We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable and Comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lombard Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lombard Motor Inn to your Saves list
Lombard Motor Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1475 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save!!
Ranked #65 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Madera, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Reasonable and Comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This facility has undergone remodeling and renovation of the rooms. The facility is modest in décor and very clean. The staff is very courteous and accommodating. We found one employee, Edgar, to be very willing to go "the extra mile" to assist in parking (which is free) and is a little difficult in tight spaces for a vehicle such as s Suburban. We find this facility to be conveniently located on Lombard, just off of Van Ness. Compared to many other facilities in San Francisco, the rooms are very reasonable for the price, especially with parking included. We have used this facility on a number of occasions and find it to be a good value.
We find this facility to be convenient for our visits to the U.C.S.F. medical center sites on Parnassus and Divisadero streets.

Room Tip: Call hotel direct to make reservations. We found some of the sites list the hotel as "no vacan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    174
    50
    7
    7
See reviews for
73
138
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Booked this hotel for 2 nights because of the free parking. After reading previous reviews we asked to be at the back as we wanted a quiet room with a view - we did not hear any traffic noise. The room was large enough for 4 (3 adults & 1 teenager) and it was clean. The safe was large enough to fit laptops, Ipads etc. The hotel is within walking distance of Fisherman`s Wharf and the windiest road. The staff were friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royersford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My hubby did his research and found this perfect motel. I was nervous because it seemed too good to be true but it was true! The room was perfect for our family of 4. Clean, good location and safe. Best of all FREE PARKING! I highly recommend anyone to stay here. The surrounding hotels were at least$100 more and charged for parking.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The hotel was in a great location for walking to the wharf. The best part was easy, secure and free parking! A great value overall. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

San Francisco is not a great place to stay with a vehicle, but we were on a driving trip of CA with our granddaughter who wanted to visit the area. The Lombard proved to be an excellent choice. The location is great. Easy walking distance down to Fisherman's wharf and several nearby restaurants. The parking at the hotel is free and very safe. When we did decide to go out with the car, it was not difficult to navigate in this part of the city. Irene was on duty when we arrived. Her attitude and helpfulness was exceptional. We even called her from Fisherman's Wharf for dinner recommendations. The room was large, clean and well appointed. It was great to have our own safe in the room that fit our laptop. Many other reviewers spoke about the quietness of their rooms in the back. Our room faced Lombard. It was a bit noisy if the balcony door was open but the view of the Golden Gate Bridge was fantastic! We have stayed in San Francisco before in high end hotels. Our stay at Lombard Motor Inn was equal or better than most.

Room Tip: Rooms Facing Lombard Street are a bit noisy but have an exceptional view of the Golden Gate Bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Make sure you do not have your room cleaned or else stay inside when housekeeping comes to your door...otherwise, you may have your most precious items stolen from you without recourse.

I suggest that you walk in while the housecleaning staff is inside and see if they are partying like they were in mine when I returned impromptu...they stole a $225 pair of shoes from me without reimbursement or acknowlegement.

My question is "...who owns this hotel" as the manager will not tell you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asotin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Lombard Motor Inn is conveniently located on Lombard & near VanNess. Loved the fact there was free, secure parking for our vehicle while we toured San Francisco for several days. Convenient access to the muni bus system where you can ride the cable cars, buses, ferries, etc for reasonable rate. San Fran is expensive & hard to find a good value for your $.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lombard Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lombard Motor Inn

Address: 1475 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#72 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lombard Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lombard Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombard Motor Hotel San Francisco
Lombard Motor Inn San Francisco
Lombard Inn San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lombard Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.