We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, that's all.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of AAE Amsterdam San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added AAE Amsterdam San Francisco to your Saves list
AAE Amsterdam San Francisco
749 Taylor Street, San Francisco, CA 941098 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 69 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Penang Island, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good location, that's all.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed there for 4 days. Prepare for a hike up to the hostel, as the whole of San Francisco is very hilly. The staff who attended to us during check in was pretty rude but the one on night shift was really friendly.
There's free map provided, cosy lounge area, free breakfast (but it's only coffee and pancakes which you have to make on your own and be stuffed with a gazillion other people in a tiny, oily kitchen). Location wise, it is walking distance to union square and close to a lot of shops.
The room looked a little run down and dirty and the room we were in had a faulty heater.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    24
    48
    25
    24
See reviews for
2
20
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The worst hostel ever!

They are making a huge effort to be the worst hostel in SF!

Geez, at the first sight, they basically steal my money! Yeah, you've not read wrong, they had charged me 20 bucks more to cover the "hostelworld" tax!! they didn't say anything when you book on line, they simply will charge you when you get there!

The room is very, very simple and old fashionable. The bed sheets were clean but that smelled like my grandmother's house...

There's one superlazy guy at the reception, the others are very friendly and hard-workers.

The location is nice, close to good bars and night clubs, not that far from downtown.

Sorry, but I wouldn't reccomend this hostel since they can create new fees for the costumers.

Hope this review helps you all!

Thanks

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The breakfast includes only pancakes and coffee. You have to make the pancakes on your own, which is very annoying, because there are only two pans that you can use and all other guests also want to have pancakes. So, you have to stand in line and wait until it is your turn and you can have pancakes. After 2 days we had enough of pancakes. You just can't eat every morning only pancakes. Nevertheless, you can use the kitchen. But it closes at 10pm (22:00). We had a room right next to the kitchen. Therefore, we could sleep only until 7am, because then the kitchen opens and we could hear every word the guests in the kitchen said. The only advantage is that the hostel is very downtown and close to the shops. There are also 3 computers with internet connection which you can use for free. If you want to print something, we had to pay 50 cents for one page.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellinzona, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hostel is very basic, the furnishings is very old and a bit dirty..
what can i say?
that the location is nice.. breakfast was basic.. but it's free!
the hostel bot great, but not terrible... the staff were kindly!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

So I had read a few kind of moderate to not so pleasant things about the Amsterdam. However I do typically take places with those kind of reviews with a grain of salt. People can be pretty hard to please, I suppose.

I came in, and I was pretty happy with the modest decor. It didn't smell like B.O, or urine as some people have claimed, and in the week that I've been here it's never had an offensive odor.

The beds themselves...I mean, it's a hostel. For 21-23 dollars, are you really expecting a tempurpedic? It is a pain that there is no ladder or anything to assist you in getting to the top bunk. If anything, that's been my only complaint. The front desk seems to always be willing to assist anyone with questions. The owner seems a bit more on edge, but it's his business, so c'mon, he's not going to be overtly aloof.

The other guests are amazing, outgoing and filled to the brim with great conversation.

I can't give my recommendation to this place highly enough. The rooms are cleaned daily.

In fact, theres the other complaint I have. They use a very loud Oreck, and it's constantly in use from morning until maybe about fiveish. It's annoying, loud, and often.

Give the Amsterdam a shot. It's walking distance to many, many things. And what it isn't, you can easily catch Bart, or public transport of some means. Have fun!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed here in September 2012. I paid a bit extra ($125 per night incl tax) for double room to myself with my own bathroom in the room. The room was old fashioned and not pretty but it was clean. The bed was fine. My room was under downstairs and near the stairs so i could hear people moving around the hostel but it wasn't too noisy.

The location is ok, its not in the ghetto but you're never too far from one in SF. Its about 15 mins walk from Market so its close enough to the crazies but far enough away that you would feel relatively safe in the area at night.

I talked with a few of the staff who were very friendly and helpful. The cleaner wasnt so friendly but i was checking out almost 2 hours late so i was delaying her (Other than the cleaner, nobody seemed to mind that i was checking out so late and i didn't incur any late fee).

All in all, i would go back to this hostel as it was cheap, clean and had friendly staff.

Room Tip: I didn't see the dorms but the private rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed in a four-bed dorm - the bedroom and attached bathroom were clean. The room wasn't huge, but I didn't have trouble moving around. Big lockers were also provided (without locks) so you can keep your stuff safe. Beds were pretty comfortable, and the room was pretty quiet.

The only slight downside is the make-your-own-pancakes breakfast which meant the queue could get pretty long if you got to the kitchen at the wrong time. That said, the pancakes were pretty decent and you can have as many as you like so it was filling enough.

Location is fantastic - just a short walk away from Union Square, BUT the hostel is located on a pretty steep hill so consider yourself warned if you have tonnes of stuff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AAE Amsterdam San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AAE Amsterdam San Francisco

Address: 749 Taylor Street, San Francisco, CA 941098
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your AAE Amsterdam San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AAE Amsterdam San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.