We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families, Great location, not so great surprise at checkout” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3100 Webster Street, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Marina District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Let The Wonder Begin
Ranked #48 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great for families, Great location, not so great surprise at checkout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We chose Hotel Del Sol based upon the feedback here on TripAdvisor, and for the most part, we loved it. The location is perfect: blocks away from lots of family-friendly restaurants, 10 minutes from the Marina, 20 minute walk to the Presido, and a short #30 bus to Fisherman's Wharf, Lombard Street, and Coit Tower. The setting is fun: bright colors, a heated outdoor pool, hammocks (!!), and comfortable, clean rooms. The staff was helpful: they fixed a sink within 5 minutes of the call and Oscar at the front desk found and returned a bag of jewelry that I had left in the room safe. There are family movies in the lobby, so we even kept up Family Movie Night after an exhausting day of walking. The breakfast is all bread, but at least it's something.

The problem showed up at checkout when the bill was $150 more than I was quoted in the confirmation email and check in. The woman at the desk pointed out a disclaimer on the email confirmation "The above rate(s) may not reflect all possible fees, additional charges or taxes associated with this reservation. For clarification regarding these charges, please contact our reservations department." This vague disclaimer turned out to hide a required 15% state tax! "Possible fees, additional charges, and taxes" is truthful but not in good faith--the hotel certainly knew about the required tax, but we didn't. We booked through the hotel's website because it advertised discounts for booking directly and for multiple nights. With the hidden tax, the price was EXACTLY THE SAME as Hotels.com.

On this same road trip, we visited five other hotels each one was very clear **in advance** about the taxes that would be included. Some even required me to initial at check in to verify that I knew about the taxes. We recommend the hotel, but beware this bait-and-switch.

Room Tip: There are a few suites and they get great air circulation through large windows on each side, but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We always appreciate and look forward to guest feedback!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our convenient location and complimentary continental breakfast. I am disappointed to know that your check-out brought some unexpected information your way regarding room taxes. Our room rates are always quoted as net rates and taxes are additional. I apologize if this information was not made clear at the time of your booking or at check-in. I will certainly forward your comments to our General Manager.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back if your travels ever lead you back to beautiful San Francisco!

Sincerely,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Manager
Hotel Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    334
    104
    29
    7
See reviews for
298
207
18
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting San Francisco. Great parking, and fabulous customer service! We have a dear favorite, Oscar, who is incredible each time we come to stay (a few times a year).

Oscar is so helpful and makes our stay memorable...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We always appreciate and look forward to guest feedback!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us once again! I'm also happy to know that Oscar was helpful and friendly and that he made your stay memorable!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back if your travels ever lead you back to beautiful San Francisco!

Sincerely,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Manager
Hotel Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We decided to go to San Francisco at the last minute so it was hard to find a hotel!

Thankfully, we managed to get a room for 3 nights at this hotel and it was pretty good!

The hotel was perfectly located for us (a few minutes away from really good restaurants and bars), the room was comfortable and colorful even if it was a bit outdated (not the decor but the paint and the bathroom).

The patio is really nice with the pool, the palm trees and hammocks.

I would not recommend to take the breakfast because it is not very big and the choices are reduces to muffins and bagels.

The employees were all very nice and helpful!

It was a great stay there and I would definitely come back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We always appreciate and look forward to guest feedback!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable! I'm also glad that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and that you had a chance to visit some of the excellent restaurants within walking distance of the hotel!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back if your travels ever lead you back to beautiful San Francisco!

Sincerely,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Manager
Hotel Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankston South
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We were a group of 3 families (12 people in total) travelling together and stayed at the Hotel del Sol. I booked based on reviews and was not disappointed. Hotel was fantastic, pool was heated and great for the kids, breakfast was an added bonus and the staff were fantastic-especially Oscar. Neighbourhood was safe and user friendly. Would have no issue recommending this hotel and would love to visit here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We always appreciate and look forward to guest feedback!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable! I'm also glad that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and that you had a chance to visit some of the excellent restaurants within walking distance of the hotel! I'm also glad that Oscar was helpful and made your stay more enjoyable!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back if your travels ever lead you back to beautiful San Francisco!

Sincerely,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Manager
Hotel Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the room was clean and modern. We loved our breakfasts in the morning. This is a fantastic location in the city as it was easy to walk to many places to eat and shop. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We always appreciate and look forward to guest feedback!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable! I'm also glad that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and that you had a chance to visit some of the excellent restaurants within walking distance of the hotel!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back if your travels ever lead you back to beautiful San Francisco!

Sincerely,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Manager
Hotel Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

A great motel-type hotel in a good location. A couple of blocks from Union Street, the bay and about 20 mins walk from Fishermans Wharf. If you have a car, this is a great option. If you are a runner, this is a great spot to start a morning run along the bay to the bridge and back. One of my favourite runs ever. Breakfast is basic, but enough to have yourself and for the kids before heading off to one of the many options on Union Street and around. Staff are very attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us! We welcome guest comments and appreciate the feedback!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that our location and complimentary continental breakfast made your stay better! I hope you had time to try some of the excellent restaurants and boutique shopping within walking distance of the hotel!

We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels may lead you back to beautiful San Francisco!

Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Manager
Hotel Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This hotel does the little things to make sure you have an enjoyable stay. There is a small continental breakfast in the morning milk and cookies in the afternoon. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I thought the room itself was comfortable. We had a room with a pull out couch in the front room and a double bed in a separate room. The mattress on the couch bed was the only negative of the room as it was thin. This room also fit a roll away bed. While the bathroom was small, it was fine. The room style and the overall hotel style was great. As far as location it is a good walk to the waterfront (Ghirardelli Square), however this hotel is located in a fabulous neighborhood. Within 4 blocks are great restaurants and interesting shops. It is worth exploring. The hotel offers parking at $10/day. Bargain. The wifi is free and it was ok. The heated pool and hammocks are other extras of this fun hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us! We welcome guest comments and appreciate the feedback!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you had a chance to visit some of the excellent restaurants and shops within walking distance of the hotel. I'm also glad to hear that our staff was friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed our complimentary continental breakfast in the morning.

We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels may lead you back to beautiful San Francisco!

Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Manager
Hotel Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#50 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 648 reviews
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#26 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 675 reviews
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hote...
#89 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#116 of 234 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 816 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
#15 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 3100 Webster Street, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#67 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to celebrate California's lively culture, the Hotel Del Sol is a cheerful explosion of the West Coast spirit. Once a 50s-style motor lodge, it has been newly transformed to offer the stylings and personalized service of a boutique hotel. The spacious guestrooms evoke the bright and airy interior of a California beach house. Relaxing hammocks, a sparkling pool and towering palm trees in the courtyard is a colorful feast for the eyes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Sol Hotel
Del Sol San Francisco
Hotel Del Sol San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.