We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tourist weekend in SF” 3 of 5 stars
Review of AAE Amsterdam San Francisco

Save Saved
You added AAE Amsterdam San Francisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
AAE Amsterdam San Francisco
749 Taylor Street, San Francisco, CA 941098 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 69 San Francisco B&B and Inns
italia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“tourist weekend in SF”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

stayed here for 2 nights with girlfriend in a private room. If you are not too snobby is great (u should not expect luxury from hostels): it is really downtown located, 5 min walk from union square, great prices and they kept our bags for free for the day we had to leave. Also it was quiet,clean and had free wifi. Of course u cannot expect to have a stunning view and a great breakfast, but u would not come to an hostel then ;)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    16
    39
    21
    19
See reviews for
2
15
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Booked AAE Amsterdam well in advance, got good rates on it. They offer discounted parking in a car park two blocks away which is great. Hostel in a fantastic location. Not too noisy but only a 5 minute walk from union square, and about 5-10 minute walk to Polk street where there are a lot of bars. Good washing and drying facilities, very helpful and friendly staff. Slight downside was that the rooms were slightly dated, but we were in a 4 person room and it was very spacious and had a large bathroom as well. Would definitely recommend this hostel for anyone wanting good value in the middle of San Fran.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights last weekend. No issues. Clean bedding, very clean bathroom and friendly staff. Didn't go for breakfast, but wi-fi was good.
I was literally only in the room to sleep and shower, as was out exploring San Fran, but for me was delighted with paying $35 a night to do so!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Now I'm not snobby, nor am I a stranger to hostels. Hostels are normally great, clean, social places where fun can happen. Not at the Amsterdam Hostel.

When we arrived for check in at 3pm we were told that there were no sheets for our bedding available until 5. This annoyed us because we'd been awake since 3am that morning for a flight and all we wanted to do was sleep. When we got to our room the mattress' were covered in what I can only describe as pubic hair and everything else was covered in dust. The curtains did not close, not even a little bit, so every morning we were awake before 6am. Fun.

Not only was the Amsterdam hostel thoroughly unclean, it was also terrible for social events. At all the other hostels we stayed at we met some amazing people and had some amazing nights arranged by the hostel.There were a few arranged at this hostel, but the rude staff put people off joining up for them.

Do not stay here. San Francisco is a beautiful city and you shouldn't ruin your stay by staying here. Find somewhere else!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Fabulous hostel with some lovely architectural features inside. The hostel was very clean and nicely decorated. The beds were clean (as were the pillows which smelt very fresh - a pleasant change from other hostels). The staff were always very happy to help with all those touristy queries and in addition you got a free pancake breakfast with coffee or tea too! Great Hostel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Very great location. I was impressed of how kind the staff is and all the facilities we can find. Theres free wi-fi, free breakfast, tea and coffee all day long. The rooms are very confortable and with private restrooms. Good place to stay in San Francisco. Just don't walk there with a heavy suitcase, because, as many places in SF it's located in a hill.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for private rooms with bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

"Average" might be a little too nice actually, but I would say that for the price and location, the conditions are accurate. Definitely just a place to rest your head and shower. Personally I didn't care to spend much time in the hostel which lead me to spending a lot of my spare time in cafes and bars. Considering the cost of spending my spare time in the cafes and bars, it probably would have been worth it to pay more for a nicer hostel where I wouldn't have minded hanging out in my spare time. The beds were ok. The employees were ok. Location is good. Price is fair for the "well worn" conditions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to AAE Amsterdam San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AAE Amsterdam San Francisco

Address: 749 Taylor Street, San Francisco, CA 941098
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your AAE Amsterdam San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AAE Amsterdam San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.