We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, poor breakfast!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of AAE Amsterdam San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added AAE Amsterdam San Francisco to your Saves list
AAE Amsterdam San Francisco
749 Taylor Street, San Francisco, CA 941098 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 69 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good location, poor breakfast!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Myself and my girlfriend booked ourselves in this hostel a couple of months before arriving, we read the reviews and they weren't great so we didn't expect much, we booked it on the location and price over everything. When we arrived at the hostel, it's located on one of the steep banks, luckily we didn't have to walk it with our big bags! We arrived and they had overbooked so we were in a temporary room for the first night which is always a pain because you have to waste a morning checking out and checking back in, also their luggage room was tiny and lots of people had already left their stuff there so it was a struggle to fit our stuff in and when we returned later they had been thrown about!!! The rooms are ok but the beds are really squeaky and you almost wake the whole room up just by the slightest movement! En-suite bathrooms are good and kept clean but the showers are not good as they only seem to have hot or cold and no in between. The staff are friendly and helpful and offer discounts for popular tourist things around San Francisco which is very helpful! The breakfast is very annoying as you have to make your own pancakes and a lot of guests really take the mic with this and will create a tower of pancakes which takes forever and causes a very long queue waiting to make their own!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    18
    44
    23
    20
See reviews for
2
17
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We were two girls and we spent one night there.
The room was pretty big, clean and with private bathroom. The staff was friendly and so the people we met there! The breakfast is pancakes (you have to cook them!) coffee and jam and it was good! I'd like go there again =)
The pillow wasn't very comfortable...but i was too tired to care about it!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I stayed in a clean dorm with 4 beds and own bathroom. It takes you a while to figure out how the shower works. There is wifi in the room. The staff is very friendly. The location, close to Union Square is good. Don't expect too much of the breakfast, it's coffee, a bucket of pancakemix and jam. You can use the kitchen to make dinner and eat outside on the courtyard.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed one week in early June 2014.

This hostel fully lived up to my expectations. Nothing spectacular, but exactly what I expected in this price range. My total bill for a one week stay in downtown San Francisco, was the same as a single night's stay in one of the branded hotels!

I stayed in two different rooms, as I had not booked far enough in advance (10 days prior) to secure the same room for all 6 nights of my stay.

Both rooms I stayed in had four beds, and a single shared bathroom. The bathrooms were clean, in good working order, and had hot showers with proper water pressure.

Each room had a mix of male and female guests.

The free breakfast option consisted of what seems to be the worldwide hostel standard of a large tub of pancake mix, access to the stove, frying pans, and utensils. Brewed coffee was also available. Oh yes, as is also usually the case, you are required to wash whatever dishes you use. And please do. You don't want to be THAT dude!

The location is pretty decent as well. It's about a 10 - 15 minute walk from the cable car turnaround loop on Powell and Mission. You may pass a some rougher looking characters on the street, but there's lots of car and pedestrian traffic all hours of the day and night. I felt safe at all times.

Room Tip: For an interesting view if street life, get a room at that overlooks Taylor Street. Don't stor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The rooms are pretty poor for the price- uncomfortable beds and pretty dirty and stuffy. Not helped by loud and intrusive building work which was not explained or apologised for. Staff rude and unhelpful.- spoke to us like dogs and demanded we didn't open a door or window to let some air in. Would never recommend to anyone.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This place was fine for a hostel, but not great. The location was good, right in the centre of the city and close to all the main sights. The hostel felt secure and they were happy to store luggage. The staff were polite, but didn't all speak great English. They also didn't seem particularly knowledgable about things to do in the city.

While everything was clean the place felt pretty run down. I stayed in a dorm room (4 people) there were no ladders or rails on the bunk beds, the decor was tired, shower didn't work and blankets smelt a bit strange.

The kitchen was a building site which was a shame. To be honest the whole place just needed a bit of a revamp, but it was pretty cheap.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AAE Amsterdam San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AAE Amsterdam San Francisco

Address: 749 Taylor Street, San Francisco, CA 941098
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your AAE Amsterdam San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AAE Amsterdam San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.