We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and cheap hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AAE Amsterdam San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added AAE Amsterdam San Francisco to your Saves list
AAE Amsterdam San Francisco
749 Taylor Street, San Francisco, CA 941098 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 69 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean and cheap hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I stayed in a clean dorm with 4 beds and own bathroom. It takes you a while to figure out how the shower works. There is wifi in the room. The staff is very friendly. The location, close to Union Square is good. Don't expect too much of the breakfast, it's coffee, a bucket of pancakemix and jam. You can use the kitchen to make dinner and eat outside on the courtyard.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    23
    47
    25
    22
See reviews for
2
19
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed one week in early June 2014.

This hostel fully lived up to my expectations. Nothing spectacular, but exactly what I expected in this price range. My total bill for a one week stay in downtown San Francisco, was the same as a single night's stay in one of the branded hotels!

I stayed in two different rooms, as I had not booked far enough in advance (10 days prior) to secure the same room for all 6 nights of my stay.

Both rooms I stayed in had four beds, and a single shared bathroom. The bathrooms were clean, in good working order, and had hot showers with proper water pressure.

Each room had a mix of male and female guests.

The free breakfast option consisted of what seems to be the worldwide hostel standard of a large tub of pancake mix, access to the stove, frying pans, and utensils. Brewed coffee was also available. Oh yes, as is also usually the case, you are required to wash whatever dishes you use. And please do. You don't want to be THAT dude!

The location is pretty decent as well. It's about a 10 - 15 minute walk from the cable car turnaround loop on Powell and Mission. You may pass a some rougher looking characters on the street, but there's lots of car and pedestrian traffic all hours of the day and night. I felt safe at all times.

Room Tip: For an interesting view if street life, get a room at that overlooks Taylor Street. Don't stor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The rooms are pretty poor for the price- uncomfortable beds and pretty dirty and stuffy. Not helped by loud and intrusive building work which was not explained or apologised for. Staff rude and unhelpful.- spoke to us like dogs and demanded we didn't open a door or window to let some air in. Would never recommend to anyone.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This place was fine for a hostel, but not great. The location was good, right in the centre of the city and close to all the main sights. The hostel felt secure and they were happy to store luggage. The staff were polite, but didn't all speak great English. They also didn't seem particularly knowledgable about things to do in the city.

While everything was clean the place felt pretty run down. I stayed in a dorm room (4 people) there were no ladders or rails on the bunk beds, the decor was tired, shower didn't work and blankets smelt a bit strange.

The kitchen was a building site which was a shame. To be honest the whole place just needed a bit of a revamp, but it was pretty cheap.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hostel was smelling bad and old. The carpets weren't looking nice. The door in our bathroom was closing with a very loud noise, always waking everyone up, and didn't even have a lock. I told front desk about that, only to be woken up by a Chinese handyman who has simply walked in the next morning at 9-10 am, opened the door and turned all the lights on - I didn't even hear him knocking as I was sleeping - he said "next time answer the door", excuse me?! They never fixed it during my next 3 days of stay! It just shows how they don't care. Small, almost non-existent common area. They had construction going on in the kitchen, so it was looking terrible, I wouldn't cook anything there, I wasn't even feeling safe walking on that fragile floor!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hostel was fine to stay at. It is in a cute little building, in a pretty good location, with nice facilities. We had a 6 bed with a private bathroom (private bathroom is definitely a must!) Rooms are very small, especially with 6 girls and 6 suitcases! Only bad thing is that is got quite cold in the room at night. The heaters are turned on and off automatically, so you have no control, and the bedding is not warm enough.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

To be honest there are pretty nice bathrooms in the 4 bed mix shared dorm. Haven't tries the showers yet though so who knows. However, the service is the worst I've ever experienced. The indian girl at reception was the most incompetent person I've ever met. I've never been so frustrated in my life trying to deal with this woman. We called ahead asking if there were any empty rooms. There were no problems at all and she said to book online and ask for room 401. We book online, pay online yadda yadda and then get there, she says we haven't paid yet and double charges us. We try to explain but of course she's too thick to understand. She then says that if we want 401 we need to pay for all 4 beds. We just wanted the possibility of privacy for the night but didn't mind if others were in the room. She did not get this at all. Literally the dumbest person I've come across. I would never ever recommend this place to anyone because they'd end up scratching their eyes out dealing with the front desk staff.

Room Tip: Don't come here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AAE Amsterdam San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AAE Amsterdam San Francisco

Address: 749 Taylor Street, San Francisco, CA 941098
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your AAE Amsterdam San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AAE Amsterdam San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.