We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable despite traffic noise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lombard Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lombard Motor Inn to your Saves list
Lombard Motor Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1475 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save!!
Ranked #63 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very comfortable despite traffic noise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The free parking together with reasonable room rates are the drawing cards of this motel if you want to stay in town in San Francisco and have a car. Our room was very spacious and the beds and pillows were much better than you usually get for this kind of property. I think the mattresses are the memory foam kind. Whatever they are, the beds were VERY comfortable.

Lombard Street in this area is the main route to and from the Golden Gate Bridge and hence is busy almost all the time. If your room faces the street -- as ours did -- you will hear the traffic. However, it was not loud enough to disrupt our sleep. Sometimes when I am at a hotel with traffic noise, I will turn the HVAC on constant fan to mask it. Oddly, the HVAC in the room was too quiet to effectively cover the traffic noise!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    171
    48
    7
    7
See reviews for
71
135
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey, near the beach
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here for one night based solely on the reviews in Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed and will come back to the Lombard Motor Inn next time we visit San Francisco. I found a few hotels to research then went to Trip Advisor. They all had good reviews then decided on this hotel which right next to the one I almost booked which was $40 more a night and still had to pay $30 for parking. So the Lombard Motor Inn saved us about $70. We were more than satisfied with the room, location, parking and front desk service. The lobby is small but we just needed a very good & comfortable place to sleep. We asked for a room facing the back and were accommodated with no problems. Another reviewer said the street side was noisy but we didn't think so. The back facing room may not have been necessary? There are about 30 or so restaurants about 6 blocks away, easy walk. A few coffee shops for breakfast are nearby. Enjoy your trip, Chuck

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is not a destination unto itself. It's not fancy. The furnishings are simple. There is no pool, no fitness center, or even a in-house restaurant. What it is - is clean, comfortable, and reasonably priced. Moreover, there is ample, secured parking included with your stay. I really enjoyed the ambiance of the neighborhood. There are plenty of restaurant within walking distance and a nice small grocery right next door. My only real complaint was the street noise in my room. Rooms on the front side have small balconies overlooking the street. My balcony door was missing a gasket and subsequently there was a lot of road noise. Even so, I will absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madera, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This facility has undergone remodeling and renovation of the rooms. The facility is modest in décor and very clean. The staff is very courteous and accommodating. We found one employee, Edgar, to be very willing to go "the extra mile" to assist in parking (which is free) and is a little difficult in tight spaces for a vehicle such as s Suburban. We find this facility to be conveniently located on Lombard, just off of Van Ness. Compared to many other facilities in San Francisco, the rooms are very reasonable for the price, especially with parking included. We have used this facility on a number of occasions and find it to be a good value.
We find this facility to be convenient for our visits to the U.C.S.F. medical center sites on Parnassus and Divisadero streets.

Room Tip: Call hotel direct to make reservations. We found some of the sites list the hotel as "no vacan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Booked this hotel for 2 nights because of the free parking. After reading previous reviews we asked to be at the back as we wanted a quiet room with a view - we did not hear any traffic noise. The room was large enough for 4 (3 adults & 1 teenager) and it was clean. The safe was large enough to fit laptops, Ipads etc. The hotel is within walking distance of Fisherman`s Wharf and the windiest road. The staff were friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royersford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My hubby did his research and found this perfect motel. I was nervous because it seemed too good to be true but it was true! The room was perfect for our family of 4. Clean, good location and safe. Best of all FREE PARKING! I highly recommend anyone to stay here. The surrounding hotels were at least$100 more and charged for parking.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The hotel was in a great location for walking to the wharf. The best part was easy, secure and free parking! A great value overall. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lombard Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lombard Motor Inn

Address: 1475 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#71 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#85 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lombard Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lombard Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombard Motor Hotel San Francisco
Lombard Motor Inn San Francisco
Lombard Inn San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lombard Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.