We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manager cares and tries but room and services generally below average” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Bridge Inn

Save Saved
You added Bay Bridge Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bay Bridge Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   966 Harrison Street, Between 5th & 6th Streets, San Francisco, CA 94107 (SoMa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Sunnyvale
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Manager cares and tries but room and services generally below average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Would like to be able to rate this place higher, but overall a number of things need to be addressed. The brown carpet was old and worn, internet access was intermittent and extremely slow, ironing board was broken, and no maid service even though we were out of our room between 10 AM and 3 PM. The owner/manager seemed to genuinely care because he asked on more than one occasion about our experience. For the Internet problem he provided direct access to his 3rd party support line twice, but still the connection was sketchy and when available, very slow. The TV, microwave, and refrigerator were newer and in good working condition, though.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    62
    26
    11
    14
See reviews for
8
55
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Chose this motel for its location. We were attending the World Baseball Classic semis & final. A mile from ATT park. Surprised at how conveniently located near Market (4-5 short blocks), SOMA area. Lots of decent restaurants & chains walking distance. Buses a half block away took us to fisherman's wharf, top of the mark, the sf jazz center. Hotel was clean. Manager, Mr. Ku was very helpful.

There were panhandlers on the streets. It is a big city but they were never aggressive and we never felt endangered even late at night.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, you might want some white noise to block out street sounds. Harrison bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guerneville, California
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

First, the good things: the TV, refrigerator and microwave were all new. The AC/heat was quiet. Linens were clean. The carpet looked new. The shower fixture had reasonable flow. There is some parking (but see below).
Now, the not-so-good items: carpet not installed correctly with frayed edges showing, baseboards not clean, chips in the doors, no security chain for the door, furniture had missing handles/ knobs, chairs too low for the small table, front panel on the vanity (sink) coming off, no grab bars in shower, non-slip stickers on tub floor worn off, and some mildew spots on the bathroom tile. There is no view.
The hotel has some parking but only for about half of the rooms. If the spaces are full, then you have to find a spot on Harrison or the street behind the hotel.
It is in a revitalized area with few businesses. There is a very nice Peruvian restaurant across the street but other businesses are about 2 or more blocks away. The area seems reasonably safe but I suggest being very cautious at night.
The hotel office had a very strong odor of food being cooked somewhere in the adjacent room. This is not only inappropriate in any motel but also suggests a low-class establishment to me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We select this hotel after check out review rating and booked thru booking.com. After receiving my credit card statement, I found the 2-night hotel bill is over charged by ten somethin box. I send email to the hotel but no response. So I call booking.com and luckiely I got their help. Fianlly the hotel refund to me overcharged amount and the case is closed.
When I comment on booking.com, I notice the over charge is not a single case. And other visitor suggests to pay the bill when check out. It is a good idea because I didn't pay when check out. The hotel staff said he could settle with the credit card company directly as he got my credit card information when booking the hotel. It looks convenient but have risk some occations...

The location is convenient and have free parking. The staff is enthusiastic and like 'give me a five'... The breakfast is as simple as donut only.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Convenience sums up my experience with this hotel. My only complaint is that it seemed as if it took forever for me to get checked in at the Front Desk. I really liked the satellite TV and refrigerator.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My boyfriend and I just stayed here a couple nights ago for a quick night of dancing in SF on a Friday night. I picked this place due to the proximity of the place we were going to, because it had the most decent reviews and because the price was right. However, the place far exceeded our expectations and we will likely be back because the place we used to stay at drastically increased their prices and this place has free parking!

The room was really nice with a HUGE bed, microwave and fridge. The heater blasted like a champ and the place was clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Good facilities in the room (microwave, fridge, tv, hairdryer, ironing stuff, table and chairs, space for your clothes, bath. The hotel is close to the city center. Nice & trustworthy personnel & manager, good arrangements for the airport shuttle. I recommend this place. I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bay Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Bridge Inn

Address: 966 Harrison Street, Between 5th & 6th Streets, San Francisco, CA 94107
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bay Bridge Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Bay Bridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Bridge Hotel San Francisco
Bay Bridge Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Bridge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.