We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, dirty” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   121 7th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #136 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, United States
1 review
“Overpriced, dirty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

AVOID at all costs...speaking of costs, $300/night for a dirty room and clogged bathroom. Front desk staff sent us up to three room three different times and all were dirty. Forth room was cleaned but bathtub clogged and hot water took 10min to heat up. WILL NEVER stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Desk Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Juan C,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your expereince at the Best Western Plus Americania. I apologize for the difficulty you had checking in and getting settled into your room. The wait and multiple issues you described are not acceptable nor are they our norm.

I would be happy to discuss directly with you if you could contact me at jbonnett@haiyi-hotels.com or at 415-626-0200.

We appreciate your feedback and hope we can welcome you back to the Best Western Plus Americania soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    180
    159
    61
    31
See reviews for
122
124
36
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at the BW Americano while on a family holiday with teenage kids.. We were supposed to stay 3 nights but we checked out a day early and left San Fran. The room was the largest and was supposed to sleep 5 but with only double beds this made for an uncomfortable night. The sofa bed felt like the springs were about to burst through. One of our kids ended up sleeping on the sofa cushions on the floor made up with new linen. It was noisy, hot and stuffy and no air con is unacceptable.. I wish I had checked first. Most concerning though was the location.. We felt very uncomfortable walking around and would certainly not walk at night which made evening plans restricted to being in taxi's. The price was one of the highest we have experienced in all the Hotels we stayed at in the US. Would certainly not go back. The staff however were lovely and very accommodating and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Androssi,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on Tripadvisor. We sincerely apologize that the quality of the sofa bed fell short of your standards. We have received the feedback from our guests and we are in the process of upgrading our sofa beds.

Many hotels in San Francisco do not require air conditioning as we enjoy a mild climate year round. We understand how frustrated you must have been since your stay coincided with unseasonably warm temperatures.

The initial impression of our neighborhood can be surprising to some visitors but the south of market neighborhood is filled with a diverse group of locals which include families and singles alike. In many urban cities there are multiple paths you can take to avoid certain sections that some would deem as undesirable. Our well informed staff willingly provides our guests this type of information.

We are delighted that our staff exceeded your expectations. Our staff hope to warmly welcome you on your return to San Francisco. Hopefully you will provide our SOMA neighborhood a second opportunity so that you are able to explore our ever changing neighborhood. Thank you again for your time and response.


Kind regards,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I found the service to be great and the room was clean and well decorated, though a little small. Wasn't too much of an issue, we only slept here.

I also wasn't a huge fan of the location. It was roughly a 20 minute walk to public transport. If you want to save money it's great value in that sense, that money won't get you far closer to the attractions. The location definitely brings it down though.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Us_traveldiary,

Salutations, it was our pleasure that our friendly and helpful staff was able to welcome you to your home in San Francisco. We truly appreciate that you took the time to provide a warm opinion about the Best Western Plus Americania. We offer our rooms in a variety of different configurations.

Though walking to downtown is always an option our friendly staff highly recommends that you walk two blocks to Market street to catch a bus, train or the historic streetcar to your next destination.

We thank you again and hope to warmly welcome you back on your next visit to San Francisco.


Kind regards,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This summer, on Independance Day, my family and I visited the Americania Hotel in SF. The interieur of the hotel was very nice. They even had a swimmingpool, in the middel of the city. Taking a swim in the middle of San Francisco. Only the water of the pool did you cool you down, the temp was little too high.

Hotel is located 2 blocks from Market Street. I agree with several other reviews that this part of the city is not the nicest. A lot of homeless people on the streets.
With 15 min walk you are in the centre of the shopping area and the cable car towards Fishermans Warf. Also the trolley car (not the crowded cable car) to Fishermans Warf is nearby. This trolley costs $2 per person and drops you close to Pier 39.

The people of the hotel were very nice and helpfull. It started with the guys from the parking. They were very helpfull and friendly. Checking in also was very quick and friendly.

When we left the hotel for the next hotel, 500 km away, we found out that we forgot our passports in the save.... We decided not to ride back, but to call the hotel and ask them to send the passports to the next hotel. The hotelmanager, Rafik Hanna really helped us out. He had sent the passports with Fedex to our next hotel in Las Vegas. He had to put quite some effort to fix this for us. A big THANK YOU for that, Rafik. Excellent service!

I would recomment this hotel to everybody who want to visit SF and wants to sit in/near the centre of the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Desk Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Ferry v,

Thank you for taking the time out to post about the Best Western Plus Americania on TripAdvisor. Our guests are very important to us and we value your feedback.

