We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this renovated throw back to a bygone era” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3100 Webster Street, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Marina District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Lucky Locals Rate
Ranked #42 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bay Area, CA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Love this renovated throw back to a bygone era”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stayed at this hotel while in town to see a show.

I loved the vibe from the moment I walked in. It reminded me of what it must have been like in a bygone era. It is a motor court hotel, with 3 floors. The pool is in the center. The rooms were clean and comfortable. But you are in a city. There was a little bit of sound from the city streets. Nothing that prevented me from sleeping. I think there was a big St. Patrick's Day celebration nearby.

Nice continental breakfast in the morning, served out on the patio. The staff was super friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

Green Features: Love that they are environmentally friendly. I noticed when I checked in to my room that they employ green practices into their business.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us! We welcome guest comments and appreciate the feedback!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you took advantage of our complimentary continental breakfast. I'm also happy to know that our staff was friendly and helpful!

We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels may lead you back to beautiful San Francisco!

Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Supervisor
Hotel Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    314
    93
    25
    7
See reviews for
273
193
16
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Papeete, French Polynesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The hotel has clean rooms, a kind service, is closed to a lot of good restaurants and shopping at its around, nightclubs too ! I just love it! If you're kan of singing, there's also a Karaoke bar at just one block, the bar is fine, but the Karaoke is pretty cool !!! Go Go

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us! We welcome guest comments and appreciate the feedback!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found our guestrooms to be clean and well appointed. I'm also glad to know that our staff was friendly and helpful and that you had time to enjoy some of the excellent restaurants and bars within walking distance of the hotel!

We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels may lead you back to beautiful San Francisco!

Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Supervisor
Hotel Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helena, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We had an event to attend at Fort Mason and this hotel was in a great location. We loved the bright and upbeat atmosphere as well as the friendly and helpful staff. We liked that they were environmentally aware too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us! We welcome guest comments and appreciate the feedback!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that our staff was friendly and helpful! I'm also glad to know that our convenient location made your stay even more enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels may lead you back to beautiful San Francisco!

Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Supervisor
Hotel Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

LOVED this hotel/motel. Don't let the motel style dissuade you from checking out this great find in San Francisco. I travel to San Francisco at least twice a year combining business with pleasure. I generally bring my young daughter, my mom and her dog. Finding a hotel with parking, accepts pets and is family friendly is difficult and expensive. I recently expanded my search and recognized the Joie de Vivre brand and thought why not give it a try. The price was right and it had all the amenities including a pool for my daughter to play in while I worked.

Found out it was a great neighborhood, easy walking to restaurants, play area, short jaunt to Fisherman's Wharf and the Presidio. Funky California beach motel style with updated rooms, very comfortable. Even came with complimentary continental breakfast (although I was surprised this did not include fruit)

A little loud at night if you have someone above you but we sleep with a white noise machine and it was fine.

Staff was amazingly helpful, friendly and accommodating. I would absolutely stay here again!

Room Tip: Higher floors will be quieter at night
See more room tips
Green Features: Always important in my hotel selection, thank you for taking it seriously
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us! We welcome guest comments and appreciate the feedback!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that our convenient location and friendly staff made your time even more enjoyable! I'm also glad to know that you were able to enjoy our complimentary continental breakfast!

We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels may lead you back to beautiful San Francisco!

Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Supervisor
Hotel Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We recently stayed at Hotel Del Sol while visiting San Francisco. First and foremost, the staff at this hotel were excellent and extremely friendly. They welcome you with smiles on their faces and lemonade and/or infused water at check-in. I'll breakdown this review into 3 short segments: 1. Location 2. Room Quality 3. Price

Location-The hotel is centrally located between the Marina and Pacific Heights neighborhoods. From here you can easily take a cab, uber or walk to many of the city's great tourist attractions or local hangouts. The hotel also offers surface parking (at a cost) if you have a car. Parking is tough to find in the city.

Room Quality- This is where the title comes from. In true California style, the layout of the complex features an open air courtyard with a pool and law area. To access the room you will be outside which also means that your windows open to the public area. We found that this caused for quite a bit of noise while you're sleeping as people return home. The rooms are laid out like those you'd find in a standard motel with an average quality mattress and furniture that has been dated. if you've ever stayed at a days inn, this would be akin to that rather than a hotel with all the bells and whistles you'd come to expect. The bathroom was really small and there was nothing special about the room.

Price- Like everything in SF, the cost for lodging is expensive. However, the hotel is really more of a motel and the price should more accurately reflect the same. They are priced more like a 3-4 star hotel so I'd look around if you're more price sensitive or seek deals and promotions they may be offering.

We enjoyed our stay here but could not quite justify the price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us! We welcome guest comments and appreciate the feedback!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that our location was convenient! I am disappointed to hear that you found your room to be a bit noisy. I will certainly forward your comments to our General Manager.

We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels may lead you back to beautiful San Francisco!

Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Supervisor
Hotel Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We found Hotel Del Sol thanks to all the reviews here on TripAdvisor. We stayed there for 4 nights in May 2014. Overall, it's a great hotel for the price and location.

Location: On Lombard Street in the Marina neighborhood. It's not a touristy area. Instead, you get a true San Fran local neighborhood experience. Tons of good restaurants. It's very easy to take a bus to the major attractions (or bus to cable car). Very safe neighborhood as well.

Property: The property is more that of a Motel, not a Hotel. It has four open-air sides surrounding an open courtyard (with pool and hammocks). The rooms open out to the courtyard, not an enclosed hallway. While there are open driveways into the courtyard, we didn't have any safety concerns. Fear not: The rooms and service are that of a hotel.

Room: Very comfortable bed, very clean. Tip: If the shower water pressure seems dismal, rotate the shower head to a different setting.

Service: Awesome. From the front desk to the cleaning staff, no complaints.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us! We welcome guest comments and appreciate the feedback!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that our staff was helpful and friendly! I'm also glad to know that you had time to enjoy the some of the great restaurants and shopping within walking distance of the hotel!

We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels may lead you back to beautiful San Francisco!

Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Supervisor
Hotel Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Great location
Good 'to go' bagels & cream cheese.
Funky, boutique hotel with useful amenities.
$10 parking
Great value
I normally like a hotel as opposed to a motel, but the arrangement of it made it feel more safe and pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us! We welcome guest comments and appreciate the feedback!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! I'm also glad to know that you took advantage of our complimentary continental breakfast and had time to enjoy the some of the great restaurants and shopping within walking distance of the hotel!

We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels may lead you back to beautiful San Francisco!

Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Supervisor
Hotel Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 3100 Webster Street, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#46 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#69 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to celebrate California's lively culture, the Hotel Del Sol is a cheerful explosion of the West Coast spirit. Once a 50s-style motor lodge, it has been newly transformed to offer the stylings and personalized service of a boutique hotel. The spacious guestrooms evoke the bright and airy interior of a California beach house. Relaxing hammocks, a sparkling pool and towering palm trees in the courtyard is a colorful feast for the eyes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Sol Hotel
Del Sol San Francisco
Hotel Del Sol San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.