We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical Getaway IN San Fran” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3100 Webster Street, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Marina District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Lucky Locals Rate
Ranked #42 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Northridge, Ca
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Tropical Getaway IN San Fran”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I loved this little place the staff was so friendly and helpful the yard was cute with it's little green lawn and bright and gaily lit palm trees and hammock. The rooms are small but so bright and cheerful. The parking is free as is the wifi and you get a free continental breakfast as well as cookies and Juice in the afternoon. The rooms are eco friendly and pet friendly. The rates are reasonable what more could you ask for. The only drawbacks are the walls are a bit thin or our neighbors were a bit loud and the stairs outside out room seemed to be where the neighbors like to dump there trash but I definetly would stay again. A great little place for a vacation.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    314
    93
    25
    7
See reviews for
273
193
16
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Great location. In Cow Hollow. Hipster neighborhood with good shops and restraunts. 15 minute walk to the water. Not a touristy area. Giod bus routes nearby so you dont have drop a fortune on cabs Part of the neighborhood. Hotel looks like a classic courtyard motel from the 60's but now iit has a cool retro feel. Updated but the club chair in our room had a few thread bare spots. iPhone dock was nice to have. Friendly staff. Pool is heated but my testies were still chilled. All in all, good value and a nice place.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stay in hotels to sleep, so this is the #1 criteria, and this place did a great job of delivering 7 hours sleep, with very little road noise, despite being near Lombard.
Hanging out for an hour or so in the colorful central courtyard (small plunge pool, hammocks, 100' tall palm trees, false always-dry grass to sit on) to eat the included continental breakfast was a real treat. It's 50 yards from the best street in San Francisco for just about everything, Union St.

Room Tip: Check in early to get a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

My girlfriend and I were trying to find a last minute place in the city close to the Wharf and other things. This place was in a great, safe location and provided free parking!!! It was very clean and the breakfast in the morning was a great standard continental breakfast. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

This place is a pretty good find, all things considered. The main draw was the location (Marina/ Cow Hollow) and the free parking. We ended up in the overflow lot across the alley, but no big deal. The neighborhood is cool and there's a bar across the street. Cafe's all over the place and it's minutes from the wharf. Rooms were clean. The bed was a little on the hard side, but the day we left we saw a truck full of mattresses being unloaded, so maybe they were fixing that. Who knows...
Will probably come back here on our next trip out.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

First off its just far enough away from the noise, yet right where you want to be if your interested in the Marina of SF.

BalBoa cafe an old classic is just a block away. Brazin Head restaurant is a sleeper, and open for food until late night. Great place to get away and have a drink as well. One block

Union street for shopping is just 2 blocks up the hill, and chestnut for eating and people watching is just 2 blocks down the hill.

The hotel itself is just about as homey feeling as they get. Breakfast in the mourning is not only very well done but I noticed if you want to end up with a delightful conversation, you probobly will.

Always seems to be good people there, and the staff is on top of it.

Thanks for being on top of it.

Sincerely Kyle Williams

Room Tip: They have fireplaces
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

It is an old motor-inn style motel and I wasn't expecting very much. Chose it only because close to my daughter's apartment. I was pleasantly surprised to find a very well maintained motel. Our room was old but very clean and spruced up with colorful walls and new furnishings. We had a large room on first floor with a table and chairs and the bed and linens were A+. The bath was fully equipped. Only improvement would be to fix the bathtub where the surface had worn off. The pool/patio area was very well maintained and a wonderful continental breakfast was served on patio each morning. Location is within walking distance to a few great SF streets with bars, restaurants, and shops but far enough away so was quiet. One downside was you had to pay a daily rate for internet but we booked online for $166/night with free parking and breakfast. Good rate for SF.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 3100 Webster Street, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#46 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#69 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to celebrate California's lively culture, the Hotel Del Sol is a cheerful explosion of the West Coast spirit. Once a 50s-style motor lodge, it has been newly transformed to offer the stylings and personalized service of a boutique hotel. The spacious guestrooms evoke the bright and airy interior of a California beach house. Relaxing hammocks, a sparkling pool and towering palm trees in the courtyard is a colorful feast for the eyes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Sol Hotel
Del Sol San Francisco
Hotel Del Sol San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.