We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3100 Webster Street, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Marina)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #46 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great location, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

A great motel-type hotel in a good location. A couple of blocks from Union Street, the bay and about 20 mins walk from Fishermans Wharf. If you have a car, this is a great option. If you are a runner, this is a great spot to start a morning run along the bay to the bridge and back. One of my favourite runs ever. Breakfast is basic, but enough to have yourself and for the kids before heading off to one of the many options on Union Street and around. Staff are very attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us! We welcome guest comments and appreciate the feedback!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that our location and complimentary continental breakfast made your stay better! I hope you had time to try some of the excellent restaurants and boutique shopping within walking distance of the hotel!

We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels may lead you back to beautiful San Francisco!

Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Manager
Hotel Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    292
    87
    25
    5
See reviews for
250
185
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This hotel does the little things to make sure you have an enjoyable stay. There is a small continental breakfast in the morning milk and cookies in the afternoon. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I thought the room itself was comfortable. We had a room with a pull out couch in the front room and a double bed in a separate room. The mattress on the couch bed was the only negative of the room as it was thin. This room also fit a roll away bed. While the bathroom was small, it was fine. The room style and the overall hotel style was great. As far as location it is a good walk to the waterfront (Ghirardelli Square), however this hotel is located in a fabulous neighborhood. Within 4 blocks are great restaurants and interesting shops. It is worth exploring. The hotel offers parking at $10/day. Bargain. The wifi is free and it was ok. The heated pool and hammocks are other extras of this fun hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us! We welcome guest comments and appreciate the feedback!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you had a chance to visit some of the excellent restaurants and shops within walking distance of the hotel. I'm also glad to hear that our staff was friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed our complimentary continental breakfast in the morning.

We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels may lead you back to beautiful San Francisco!

Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Manager
Hotel Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We loved staying at the Hotel Del Sol, in San Francisco, CA. Would stay there again. Staff very friendly and helpful. Nice breakfast,convenient and delicious. Comfy rooms and located in a wonderful district, walking distance to some very nice restaurants and shopping. Would recommend to all my friends. Thank you, Oscar, for all of your tips about getting around in San Francisco, and your help when checking in.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us! We welcome guest comments and appreciate the feedback!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found our guestrooms to be comfortable! I'm also glad to know that Oscar assisted you at check-in and gave you some good tips on what to see in the city!

It seems like our convenient location and complimentary breakfast made your stay a memorable experience!

We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels may lead you back to beautiful San Francisco!

Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Manager
Hotel Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Our family with 3 teenagers loved the hip, young vibe of the Hotel del Sol. Our rooms (family suites) were spacious, clean, comfortable and colorful. The breakfast was convenient and delicious. The location could not be better with Union St. shops and restaurants and the Marina Green/Golden Gate views both a few minutes on foot. We would stay here again anytime!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us! We welcome guest comments and appreciate the feedback!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found our guestrooms to be clean and well appointed. I'm also glad to know that you took advantage of our heated outdoor pool and had time to enjoy the some of the great restaurants and shopping within walking distance of the hotel!

It seems like our convenient location, complimentary parking, wifi and breakfast made your stay a memorable experience!

We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels may lead you back to beautiful San Francisco!

Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Manager
Hotel Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fanwood, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This small clean adorably furnished hotel was once an old motor lodge. But it has been refurbished and redone in a fun clean way. Comfy and close to Cow Hollow with it's strips of lovely restaurants, funky shops, and mass transit (best bus system anywhere), it also proved to be walking district to the Presidio and the water. The staff was charming and helpful, the morning breakfasts simple but ample. I would stay there again in a heartbeat!

Green Features: We were so impressed by the recycling, the biodegradable flatwear, and the requests to conserve water. Bravo!
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us! We welcome guest comments and appreciate the feedback!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found our guestrooms to be clean and well furnished. I'm also glad to know that you took advantage of the great restaurants and shopping within walking distance of the hotel!

We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels may lead you back to beautiful San Francisco!

Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Manager
Hotel Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This is a very nice hotel. Located in a excellent spot in town, the hotel has nice and clean room, great hospitality. The Breakfast is simple but is all you need for starting the day.

Mr Oscar is the frontdesk man and he is a very very very nice person, Thanks Mr Oscar for all the great tips and the patience.

SF is an amazing city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us! We welcome guest comments and appreciate the feedback!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found our guestrooms to be clean and well appointed. I'm also glad to know that you took advantage of our complimentary continental breakfast and had time to enjoy the some of the great restaurants and shopping within walking distance of the hotel!

I will certainly pass your comments along to Oscar!

We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels may lead you back to beautiful San Francisco!

Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Supervisor
Hotel Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

the room was clean, the staff was very nice, and the parking very inexpensive. plenty of nice bars and restaurants close by. the area of the hotel put us within easy walking distance of several things we wanted to see. i hope to get back to san fran and i would stay here again in a heartbeat. all positives.

Room Tip: we were in a corner unit by the stairs and it was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us! We welcome guest comments and appreciate the feedback!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found our guestrooms to be clean and well appointed. I'm also glad to know that you took advantage of our complimentary continental breakfast and had time to enjoy the some of the great restaurants and shopping within walking distance of the hotel!

We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels may lead you back to beautiful San Francisco!

Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Supervisor
Hotel Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 3100 Webster Street, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#46 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to celebrate California's lively culture, the Hotel Del Sol is a cheerful explosion of the West Coast spirit. Once a 50s-style motor lodge, it has been newly transformed to offer the stylings and personalized service of a boutique hotel. The spacious guestrooms evoke the bright and airy interior of a California beach house. Relaxing hammocks, a sparkling pool and towering palm trees in the courtyard is a colorful feast for the eyes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Sol Hotel
Del Sol San Francisco
Hotel Del Sol San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.