We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, with very helpfull people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   121 7th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #135 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Best, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, with very helpfull people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This summer, on Independance Day, my family and I visited the Americania Hotel in SF. The interieur of the hotel was very nice. They even had a swimmingpool, in the middel of the city. Taking a swim in the middle of San Francisco. Only the water of the pool did you cool you down, the temp was little too high.

Hotel is located 2 blocks from Market Street. I agree with several other reviews that this part of the city is not the nicest. A lot of homeless people on the streets.
With 15 min walk you are in the centre of the shopping area and the cable car towards Fishermans Warf. Also the trolley car (not the crowded cable car) to Fishermans Warf is nearby. This trolley costs $2 per person and drops you close to Pier 39.

The people of the hotel were very nice and helpfull. It started with the guys from the parking. They were very helpfull and friendly. Checking in also was very quick and friendly.

When we left the hotel for the next hotel, 500 km away, we found out that we forgot our passports in the save.... We decided not to ride back, but to call the hotel and ask them to send the passports to the next hotel. The hotelmanager, Rafik Hanna really helped us out. He had sent the passports with Fedex to our next hotel in Las Vegas. He had to put quite some effort to fix this for us. A big THANK YOU for that, Rafik. Excellent service!

I would recomment this hotel to everybody who want to visit SF and wants to sit in/near the centre of the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Desk Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Ferry v,

Thank you for taking the time out to post about the Best Western Plus Americania on TripAdvisor. Our guests are very important to us and we value your feedback.

We are delighted to hear of your wonderful experience with all of our staff. We take pride in our customer service and attention to detail.

We are also very happy to hear that your passports reached you in time to return home. Rafik sets a wonderful example for all of us here and we are delighted that you were able to be a witness to that.

Again, we appreciate your feedback about the Best Western Plus Americania. We thank you and hope that on your next visit to San Francisco you will remember your friends here on 7th street.
Best Wishes,

Jazmine Bonnett
Front Desk Supervisor
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    197
    165
    69
    38
See reviews for
147
138
41
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchster
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Retro rooms that are nice & clean.
Very noisy! They even supply ear plugs as standard in the room!
Not the best location. Market street ( one of the main roads to & from the hotel) had a real mixture of "characters". We got taxi's at night as we didnt feel safe.
Wouldnt reccommend or stay again because of the location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear jojoManchster,

Thank you for your response on Trip Advisor we are glad that you were satisfied with our retro styling.

Our neighborhood of "SoMA" (South of Market) is home to many colorful characters as it contributes to the overall makeup of the city of San Francisco. We empathize with you and understand your frustration with the noise that a major urban city experiences. As an added benefit we offer ear plugs and quieter rooms that can be requested if they are available.

If you are ever in San Francisco again all I ask in return is that you allow our SOMA neighborhood a second chance.


Kind regards.

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel offers a hip decor but the carpets need cleaning and air conditioning or better ventilation is needed as it was stuffy and warm over night.

It's relatively quiet and the staff is friendly enough but the area itself is questionable. Not a place we'd stay at again as a family.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Snowmad4,

Thank you for posting your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor in regard to our hotel. We are glad that you and your family appreciated the hip décor and enjoyed your interactions with our friendly staff.

Many hotels here in San Francisco do not offer air conditioning as we are able to enjoy the temperate micro climate of the Bay area on a yearly basis. We empathize and understand how warm it must have been for you being in a heat wave while you were visiting San Francisco. Each Best Western Branded Hotel is individually owned and operated with each property offering different amenities. We apologize that we were unable to offer you the amenities that you expected.

San Francisco along with many other urban metropolis attract a diverse group of charming individuals of all ages. I am sympathetic to hear that you had a less than stellar impression about our SoMA neighborhood. The SoMa community is working towards building an open and friendly neighborhood.

Our mission is to provide superior customer service and a unique stay to all of our guests. Thank you again for your time and response.


Kind regards,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel stay was pleasant, as was the staff. It looked like it has been recently renovated and was done nicely. We had a hard time sleeping because there was no air conditioning there, just a ceiling fan so we were very warm. The area is kind of sketchy so we took cabs at night, and even during the day directly around the area are hookers and pimps. But go a few blocks over and there is a shopping district and Union Square. We just couldn't make it that far with out being scared.

I have stayed at many Best Westerns and this was the first one that did not have complimentary breakfast. They did have a restaurant that was very good, but I would have thought a BW Plus would have complimentary breakfast.

