We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Francisco Bay Inn to your Saves list
Francisco Bay Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1501 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Cheshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. The location was great and the tour bus stops outside the hotel. We had a view from our room of the Golden Gate Bridge which was fab. The only downside to this hotel was the WiFi in our room. It was very weak if it worked at all. Overall this hotel was nice and clean in a good safe location with great views.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    125
    77
    51
    60
See reviews for
72
100
22
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed at the Francisco Bay Inn for two nights following our cruise. The hotel is dated but that is really the only negative thing I can say. The front desk staff were very courteous and helpful. The room like I said was dated but was very clean. We had absolutely no issues with cleanliness. We requested a feather free room and that is what we got and an added touch was that when we returned to the room for the evening they had brought in extra blankets without us requesting them. The location of the hotel is good for such things as Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39 but a bit of a hike to Chinatown, Nob Hill and other such places. I can't say much about the continental breakfast as there was not much there to say anything about. Overall the price was great and the value for the dollar was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent, Ohio
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

A lot of problems can be covered when a hotel has a good location and a good price, especiallly in pricey San Francisco. The Francisco Bay Inn at 1501 Lombard Street, has both. It's only a few blocks from Pier 39 and Fisherman's Wharf. The price was reasonable for San Francisco. The room was small but adequate. Other rooms in the complex were somewhat larger than ours. The bathroom was surprisingly roomy, intended to accomodate a wheelchair. The breakfast buffet consisted of pastries and coffee, maybe a little orange juice. The donuts, croissants, and cinnamon rolls (in celophone wrap) were all quite delicious and fresh, but not a very nutritious breakfast by any means.

Upon checking in, we found the TV cable wasn't set up right so no TV the first night. It was fixed the next morning. Also, we had two big suitcases but there was only one stand to support them in the room. We asked for a second folding stand the first night. Again, "we'll take care of it tomorrow." The room clerk seemed to be the only employee on hand in the evenings. The stand turned up the next morning as promised. The free WiFi was slow and erratic, at best (not to mention frustrating)..

The physical layout is this place's worst problem. The two wings are on two different levels. The third floor of the older wing, where we were, is four steps BELOW the third floor of the newer wing. Two different hydraulic elevators server these two levels. One is old and quite slow. The other elevator is newer and larger. The smaller elevator will barely contain the one and only luggage cart (unloaded). As I had the cart loaded, it would not fit at all. So I had to push the cart across the sloping parking lot (everything slopes in San Francisco) to the larger elevator, rise up, wheel it along the third floor balcony, then carry each of several bags down four steps to our room.

The parking lot is inadequate even without two spaces apparently being rented for two panel trucks for sale (one parked in a handicap spot). We used the other handicap parking spot. The place was clean, the staff (limited as it was) seemed was friendly and helpful. As I was checking out I suggested they invest in a second luggage cart. All other efforts to fix their inherent problems would be considerably more costly. The room went for $130 per night. Other area botique motels were somewhat higher or had less favorable locations.

Room Tip: Seek a room on the upper level facing Lombard Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The people were very nice and helpful. It was an ok hotel and the price is good. If your tall you want like the showers. My husband is 5'9 and had to squat to wash his hair. I am 5'4 and hit my head on the shower head a few times. Breakfast is pastry and doughnuts. Fruit is on the weekends only. Doughnuts are good but wish they had a healthier choice. Overall it is good place for the price. The decor of the rooms is outdated but clean.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Hi guys, I stayed in the hotel back in 2010, they have a good location, just a couple of blocks from the Fisherman Wharf and on Lombard Street. Free parking lot, that is important in a city like SF. The hotel has a great wifi connection in each room, the breakfast it wasn't too good but there are lost of places to grab some food around the hotel. The hotel staff are good people they helped me to coordinate a full day tour in Sillicon Valley. I was able to visit the Apple Store in Cupertino and the Intel Museum.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Stayed there while business traveling during Autumn. Everything is ok, rooms are clean, staff is friendly and flexible. There is also a shuttle to the airport. But this place is really overpriced according to its possibilities. I enjoyed views from the room so much

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the highest floor with view on Golden Gate Bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

The good bits- generally good value for San Fran & fairly comfortable. All the usual services were within expectations.
Very much like a motel (Australia) rather than a hotel.
Night shift staff were particularly friendly,although will try hard to sell bus tours.
It is on a busy street but even though I had the 2nd room from the street,I didn't notice any street noise (and I am a light sleeper)-ear plugs were provided if you needed them.
Good size room ,although bed was definitely at the end of its useful life.
Good bus service a short walk away although walking to the city is quite possible & pleasant.
The less pleasant bits-
Breakfast was included but was disappointingly awful & not worth the effort to fit in with the quite short period of availability.
It is served downstairs in a breakfast room just off the street.
Problem is it seems to be well known to pickpockets & after just a few minutes I became another victim!!- worse, I suspect I was not the first and will not be the last!
So, if you choose to stay here, be VERY aware that this is a huge risk so do not assume the hotel surroundings are safe.
The hotel specifically excludes loss of money from their liability?

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Francisco Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francisco Bay Inn

Address: 1501 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Francisco Bay Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Francisco's famous Lombard Street - home to the Golden Gate Bridge and 'The Crookedest Street in the World' - The Francisco Bay Inn provides spacious, comfortable accommodation for thousands of travelers each year. Our recently renovated rooms coupled with our excellent service will help make the Francisco Bay Inn a special part of your stay in San Francisco. Our amenities include FREE parking, FREE limited breakfast, FREE wireless high-speed internet access, In-room microwave / refrigerator, In-room iron / ironing board, cable TV, and FREE tour pickup. The Francisco Bay Inn is AAA approved and a member of the San Francisco Convention and Visitors Bureau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Francisco Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francisco Bay Hotel San Francisco
Francisco Bay Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francisco Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.