We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   121 7th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #137 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. My first impression was that the outside is revolting but the inside quite nice. Upon arrival I went for a walk down the street and realised I was located in the worst possible area I could be in San Francisco.. Surrounded by gangs, homeless, prostitutes and drug addicts I felt very unsafe and quickly made my way back to the hotel. My first night here was disgraceful. Situated on level two I could hear every conversation every footstep and every momvement made above me, this alongside the man and woman who had a verbal screaming match an were throwing things and running up and down, kept me awake all night. There was nothing done about the distressing fight by staff. Fortunately the hotel did move me to the highest level so I could not hear as much for the second and third night but after experiencing this and also a mugging of a lady just down the road my experience was already ruined. I would not recommend this hotel or area to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Brittyp,

Thank you for providing us your opinion about your stay at the Best Western Plus Americania. I certainly hope the incident you witnessed does not tarnish San Francisco’s or our hotel’s image in your opinion. This unfortunate incident is not common around the hotel.

We offer our apologies in regard to the experience you had on the first night.
We respect all of our guests which is why we do have a No Party Policy and do enforce it. We do understand that at the time you felt that you were unable to contact us about the incident. Our security staff is available at a moment’s notice to respond to any incidents. We ask our guests to feel free to contact the front desk so that we are able to respond to any incident. We are glad we were able to assist you in finding a room that was more to your liking.

We hope you are able to give our hotel and the SOMA neighborhood a second chance.


Kind regards,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    168
    153
    59
    32
See reviews for
124
124
36
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This was a great location within walking distance to the Wraf and many other locations. The room was great and we actually had a sauna in our room. Parking was a little cramped but all in all great room with a great price. Staff were ever so accomadatining.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I stayed here one night before meeting up with a tour group for my vacation. I'm glad I didn't stay any longer. The first impression is good; the lobby is clean and contemporary and the front desk staff is very friendly. But that's about the only good thing there is to say. After leaving the lobby, you find a very old, musty and rundown building. Once i got to my room, I was extremely disappointed to find out that my room, along with what seems like most other rooms, only faces an interior courtyard. This courtyard is not some beautiful, large landscaped courtyard. It was a small, concrete covered space with a single tree in the middle. And other rooms lined every wall, so if you wanted some sunshine through the ONLY window in your room, everybody else was going to see into your room. The room was not appealing either. It was very small, and dirty. For $160 a night, I expected to have a mini fridge in the room. No mini fridge and NO COMPLIMENTARY BREAKFAST. It's hard to find a hotel nowadays that does not have a complimentary breakfast, especially when paying this much. There was a curtain covering the closet in my room that was covered in dust at the top of it. I don't think it had ever been cleaned. The next morning, it took me about 10 minutes before I could get any hot water in the shower. And when I did, the shower head was almost a trickle. I was just glad that I was only there one night. I stayed in a super 8 motel a few days later for $52 a night, and I liked it better than this hotel. I would not recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Brandon G,

Thank you for providing your opinions in regard to our hotel and for appreciating the level of service our staff willingly provides on a daily basis.

It is unfortunate that our hotel layout and your room configuration did not meet your expectations and offer our apologies. Upon request when available we offer other room options and additional amenities like a mini fridge.

We understand how frustrating it must be to expect certain amenities. Best Western is the largest hotel chain in the world each Best Western branded hotel is individually owned and operated as such the amenities offered differ from property to property. We do apologize that you were unhappy with the amenities that we had to offer.

We take pride in our cleanliness and attention to detail, but clearly we were not up to standards on your stay. This in no way represents the standards we uphold as a Best Western branded hotel. Your feedback has been invaluable and will assist us in providing you and our future guests a better experience in the future.

We hope to warmly welcome you back for a future stay. Thank you again for your time and response.


Kind regards,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

AVOID at all costs...speaking of costs, $300/night for a dirty room and clogged bathroom. Front desk staff sent us up to three room three different times and all were dirty. Forth room was cleaned but bathtub clogged and hot water took 10min to heat up. WILL NEVER stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Desk Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Juan C,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your expereince at the Best Western Plus Americania. I apologize for the difficulty you had checking in and getting settled into your room. The wait and multiple issues you described are not acceptable nor are they our norm.

I would be happy to discuss directly with you if you could contact me at jbonnett@haiyi-hotels.com or at 415-626-0200.

