parking was free (a huge plus) but don't try to fit in a larger car. The worst of all were the beds - I could literally feel the springs and had to sleep with a pillow under my hips for support. Sheets are cheep, yet the bathroom towels were not bad. Overall, a really mixed bag. We actually had reservations (and had paid for) two nights, but left to go back home by mid-afternoon...I couldn't handle sleeping another night in that bed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Mokena, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed here during a long weekend in May. The room was spacious, clean and conveniently located. We were able to pick up public transportation a block away (a plus since we didn't rent a car) and we had many helpful suggestions from the front desk personnel on how to get places such as Chinatown, the Giants ballpark, Golden Gate Bridge etc.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morro bay
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I forgot it was a holiday weekend and graduations on top of it, so when I tried booking hotel rooms for a reasonable price, I was having a really difficult time finding anything that wasn't totally creepy for under $200/night. After four hours of searching, I found this hotel and grabbed it. I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised! While not the Ritz, it was definitely acceptable, and even though it is located on a very busy street, once you close the windows, the noise level goes down considerably. My husband and I stayed there four nights and were quite comfortable. The bed, linens, shower stream were all of good quality. The front desk staff were very accommodating. The free parking is a big plus in that city! The negatives were the breakfast foods and coffee, yuk! And the water temperature kept varying while showering, so that was a little annoying. Some young people came in around 1 AM and continued partying in the parking lot and on the walkways by our doors for about an hour, but I guess that wasn't the hotel's fault. Otherwise, our stay was certainly acceptable. I would go back.

Room Tip: Third floor is away from the noise a little more. I would request it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Francisco Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francisco Bay Inn

Address: 1501 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Francisco Bay Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Francisco's famous Lombard Street - home to the Golden Gate Bridge and 'The Crookedest Street in the World' - The Francisco Bay Inn provides spacious, comfortable accommodation for thousands of travelers each year. Our recently renovated rooms coupled with our excellent service will help make the Francisco Bay Inn a special part of your stay in San Francisco. Our amenities include FREE parking, FREE limited breakfast, FREE wireless high-speed internet access, In-room microwave / refrigerator, In-room iron / ironing board, cable TV, and FREE tour pickup. The Francisco Bay Inn is AAA approved and a member of the San Francisco Convention and Visitors Bureau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, HostelBookers, Priceline, Despegar.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Francisco Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francisco Bay Hotel San Francisco
Francisco Bay Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francisco Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.