We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Amsterdam Hostel to your Saves list
Amsterdam Hostel
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   749 Taylor Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Formerly AAE Amsterdam San Francisco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 77 San Francisco B&B and Inns
England
Level Contributor
315 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Good value for money!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

You get what you pay for and for the £17 a night I paid for this hostel it was def worth the money. Me and 3 friends booked a 4 bed dorm so we didnt share with any other travellers, the room was huge, plenty of space, nice big bathroom with shower, bath, two sinks, toilets. 24 hour reception, key coded door so felt secure. computers available, discount parking offered by the hostel which was great and saved us a lot of money and just round the corner! great location close to union square and the cable cars location, walking distance to China town and bars/restaurants. seemed clean to me, no room clean though in 4 nights! free breakfast but we never actually had any!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stokie_gem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
L.A.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

My friends and I stayed at this hostel for the week end last october, and what can I say the hotel is nasty but thats exactly what I expected so no surprises.The rooms are tiny, the toilet did clog and overflow. on the postive side there were some great people and the waffles for breakfast were great. One annoying thing is that the parking lot is located on another street so it was hassel but we made it. Great stay and Great trip overall.

Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AE09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

I'm quite impress with the reception area, staffs are nice and very helpful. However, we stayed there for 3 nights and it seemed that noone came to clean our rooms !

The in-room toilet is ok but the tab is leaking so u can hear the water dropping all night.
I don't know if other hostel use this furry, itchy blanket or not but i can't stand to tucking myself into that blanket even when the temperature is 10C'

However, if you are not concerned much with the sanitary then this hostel might be a good choice coz the room is using double locked key which made it hard for anyone to break in.

The hostel is like 4-5 blocks from the downtown, it might not suitable for those who have knee problems. For me, I'm not used to climbing up that high to the hostel, i was experiencing short of breathe, however, after 1-2 days, my body got used to that.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MerryGoRoundKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stgo. Chile
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2009

We stayed for just three nights but I've got to tell you that was not what we expected. A lot of noise from ceiling, the stairs, the hallway, everywhere! Also breakfast was a "make yourself" waffles, terrible! The rooms had a poor overall condition. The location was the only good thing, I would try another place...

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Granfario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Boulder
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2008

I didint mind that the place was dirty. I didnt mind the need to cram as much people possible into a room. I didnt mind that I when I was trying to cancel my last night of the trip two days in advance every person behind the front desk for two days said "You have to talk to so and so who is not here until saturday". When I finally found that person they said: "oh sorry you have to cancel 48hrs in advance"!!
All this I could live with, what is unnacceptable were all the bedbugs!! Im still itching and freaking out that I might have brought some back to my house!!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — bed bugs!!!!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Poyuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2008

We stayed at Amsterdam Hostel for 3 nights in October. Our plane was delayed by a couple of hours so the time we had given the hostel was no longer correct. This meant that when we arrived there was no-one at the front desk. We had to sit outside with our luggage and wait for them to return because other guests are not allowed to let anyone in.

When we arrived we checked in with no problem. I had changed my booking to add an extra night and they had this on record so I was quite impressed. We wanted to split the bill but were told we could only do this if we were paying cash, so I had to ask my friend to pay since I didn't want my account to be devastated by the full cost of our stay due to a poor exchange rate. We also had to pay a $20 cash deposit for the key.

The hostel only had stairs, and we were staying downstairs in a private 2 bed room with ensuite. Our room had a door which opened up to an outside balcony. Only problem with this was the noise when people were out there and the smell of smoke wafting into the room. They close the outside area at 10:30 so it would usually quieten down by this time. The walls were quite thin so if anyone was talking outside in the hallway or in the TV room we would be kept awake. If you stay here bring earplugs!

Our room had a bunk bed and we were responsible for getting our own bedding from upstairs and making the bed. You'd think that for the private rooms they could at least have this done already since we pay so much extra! The pillows were old and I had to fold it in half to make it useable. The mattress wasn't the most comfortable.

Our bathroom was clean enough. The shower was lovely and always had hot water when I needed it.

The room itself was quite dirty. The people responsible for cleaning should pay more attention to detail. There is dust lining the skirting boards and where the carpet joins the wall. There was mould growing in one corner of the room that looked like it had been ignored. The room needed a deep clean.

Breakfast was DIY waffles, tea and coffee. Waffles would have been nice, but we couldn't be bothered lining up for 20 minutes to make one. There was only one waffle maker and there were about 5 people in front of me. It takes about 5 minutes to make a waffle so I would have been waiting just under half an hour. Quicker to go somewhere else and pay for breakfast.

It wasn't really that cheap considering what we got, but I've heard San Fran is like that. I'd shop around a bit before deciding Amsterdam is for you. I probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dirty, noisy and overpriced
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ButterflyEffect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrot79
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2008

We stayed two nights at the Amsterdam in a private room, and it was a mixed experience. First, the good: it's reasonably well located, and the prices are okay. There are three computers with internet access for guests, though you usually have to wait for a computer to free up. The room was clean enough and the bathroom fully functional. The staff was nice enough and answered our questions.

Then the bad: the door frame to our room was broken, so there was a half-inch wide opening for people to peer into the room through. Since it's a hostel, the place is loud, even long into the night and early in the mornings. The walls are paper-thin, so you hear everything. There was parking, a block and a half up the street, for $14/day for guests.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank carrot79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Encore Express Hotel
#150 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
SoMa
Winsor Hotel
Winsor Hotel
#37 of 77 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
Orange Village Hostel
#17 of 50 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Francisco City Center Hostel
#13 of 50 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 308 reviews
USA Hostels San Francisco
#4 of 50 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 708 reviews
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hostel

Address: 749 Taylor Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Formerly AAE Amsterdam San Francisco)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Amsterdam Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Amsterdam Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing