We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUCK” 1 of 5 stars
Review of AAE Amsterdam San Francisco

Save Saved
You added AAE Amsterdam San Francisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
AAE Amsterdam San Francisco
749 Taylor Street, San Francisco, CA 941098 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 69 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“YUCK”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

The staff members are all lazy they ignore the customers and talk on the phone with their friends. If you ask them for help they look disappointed. Moreover room were as bad as the service and it is over priced! plenty of other good hostels around. The hostel also smells like urine

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    15
    37
    21
    19
See reviews for
2
14
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

i stayed at the amsterdam hostel in september for 5 nights.

Firstly i ordered a mixed dorm of 6 people and for 4 of the nights i was the only girl in the room with 5 other lads. this wasnt a problem for me as i was comfortable, but for other girls i suggest booking mainly female rooms if you would have a problem. also when i got there i couldnt tell which bed was free and the blankets and sheets were screwed up on the bed. i didnt realise there wasnt a quilt untill about 8 o clock, i went to the front desk and they were unable to help and said i would have to wait untill the next day to get a quilt and offered me another set of sheets instead.. luckinly it was warm so i didnt need it.

the bathroom in the hostel was lovley, however there was so much shower jel and empty pots that were left there from previous users ( understandable as the cleaners may not know whose is whos)

the breakfast was nice, plain, it was pancakes, (you have to cook youreself) however little space and you coulve been waiting a while to cook them, the staff in the kitchen (cleaners) are foregin and often talk in their own language so hard to tell what they were saying however they seemed displeased that i was still in the eating area outside after the kitchen had closed, and was moody when i baught my plate in.

the other staff on reception were lovely and eager to help you out with what you wanted

i would stay here again because overall the places and the cost were satisfactory (as i was traveling and wanted to save money)

hope this helps

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

My first time in San Francisco. Amsterdam was easily accessed by BART and a few block walk. Older building, but very clean with friendly, helpful staff. Stayed in a 6 bed dorm and because people were coming and going, did not get much time to meet people. Free wireless Internet, towels and pancake and coffee breakfast made it a great deal. Great Vulcan range in the kitchen. Wish I owned it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011 via mobile

I wad traveling down the west coast and San Fran was the first place I stayed in. This hostel was good for it's location, you still had to walk 15 minutes or so to get to the buzz, but it was quite pricey considering!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights, it very clean, clean room, sheets, towls, in good location for piers and city, also close to chinatown...coffee and pancakes for breakfast included. Also provided large lockers for belongings which was perfect for our giant bags. Would definately stay again, great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I was staying in Amsterdam hostel couple days in June. I booked my stay online (really good price-apx 25 $ per night- cheapest in the area), but later on i decided to stay 2 nights longer and i had to change my room, as they take lots of online reservations and every time you extend Your stay You have to check out and wait for new room. I know for some people it was really annoying, but was ok with me- understandable. Next time consider better for how long exactly You want to stay...
Hostel interior is very old, but it's pretty clean. There's a cleaner that dumps Your bin every day, does some provisional hoovering , tides up in the bathroom... sometimes when i stay in some hostels i'm disgusted to sleep in the bed or touch anything in the bathroom, but in Amsterdam i didn't have that feeling. Mattresses seemed to be clean, no bedbugs, cockroaches etc.
In the morning there's served breakfast. Actually You serve it to Yourself...in the kitchen there's prepared mix for American pancakes , so You fry as many You want and eat with provided maple syrup or jam. Kitchen is really well equipped - tea/coffe facilities, fridges, owen, cooker, micro oven...everything. And You have all the pots, cutlery etc.
What i found really cool, was a patio..You could seat there until late, eat, drink and have long conversations. What's definately good in Amsterdam- is atmpsphere. There's some good vibe over there.
The most annoying thing- there's no reception for Your phone inside !! You'll see a bunch of peeps outside trying to get connection. Interenet is working well in the lounge, in the room- depends- rather bad.
Staff very helpful and friendly, always went an extra mile to help.
All in all, considering conditions etc pretty avarage, nothing extraordinary, but i'd still recommend it. It's much better than different hostels in US and Europe i was staying in.
The only thing i'd suggest them , is maybe to intersperse breakfast. In most hostels (the worst ones) for breakfast You get at least some cereals, toasts etc. After staying longer than 3 days You hate pancakes for the rest of Your life !

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

The Amsterdam Hostel provided me with a clean, sufficient single room at a very reasonable price near Chinatown and the streetcar line. The staff was friendly. The information said waffles are provided in the kitchen, however it was make your own pancakes. A nice way to start the day.
A common kitchen provides a place to do your own cooking as well.
I did have trouble using the computer to check email, etc. That would be my only complaint.

Room Tip: I only stayed in one room- full size bed, tv, private en-suite bath. I don't know how it compa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to AAE Amsterdam San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AAE Amsterdam San Francisco

Address: 749 Taylor Street, San Francisco, CA 941098
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your AAE Amsterdam San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AAE Amsterdam San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.