We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE FAMILY MOTEL” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3100 Webster Street, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Marina)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #45 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
South Pasadena, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“NICE FAMILY MOTEL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We got a good deal for a holiday weekend and drove up from LA. The motel is centrally located in a residential area with no need for a car. I was disappointed that our room did not have a refrigerator or microwave, but the staff was more than happy to store our leftovers and rice milk in theirs. They also microwaved our left overs the next day. The room was clean and there's lots of storage. We stay here a lot and love the Joie de Vivre chain.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Greetings from sunny San Francisco!

On behalf of the staff at the Hotel Del Sol, I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to complete the survey in regards to your experience at the hotel. We, at the Hotel Del Sol strive to create a warm and relaxing environment for our guests to enjoy throughout their stay.

I am disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations of having a refrigerator and microwave in your room. These items are not standard amenities in our guest rooms (with the exception of a mini fridge in our suite categories), however we are happy to accommodate these requests! I am happy to hear that the Front Desk Hosts were able to solve the issue!

I do hope that you will not allow this isolated incident mar your opinion of the hotel and that we will be able to welcome you back when next traveling to San Francisco.

Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Supervisor
Hotel Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    293
    87
    25
    5
See reviews for
250
186
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
canandaigua
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I booked this hotel because of the bright colors and the free parking in the Marina District. When we arrived, it seemed a little worn...but I loved the palm trees covered in lights. Oscar at the registration desk was fantastic; he was just amazingly cordial and helpful during our stay. He made this a great experience. The room was not amazing; it's a renovated travel lodge...
the bathroom was tiny and in need of repair, but the main bedroom was fine and clean.
The location is fantastic for getting to the Wharf area and the Golden Gate Bridge and the sites
in Cow Hollow, Union Street and the Marina. We had a great experience there.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room; this is a very family-oriented hotel and the walls are not noise-proofed. Mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience at the hotel. We, at the Hotel Del Sol strive to create a warm and relaxing environment for our guests to enjoy throughout their stay.

I'm happy to hear the Oscar provided exceptional service upon your arrival! Please note that we are in the process of refurbishing all of our guest rooms and suites. This includes new paint, furniture, new mattresses and newly renovated bathrooms as well! The renovations are scheduled to be completed by this summer.

I hope you will choose to stay at the Hotel Del Sol again if your travels lead you back to San Francisco!

Sincerely,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Supervisor
Hotel Del Sol
3100 Webster St.
San Francisco, CA 94123

jdvhotels.com

Office 415-921-5520
Fax 415-931-4137
Reservations 877-433-5765
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilauea Hi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Although not the Taj, it is clean, comfortable with a sometimes available limo to whisk you into the heart of town. Otherwise a $10+ cab ride or a very healthy walk. Friendly helpful staff and best of all, FREE PARKING. If your activities are in the area of Union Street or Chestnut Street shopping or dining, the Marina, Golden Gate Park or GG Bridge area or you just want to avoid downtown prices, check this out.

Room Tip: My room in the corner on the third floor above the office was very quiet. Just take the funky elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto,ON
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you're looking for a clean and comfortable bed, a pillow that doesn't fight back and a good location, this is for you. The property is really a two-story motel, not a hotel and is brightly colored. There's a heated outdoor pool (82 degrees), a continental breakfast that includes hot cereal and hard-boiled eggs and can be eaten at tables around the pool because the lobby is quite small. There is ample free parking on the premises and across the street. This is certainly not the "Ritz" but at $139 a night in a good location it fills the bill.
And if you're hungry, it's a short walk to Union street and ROAM burger which is possibly the best burger you'll ever have with seasonal veggie sides and a glorious shake.

Room Tip: The ground floor is for parking with 2 stories above that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We booked this for 4 nights after looking at its decor, which appealed to us, along with the fact that it offered all other features we look for, except for tea making. However, it offered those in the foyer continually. With green and yellow walls, it lived up to its sunny outlook. We had a good sized room with 2 double beds, a smallish bathroom, and a walk in robe, and free wifi. The hotel also had a heated pool which was not in operation during our visit. The outside area was very pleasant and aesthetic. The hotel offered an inclusive continental breakfast, and it is pleasing to see how small places like this can offer a good start to the day from their small foyer. Tables were set up offering microwave porridge, prepacked cereals, pastries, bagels, toast, fruit, juice, coffee and tea, with the toaster and microwave handy. Eating utensils were disposable. There were drink machines outside the foyer. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The only issue here is that some of the walls are obviously a little thin, and noise from other rooms can be heard, including from those above where people walk heavy-footed across the floor. There are many quality eateries within walking distance, and it is serviced by numerous bus routes nearby, that provide easy access to Fisherman’s Wharf or downtown in 15-20 minutes. We found it to be quite a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms would prevent noise from above
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

Thank you for choosing Hotel Del Sol for your stay in San Francisco this February!

I'm happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable and that you were satisfied with our location, room size and our Continental Breakfast to start off your day! I am disappointed to hear that you experienced some noise during your visit - we do our best to keep our quiet hours between 8am and 10pm.

The Hotel Del Sol is in the process of renovating all of our guest rooms and suites - including new paint, mattresses, furniture as well as refurbishing our bathrooms and showers!

Once again that you for the taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us and we sincerely hope to welcome you back whenever your travels next lead you to beautiful San Francisco!

Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Supervisor
Hotel Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Being from the south, I tend to expect people to be just plain nice. San Francisco has always been my favorite city in California because of many things, but mainly the friendly people. The Del Sol hotel was provided by a client of mine due to the location in Pacific Heights. Walk to anywhere from here, beautiful scenery, close to the water, and of course, too many great places to eat! The Del Sol staff, especially Tiffany, were always friendly and helpful. Fresh coffee and a smile. Honest opinions about where to go. And the hotel rooms are so comfortable! Clean is the norm here. Great beds and those pillows that make you want to sleep another 30 minutes. Too cold for the pool this stay, but I will be back.

Room Tip: Third floor outside for noise. Remember, you are in a city, going to be some noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Greetings from the Hotel Del Sol!

On behalf of the staff at the Hotel Del Sol, I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to complete the survey in regards to your experience at the hotel. We, at the Hotel Del Sol strive to create a warm and relaxing environment for our guests to enjoy throughout their stay.

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that our location made your visit more comfortable! I'm also glad to know that Tiffany provided exceptional service and great recommendations are what to visit in the area.

We are in the process of refurbishing all of our rooms and suite - including new paint, mattresses, furniture as well as renovated bathrooms and showers! The refurbishment is scheduled for completion by this summer.

We hope to welcome you back when your travels next lead you to San Francisco!

Warm regards,

Lili Bolgar
Front Office Supervisor
Hotel Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bluff, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Clean, pleasant, comfortable decor. Off Lombard far enough to be QUIET at night. Excellent desk staff. Friendly housekeeping staff. Parking and WiFi included. Heated pool. Continential breakfast in the morning and coffe and tea available all day. Terrific location for driving, using Muni and walking. Nice neighborhood with lots of eating choices. Overall - a great value for a hotel in SF.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 3100 Webster Street, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to celebrate California's lively culture, the Hotel Del Sol is a cheerful explosion of the West Coast spirit. Once a 50s-style motor lodge, it has been newly transformed to offer the stylings and personalized service of a boutique hotel. The spacious guestrooms evoke the bright and airy interior of a California beach house. Relaxing hammocks, a sparkling pool and towering palm trees in the courtyard is a colorful feast for the eyes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Sol Hotel
Del Sol San Francisco
Hotel Del Sol San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.