We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful Staff and Great Value For the Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Francisco Bay Inn to your Saves list
Francisco Bay Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1501 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #136 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Helpful Staff and Great Value For the Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Excellent customer service and nice management. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I left clothing in our room after checking out and the staff and general manager of the Inn went above and beyond to expedite the return of my personal items.

The rooms were nice and a great value for the area. Our room was cozy and included two queen sized beds, microwave, small fridge, coffee, and a large bathroom. There is city traffic noise due to the Inn being on Lombard Street but you can ask for a room in the back if you are sensitive to noise.

The location of the Inn was very convenient - close to Fisherman’s wharf, other interesting sights, and close to public transport. Another key amenity, and one of the reasons we initially chose to stay at this hotel, was the free parking (hard to find free parking in SF). We left our car at the hotel and walked and/or used public transportation to explore San Francisco. The cost of parking in SF can easily exceed the cost of a night stay in a hotel in SF.

A HUGE thank you to Rahil and Igor for their help and hospitality!

Room Tip: There is city traffic noise due to the Inn being on Lombard Street but you can ask for a room in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    125
    76
    51
    60
See reviews for
72
100
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
alexandria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Nice rooms but we were just expecting a little more. Good customer service at the front desk and nice management. We might be back when in the area since we were able to get the room at a decent price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Booked 2 nights here for New Year weekend. We left our luggage to explore the city while waiting for 3pm check in. The receptionist was helpful and accommodating. Actually all of them are, but of course don't expect a hotel type of hospitality. There's coffee, hot chocolate, water and snacks on the counter for guests, of which my companions partook. Location wise, it wasn't a good idea since we took BART. We had to get off at Powell and midway walking, decided to just took a cab. Bottomline, we had to take cabs everywhere, except Fisherman's Wharf. If you don't mind walking, you can walk to the crookedest street, Union Square and Marina. But that is a big waste of time and by the time you get to your destination you won't have as much energy. We booked a double queen room for 4 adults. The room is clean, with coffee, fridge, microwave. Bathroom is huge, but the downside is you have to walk on cold tiles. Just walk in there with your shoes/socks. The towels and amenities are complete. Minor complaints are the old TV and wifi is not working. There's a heater though, which made up for it for me. Going up and down our room, we had to use a really old and creepy elevator so we took the stairs mostly. The next day, I was pleasantly surprised that they made the bed, changed the towels and everything. Don't count on breakfast as I think they buy unsold pastries. Awful stuff to start the day. Just get the fruits. Got the value for my money but will not do it again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

They lost my reservation,that should have been a clue, I should have left right then and there. The room was the size of a postage stamp.The mattress was way too soft. Internet was slower than molasses. Breakfast consisted of few donuts,mini muffins, 2 beat up apples and instant coffee. The TV was whistling the whole time,I think it was a model from the '90. Never again will they see me there. Book a room across the street at the Lobard Motor Inn, you'll be happy there.

Room Tip: Choose a different place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceret, France
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

After reading some of the negative views below, I had to check to see if it was the same hotel we stayed in.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was spotlessly clean and both it and the bathroom was a really good size. All the furnishings were pristine. Perhaps we were fortunate to have a room at the back so noise was not a problem. Tea and coffee facilities were supplied together with a coffee maker, microwave, fridge and TV. Free WIFI was also available.
A continental breakfast was laid out in Reception but trays were provided for you to take it to your room if preferred.
The location of the hotel was perfect for walking or taking public transport to all the high spots in San Francisco. With free parking there are no worries about driving into the very busy streets of San Francisco. What more could you want.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We booked a king room in francisco Bay Inn and when we arrived we were given a tiny dark room with two double beds squeezed into it... were told this was all they had. When we came back later saw the rooms being cleaned and there were quite obviously lots of more spacious rooms with only one much larger bed in them. This was irritating.. the other thing is we were placed in the ONLY room without any natural light and a window to a dark corridoor before the stairs.. very busy.. so we had to keep the curtain closed. The man (well boy really) in the office was NOT very helpful and a little bit dismissive in general. I think it is because we booked thorugh a cheap deals website... but they shouldn't list there if they don't need the business !! Anyway.. it is not a flash hotel but they were still not worth it. Oh ... and after we checked out we went for breakfast and came to get our car... my partner asked if he could use a toilet and the guy from the office wouldn't let him coz we weren't staying there anymore... my partner told he would be using the toilet and where was it. On the plus side... the bathroom was really spacious...

Room Tip: ask to check your room when checking in ... don't let them put you over the office on the Lombar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckeye, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

First off let me say the hotel was clean no issues there and great location to everything, however don't believe the pictures there is no headboard on the bed and we paid for a king deluxe and got a queen, I know it wasn't a king, the sheets and comforter were so old and thin it stated in the review no smoking in rooms but our comforter had burn holes in it. And if you are looking for comfort well the bed is as old as the sheets and comforter the springs were in our back, mattress very uncomfortable. There is no place to put your clothes, you keep your clothes in the suitcase, my husband had to move the nightstand to put our suitcase on it because I didn't want to put suitcase on the floor. The noise of traffic will keep you up part of the night, the walls are very thin you can hear everything outside. The breakfast well there was a little girl that went in as we were looking for coffee she picked up the pastrie smelled it and threw it back on the the tray, yeah where were her parents? The coffee well they had ice cold water and instant coffee the lady said take it back to your room and heat it in the microwave....Well I was turned off from the little girl. Forget breakfast there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Francisco Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francisco Bay Inn

Address: 1501 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Francisco Bay Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Francisco's famous Lombard Street - home to the Golden Gate Bridge and 'The Crookedest Street in the World' - The Francisco Bay Inn provides spacious, comfortable accommodation for thousands of travelers each year. Our recently renovated rooms coupled with our excellent service will help make the Francisco Bay Inn a special part of your stay in San Francisco. Our amenities include FREE parking, FREE limited breakfast, FREE wireless high-speed internet access, In-room microwave / refrigerator, In-room iron / ironing board, cable TV, and FREE tour pickup. The Francisco Bay Inn is AAA approved and a member of the San Francisco Convention and Visitors Bureau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Francisco Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francisco Bay Hotel San Francisco
Francisco Bay Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francisco Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.