We appreciate your feedback and hope we can welcome you back to the Best Western Plus Americania soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at the BW Americano while on a family holiday with teenage kids.. We were supposed to stay 3 nights but we checked out a day early and left San Fran. The room was the largest and was supposed to sleep 5 but with only double beds this made for an uncomfortable night. The sofa bed felt like the springs were about to burst through. One of our kids ended up sleeping on the sofa cushions on the floor made up with new linen. It was noisy, hot and stuffy and no air con is unacceptable.. I wish I had checked first. Most concerning though was the location.. We felt very uncomfortable walking around and would certainly not walk at night which made evening plans restricted to being in taxi's. The price was one of the highest we have experienced in all the Hotels we stayed at in the US. Would certainly not go back. The staff however were lovely and very accommodating and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Androssi,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on Tripadvisor. We sincerely apologize that the quality of the sofa bed fell short of your standards. We have received the feedback from our guests and we are in the process of upgrading our sofa beds.

Many hotels in San Francisco do not require air conditioning as we enjoy a mild climate year round. We understand how frustrated you must have been since your stay coincided with unseasonably warm temperatures.

The initial impression of our neighborhood can be surprising to some visitors but the south of market neighborhood is filled with a diverse group of locals which include families and singles alike. In many urban cities there are multiple paths you can take to avoid certain sections that some would deem as undesirable. Our well informed staff willingly provides our guests this type of information.

We are delighted that our staff exceeded your expectations. Our staff hope to warmly welcome you on your return to San Francisco. Hopefully you will provide our SOMA neighborhood a second opportunity so that you are able to explore our ever changing neighborhood. Thank you again for your time and response.


Kind regards,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I found the service to be great and the room was clean and well decorated, though a little small. Wasn't too much of an issue, we only slept here.

I also wasn't a huge fan of the location. It was roughly a 20 minute walk to public transport. If you want to save money it's great value in that sense, that money won't get you far closer to the attractions. The location definitely brings it down though.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Us_traveldiary,

Salutations, it was our pleasure that our friendly and helpful staff was able to welcome you to your home in San Francisco. We truly appreciate that you took the time to provide a warm opinion about the Best Western Plus Americania. We offer our rooms in a variety of different configurations.

Though walking to downtown is always an option our friendly staff highly recommends that you walk two blocks to Market street to catch a bus, train or the historic streetcar to your next destination.

We thank you again and hope to warmly welcome you back on your next visit to San Francisco.


Kind regards,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This summer, on Independance Day, my family and I visited the Americania Hotel in SF. The interieur of the hotel was very nice. They even had a swimmingpool, in the middel of the city. Taking a swim in the middle of San Francisco. Only the water of the pool did you cool you down, the temp was little too high.

Hotel is located 2 blocks from Market Street. I agree with several other reviews that this part of the city is not the nicest. A lot of homeless people on the streets.
With 15 min walk you are in the centre of the shopping area and the cable car towards Fishermans Warf. Also the trolley car (not the crowded cable car) to Fishermans Warf is nearby. This trolley costs $2 per person and drops you close to Pier 39.

The people of the hotel were very nice and helpfull. It started with the guys from the parking. They were very helpfull and friendly. Checking in also was very quick and friendly.

When we left the hotel for the next hotel, 500 km away, we found out that we forgot our passports in the save.... We decided not to ride back, but to call the hotel and ask them to send the passports to the next hotel. The hotelmanager, Rafik Hanna really helped us out. He had sent the passports with Fedex to our next hotel in Las Vegas. He had to put quite some effort to fix this for us. A big THANK YOU for that, Rafik. Excellent service!

I would recomment this hotel to everybody who want to visit SF and wants to sit in/near the centre of the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Desk Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Ferry v,

Thank you for taking the time out to post about the Best Western Plus Americania on TripAdvisor. Our guests are very important to us and we value your feedback.

We are delighted to hear of your wonderful experience with all of our staff. We take pride in our customer service and attention to detail.

We are also very happy to hear that your passports reached you in time to return home. Rafik sets a wonderful example for all of us here and we are delighted that you were able to be a witness to that.

Again, we appreciate your feedback about the Best Western Plus Americania. We thank you and hope that on your next visit to San Francisco you will remember your friends here on 7th street.
Best Wishes,

Jazmine Bonnett
Front Desk Supervisor
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania

Address: 121 7th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western PLUS Americania Hotel is a 143-room boutique hotel with a fun and amusing design of understaed references to classic American pasttimes. With guest rooms, meeting space and the Custom Burger and Lounge located on site, the hotel provides a San Francisco hotel experience well suited for vacationers, families, and business travelers alike and is the ideal setting for small business meetings and social functions.Located in the vibrant South of Market (SoMA) district, the convenient location provides quick access to many of San Francisco's top attractions including Civic Center Plaza, Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Westfield Shopping Centre and Cable Cars that will take you to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Americania Hotel San Francisco
Best Western Hotel Americania
Best Western San Francisco
San Francisco Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.