We are delighted to hear of your wonderful experience with all of our staff. We take pride in our customer service and attention to detail.

We are also very happy to hear that your passports reached you in time to return home. Rafik sets a wonderful example for all of us here and we are delighted that you were able to be a witness to that.

Again, we appreciate your feedback about the Best Western Plus Americania. We thank you and hope that on your next visit to San Francisco you will remember your friends here on 7th street.
Best Wishes,

Jazmine Bonnett
Front Desk Supervisor
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchster
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Retro rooms that are nice & clean.
Very noisy! They even supply ear plugs as standard in the room!
Not the best location. Market street ( one of the main roads to & from the hotel) had a real mixture of "characters". We got taxi's at night as we didnt feel safe.
Wouldnt reccommend or stay again because of the location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear jojoManchster,

Thank you for your response on Trip Advisor we are glad that you were satisfied with our retro styling.

Our neighborhood of "SoMA" (South of Market) is home to many colorful characters as it contributes to the overall makeup of the city of San Francisco. We empathize with you and understand your frustration with the noise that a major urban city experiences. As an added benefit we offer ear plugs and quieter rooms that can be requested if they are available.

If you are ever in San Francisco again all I ask in return is that you allow our SOMA neighborhood a second chance.


Kind regards.

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel offers a hip decor but the carpets need cleaning and air conditioning or better ventilation is needed as it was stuffy and warm over night.

It's relatively quiet and the staff is friendly enough but the area itself is questionable. Not a place we'd stay at again as a family.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Snowmad4,

Thank you for posting your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor in regard to our hotel. We are glad that you and your family appreciated the hip décor and enjoyed your interactions with our friendly staff.

Many hotels here in San Francisco do not offer air conditioning as we are able to enjoy the temperate micro climate of the Bay area on a yearly basis. We empathize and understand how warm it must have been for you being in a heat wave while you were visiting San Francisco. Each Best Western Branded Hotel is individually owned and operated with each property offering different amenities. We apologize that we were unable to offer you the amenities that you expected.

San Francisco along with many other urban metropolis attract a diverse group of charming individuals of all ages. I am sympathetic to hear that you had a less than stellar impression about our SoMA neighborhood. The SoMa community is working towards building an open and friendly neighborhood.

Our mission is to provide superior customer service and a unique stay to all of our guests. Thank you again for your time and response.


Kind regards,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel stay was pleasant, as was the staff. It looked like it has been recently renovated and was done nicely. We had a hard time sleeping because there was no air conditioning there, just a ceiling fan so we were very warm. The area is kind of sketchy so we took cabs at night, and even during the day directly around the area are hookers and pimps. But go a few blocks over and there is a shopping district and Union Square. We just couldn't make it that far with out being scared.

I have stayed at many Best Westerns and this was the first one that did not have complimentary breakfast. They did have a restaurant that was very good, but I would have thought a BW Plus would have complimentary breakfast.

All in all it was average for the cost. Also, twice we called for more towels and they forgot to send them up.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Beverly D,

Thank you for providing your valuable feedback in regard to our hotel and for appreciating the level of service our staff willingly provides on a daily basis. San Francisco is blessed with a mild climate year round many hotels here do not have air conditioning units. We empathize and understand how warm it must have been for you being in a heat wave while you were visiting San Francisco.

Our little neighborhood of SoMA is an eclectic and diverse area filled with families and singles. Although it's not the luxurious part of, "The City," it helps to make up the overall makeup of San Francisco. The SoMa community is working towards building an open and friendly neighborhood.

Each Best Western Branded Hotel is individually owned and operated with each property offering different amenities. We apologize that we were unable to offer you the amenities that you expected.

On behalf of our entire staff, you have my apologies for the situations you encountered during your stay and that our services did not meet your expectations. The appropriate departments have been contacted to address the comments you have provided.

Our mission is to provide superior customer service and a unique stay to all of our guests. Thank you again for your time and response.


Kind regards,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania

Address: 121 7th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western PLUS Americania Hotel is a 143-room boutique hotel with a fun and amusing design of understaed references to classic American pasttimes. With guest rooms, meeting space and the Custom Burger and Lounge located on site, the hotel provides a San Francisco hotel experience well suited for vacationers, families, and business travelers alike and is the ideal setting for small business meetings and social functions.Located in the vibrant South of Market (SoMA) district, the convenient location provides quick access to many of San Francisco's top attractions including Civic Center Plaza, Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Westfield Shopping Centre and Cable Cars that will take you to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Americania Hotel San Francisco
Best Western Hotel Americania
Best Western San Francisco
San Francisco Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.