We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheerful and casual” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3100 Webster Street, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Marina)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #43 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Concord, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“cheerful and casual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Our family with 3 teenagers loved the hip, young vibe of the Hotel del Sol. Our rooms (family suites) were spacious, clean, comfortable and colorful. The breakfast was convenient and delicious. The location could not be better with Union St. shops and restaurants and the Marina Green/Golden Gate views both a few minutes on foot. We would stay here again anytime!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us! We welcome guest comments and appreciate the feedback!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found our guestrooms to be clean and well appointed. I'm also glad to know that you took advantage of our heated outdoor pool and had time to enjoy the some of the great restaurants and shopping within walking distance of the hotel!

It seems like our convenient location, complimentary parking, wifi and breakfast made your stay a memorable experience!

We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels may lead you back to beautiful San Francisco!

Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Manager
Hotel Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    285
    85
    25
    5
See reviews for
247
178
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fanwood, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This small clean adorably furnished hotel was once an old motor lodge. But it has been refurbished and redone in a fun clean way. Comfy and close to Cow Hollow with it's strips of lovely restaurants, funky shops, and mass transit (best bus system anywhere), it also proved to be walking district to the Presidio and the water. The staff was charming and helpful, the morning breakfasts simple but ample. I would stay there again in a heartbeat!

Green Features: We were so impressed by the recycling, the biodegradable flatwear, and the requests to conserve water. Bravo!
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us! We welcome guest comments and appreciate the feedback!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found our guestrooms to be clean and well furnished. I'm also glad to know that you took advantage of the great restaurants and shopping within walking distance of the hotel!

We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels may lead you back to beautiful San Francisco!

Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Manager
Hotel Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This is a very nice hotel. Located in a excellent spot in town, the hotel has nice and clean room, great hospitality. The Breakfast is simple but is all you need for starting the day.

Mr Oscar is the frontdesk man and he is a very very very nice person, Thanks Mr Oscar for all the great tips and the patience.

SF is an amazing city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us! We welcome guest comments and appreciate the feedback!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found our guestrooms to be clean and well appointed. I'm also glad to know that you took advantage of our complimentary continental breakfast and had time to enjoy the some of the great restaurants and shopping within walking distance of the hotel!

I will certainly pass your comments along to Oscar!

We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels may lead you back to beautiful San Francisco!

Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Supervisor
Hotel Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

the room was clean, the staff was very nice, and the parking very inexpensive. plenty of nice bars and restaurants close by. the area of the hotel put us within easy walking distance of several things we wanted to see. i hope to get back to san fran and i would stay here again in a heartbeat. all positives.

Room Tip: we were in a corner unit by the stairs and it was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us! We welcome guest comments and appreciate the feedback!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found our guestrooms to be clean and well appointed. I'm also glad to know that you took advantage of our complimentary continental breakfast and had time to enjoy the some of the great restaurants and shopping within walking distance of the hotel!

We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels may lead you back to beautiful San Francisco!

Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Supervisor
Hotel Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rykkinn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Greeted by the most friendly man in reception the start was very good. As a family of five you should consider statying other place as the ved provided by the sleeping couch was poorly. The Internett speed also varys, we were unlucky and far from reception so our internett wasn't working for most of the time. Other than that, a good place to stay!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us! We welcome guest comments and appreciate the feedback!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that our Front Desk Staff was friendly and helpful! I'm disappointed to hear that your internet connection was spotty and that your sofa bed mattress was not as comfortable as expected. I will certainly forward your comments to our General Manager.

We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels may lead you back to beautiful San Francisco!

Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Supervisor
Hotel Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We were recommended here from friends who have stayed also. Travelling around the US from Australia we have had many hotels over this trip. This one especially took our fancy as it's very quirky, kind of 60's style but well done, staff very friendly, seems intimate, has parking on the premises and the villGe nearby called CowHollow is just gorgeous with great shops and restaurants. There is no tea/coffee in the rooms but it's always hot and available at reception when you come home and through the day beautiful warm home made cookies. The breakfast is good too, fresh Danishes, bagels, & fruit that you can just take back to your room. Rooms are well appointed, good bed, nice fluffy towels etc. overall good value for money too, this town is expensive for accomodation. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us! We welcome guest comments and appreciate the feedback!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found our guestrooms to be clean and well appointed. I'm also glad to know that you took advantage of our complimentary continental breakfast and had time to enjoy the some of the great restaurants and shopping within walking distance of the hotel!

We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels may lead you back to beautiful San Francisco!

Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Supervisor
Hotel Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stayed at this hotel while in town to see a show.

I loved the vibe from the moment I walked in. It reminded me of what it must have been like in a bygone era. It is a motor court hotel, with 3 floors. The pool is in the center. The rooms were clean and comfortable. But you are in a city. There was a little bit of sound from the city streets. Nothing that prevented me from sleeping. I think there was a big St. Patrick's Day celebration nearby.

Nice continental breakfast in the morning, served out on the patio. The staff was super friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

Green Features: Love that they are environmentally friendly. I noticed when I checked in to my room that they employ green practices into their business.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us! We welcome guest comments and appreciate the feedback!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you took advantage of our complimentary continental breakfast. I'm also happy to know that our staff was friendly and helpful!

We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels may lead you back to beautiful San Francisco!

Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Supervisor
Hotel Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 3100 Webster Street, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#74 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to celebrate California's lively culture, the Hotel Del Sol is a cheerful explosion of the West Coast spirit. Once a 50s-style motor lodge, it has been newly transformed to offer the stylings and personalized service of a boutique hotel. The spacious guestrooms evoke the bright and airy interior of a California beach house. Relaxing hammocks, a sparkling pool and towering palm trees in the courtyard is a colorful feast for the eyes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Otel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Sol Hotel
Del Sol San Francisco
Hotel Del Sol San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.