We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and gross but good for a group of young friends.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of AAE Amsterdam San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added AAE Amsterdam San Francisco to your Saves list
AAE Amsterdam San Francisco
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   749 Taylor Street, San Francisco, CA 941098 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 69 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cheap and gross but good for a group of young friends.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I will start by saying that if you are accustomed to European hostels this place is not for you. We were a group of six friends who needed a place to stay for 3 nights to see the city and buy a car before heading to Tahoe. The carpet stinks, the toilets back up, the beds are cheap but comfortable enough, people smoke weed everywhere and you can always find someone to drink with at the front door. I suggest staying here if you are young, want to be in the city and don't mind slumming it. Lastly beware of crack heads in tenderloin, they are everywhere.

Room Tip: Don't bother getting a private room, rooms at the back are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    24
    49
    26
    24
See reviews for
2
19
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I returned to San Francisco having been there a week before. This hostel was a last minute thing. It's not the worst hostel but it's certainly not the greatest. Location is ok, bedrooms are ok and shower is good. Pretty average.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked a doble room with private restroom. The room was clean, but, on the first day, there was not room service.
The location is so good, near from shooping and restaurants.
Breakfast is pancakes that you prepare by yourself... please, don't make it! Is terrible!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clogher, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Probably one of the worst hostels I have ever stayed in. Seriously needs renovated or really well cleaned. Room had a really bad smell of urine and other substances... It was so dark and small. Windows didn't open for fresh air. It was quite suffocating in there. Free breakfast is a bucket full of batter to make pancakes? Place was quite dirty and smelled bad as soon as u walk in. Check in is meant to be 2 but we were told to come back later as no rooms were ready! Only good thing with the hostel is he tv area is pretty good, and they can print things for you. The location is close to city centre. Definitely would not stay here again, ruined our time in San Fran!

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

It is true that the carpet smells throughout but regardless, excellent value for your money. Great location, free breakfast and maids kept the ensuite clean

everyday. For a hostel, it was awesome.

The room did need a few more electrical outlets however just because there were 4 of us in the room and only 2 plugs to charge our phone and gadgets. I suggest to bring an extension cord/plug.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

This hostel is located right in the centre of the city, so it's easy to go and visit SF from there.
The staff are friendly and helpful but no more than that.

Perfect hostel for backpackers (even couples since you can have a private room) and breakfast is included.

Overall positive experience. Price ok for what and where it is!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Can Tho, Vietnam
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

This was so far the cheapest hostel I found for my price range (<30usd). The hostel is located on Taylor street, one of the main streets in town, making it very easy to walk around famous spots (Union Square, BART station, China town, etc). Staff were friendly, easy-going and informative to answer your questions. There are free city maps and decent amount of tours information at the front desk for you to read through. Payment is made by cash at check-in and you'll be asked for $10 usd key deposit (refund at check-out) as any other hostel around the world.

I stayed in a 4-bed female dorm room and was surprised by the cleanliness of the room. It seemed to be recently renovated. There is a private bathroom inside the room which is really cool that you don't have to share with a bunch of people. Hot shower was working well during my stay. The only thing to improve is their shaky bunk beds. With bad luck, you will have to take the upper bed which comes with no edge except the wall on one side. There are lockers in the rooms for you to use, but you have bring your own locks. Wifi was really fast even in the room.

Breakfast is included and there is kitchen/common area at the basement in case you wanna socialize. Many people complain about their pancakes, but in my opinion, for this bargain, you can forget about this small thing.

Over all, a happy stay, I'd definitely recommend this to my friends.

Room Tip: Bring your own locks
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AAE Amsterdam San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AAE Amsterdam San Francisco

Address: 749 Taylor Street, San Francisco, CA 941098
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — AAE Amsterdam San Francisco 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Venere, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your AAE Amsterdam San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AAE Amsterdam San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.