We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3100 Webster Street, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Marina District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Lucky Locals Rate
Ranked #42 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What a great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This great boutique style hotel is clean, comfortable and in one of the best parts of San Francisco. It has a fun theme, hammocks in the courtyard and free parking. The staff is friendly and accommodating . If you're looking for a hotel in the Marina district, this former motel is a great choice!

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, General Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We always appreciate guest feedback!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our convenient location and complimentary parking made your stay even more memorable! I hope you had a chance to visit some of the excellent restaurants within walking distance of the property on either Chestnut or Union streets.

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Del Sol for your stay in San Francisco and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    314
    93
    25
    7
See reviews for
273
193
16
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I am so glad I chose Hotel del Sol. It is a bright and friendly little hotel that offers free parking and free breakfast every morning. The staff was friendly, pointed us towards some great near by Restaurants. My room was great, it was only two people staying so we had plenty of space. I will always return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, General Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We always appreciate guest feedback!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our convenient location and complimentary parking and continental breakfast made your stay even more memorable! I'm also glad to know that you had a chance to visit some of the excellent restaurants within walking distance of the property on either Chestnut or Union streets.

We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel Del Sol!


Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Del Sol for one evening. The two staff members we had contact with were extremely helpful and friendly, offering us great suggestions for dining. We found the room to be minimally acceptable. The bed was very lumpy and the shower did not drain properly, causing our feet to be covered by standing water in a matter of minutes. Additionally, the water in the shower stall attracted some kind of gnats that were a nuisance. The walls in the room were not properly sound-proofed and we were kept awake by a crying baby, chatter from adjoining rooms, and the sound of people walking up and down the stairs. The location of the hotel was excellent and it was extremely helpful to have free on-site parking, but we will look for a different place to stay the next time we visit as the price we paid for the room was higher than many four star hotels we have stayed in and the quality of our experience a two star rating at best.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, General Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol,

On behalf of the staff at the Hotel Del Sol, I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to complete the survey in regards to your experience at the hotel. We, at the Hotel Del Sol strive to create a warm and relaxing environment for our guests to enjoy throughout their stay.

I am however, disappointed to read that you encountered an unpleasant experience with noisy neighbors during your stay with us; we try our best to enforce Quiet times at the hotel from 10pm to 8am daily. Your feedback is important to me and rest assured that I have passed on your comments to the appropriate Department Manager.

Thank you for your patronage of the Hotel Del Sol. I do hope that you will not allow this isolated incident mar your opinion of the Hotel Del Sol and that we will be able to welcome you back when next traveling to San Francisco.

Respectfully,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Supervisor
Hotel Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Pretty casual, family-friendly, great little spot tucked away in the Marina district. Basic (but free!) breakfast and the staff was very friendly and warm. Nice location for us since we wanted to do the Wharf, Golden Gate, Presidio, activities in the NW quadrant of city. Nice location to food, activities, and we got a good deal. The parking on site was worth the cost alone!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, General Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments in regards to your experience at the hotel. We, at the Hotel Del Sol strive to create a warm and relaxing environment for our guests to enjoy throughout their stay.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that our convenient location and complimentary parking and breakfast made your stay even more memorable!

I hope you had a chance to visit some of the excellent restaurants within walking distance of the hotel on Chestnut and Union streets.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel Del Sol when next traveling to San Francisco.

Respectfully,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Supervisor
Hotel Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The two of us were looking for a nice place to take a four-night vacation in S. F. This turned out to be the place. Bright, clean, with free parking and Internet. The staff was outstanding. The room was small, but the room and the bathroom and the shower had excellent storage space and lighting, which is not so easy to find.
I just wish all the rooms had a mini-fridge already installed. You can get one if you ask.

Room Tip: Ask for a min-fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, General Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We always appreciate guest feedback!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our rooms to be clean and bright! I'm also glad that our complimentary parking and wifi made your stay more convenient!

Our Suite categories each have a mini-fridge in the rooms and one can be requested for any of our other room categories.

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Del Sol for your stay in San Francisco and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

A nice relaxed atmosphere where all rooms overlook the main courtyard. The courtyard has tables, a hammock and smallish pool. Free wifi is offered. The location is a great central base while in San Fran. Free basic breakfast is also offered

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, General Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We always appreciate feedback from our guests!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had time to enjoy our relaxing hammocks and pool area. I'm also glad to know that our complimentary wifi and continental breakfast made your stay even more comfortable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Del Sol whenever your travels may lead you back to San Francisco!

Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This was our second two-day stay at the Del Sol and it did not disappoint. Located at the corner of Greenwich and Webster on the edge of the Marina District, the hotel surrounds a small courtyard with a tiny pool, palm trees and a hammock. Rooms overlook the courtyard and many go through to the other side overlooking the surrounding streets. The rooms are clean and comfortable if basic; a tiny shower serves well and ample shelf space provides room for toiletries. Our first room was tight but we were upgraded on our second visit to a room with a couch and a kitchenette with table and chairs. The staff is superb, going out of their way to help with rental cars, getting around the city, plane reservations and the like. Lemonade and chilled water is available 24/7 in the lobby with the daily Chronicle and brochures of local sites. Parking is extremely convenient, both on the fringes of the courtyard and across the street.

Room Tip: There are elevators but it is probably best to stay on the second floor to avoid having to climb the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, General Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Warm Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We, at the Hotel Del Sol strive to create a warm and relaxing environment for our guests to enjoy throughout their stay.

I'm happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that our convenient location, relaxing hammocks and pool as well as our comfortable and clean guestrooms made your time with us even more memorable! I'm also glad to hear that our Front Desk Staff was friendly and helpful and gave great tips regarding rental car options and how to get around in the city!

I hope you had a chance to visit some of the excellent restaurants located walking distance from our property on either Chestnut or Union streets!

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel Del Sol whenever your travels may lead you back to beautiful San Francisco!

Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 3100 Webster Street, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#46 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#68 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to celebrate California's lively culture, the Hotel Del Sol is a cheerful explosion of the West Coast spirit. Once a 50s-style motor lodge, it has been newly transformed to offer the stylings and personalized service of a boutique hotel. The spacious guestrooms evoke the bright and airy interior of a California beach house. Relaxing hammocks, a sparkling pool and towering palm trees in the courtyard is a colorful feast for the eyes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Sol Hotel
Del Sol San Francisco
Hotel Del Sol San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.