All in all it was average for the cost. Also, twice we called for more towels and they forgot to send them up.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Beverly D,

Thank you for providing your valuable feedback in regard to our hotel and for appreciating the level of service our staff willingly provides on a daily basis. San Francisco is blessed with a mild climate year round many hotels here do not have air conditioning units. We empathize and understand how warm it must have been for you being in a heat wave while you were visiting San Francisco.

Our little neighborhood of SoMA is an eclectic and diverse area filled with families and singles. Although it's not the luxurious part of, "The City," it helps to make up the overall makeup of San Francisco. The SoMa community is working towards building an open and friendly neighborhood.

Each Best Western Branded Hotel is individually owned and operated with each property offering different amenities. We apologize that we were unable to offer you the amenities that you expected.

On behalf of our entire staff, you have my apologies for the situations you encountered during your stay and that our services did not meet your expectations. The appropriate departments have been contacted to address the comments you have provided.

Our mission is to provide superior customer service and a unique stay to all of our guests. Thank you again for your time and response.


Kind regards,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Somehow this new hotel group has managed to take the boutique concept and pump it out into a number of properties. In many ways it was successful. The Hello Kitty colors throughout the rooms were cheerful. The rooms were clean. They made good choices that were repeatable and so unique boutique becomes a Henry Ford approach. Good value. One comment the floors were always damp and never felt clean.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Bigbubba123,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at our unique hotels. Each of our properties has a distinct charm that invites our varied guests when we welcome them.

On behalf of our entire staff we sincerely apologize that the upkeep of our hotel fell short of your standards. Cleanliness is one of our primary priorities as we are accustomed to providing consistently clean rooms.

We look forward to warmly welcoming you back to any of our other properties. Thank you for your time and response.


Kind regards,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has several lounges to fit your needs. There is a bar lounge open until 11pm. A game lounge with couches, flat screen tv, and a jukebox. A spacious waiting room for gathering that has two iMacs for web browsing accompanied with a printer. And of course, an outdoor pool.

The fitness room is pretty decent which has a treadmill, cycling machine, free weights with reclining bench, a fitness ball, a yoga mat, and weight balls to name a few. All these with free towels to wipe off sweats and a purified water jug to quench the thirst.

Although it doesn't offer free breakfast, there is a small restaurant in the hotel open for breakfast 7am-10:30am, lunch 11:30am-2:30pm and dinner 5:30pm-10pm. Expect prices to be a little above than average, being it the hotel's own restaurant.

Parking is as always difficult in San Francisco, so the hotel offers valet parking for $35/day.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Sightscene,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on Tripadvisor. It is our pleasure to be able to offer our guests different types of lounge. We are delighted that you enjoyed many of the amenities that we had to offer.

Our game lounge is a great kept secret tucked away in a corner of our lobby. As guests of the hotel our staff is happy to provide a wide array of board games that you can borrow from the front desk.

Hopefully, the next time you visit you will be able to enjoy a board game or two in our game lounge with your loved ones to build everlasting memories. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Best Western Plus Americania the next time you are in San Francisco.


With anticipation,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here on Our fly drive tour of the western us.

We arrived to a parking nightmare. We had two young children in car seats and luggage to unload. This was just not possible because the valet system meant out car could not stay near reception even for a few minutes.

The area that the hotel is in is awful. We were heckled by beggars and wheeled our pram through clouds of marijuana smoke on the street immediately outside the hotel.

The decor of the hotel and the swimming pool/gym are good. Would definitely be better for a business trip than a family holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Nicolainsley,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your opinion on Tripadvisor. We empathize with you regarding the frustration you must have experienced driving and flying such a long distance arriving at our hotel with certain expectations.

Due to the limited real estate our property is privy to our drive way is a no stopping zone which is why we offer valet parking. We do try to make parking as easy as possible all that is required for you to do is to drop off your keys and the valet staff will diligently park your vehicle you need not find a spot for yourself leaving you to unload your luggage easily and safely.

We hope you provide us a second chance and warmly welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to San Francisco.


Kind regards,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania

Address: 121 7th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western PLUS Americania Hotel is a 143-room boutique hotel with a fun and amusing design of understaed references to classic American pasttimes. With guest rooms, meeting space and the Custom Burger and Lounge located on site, the hotel provides a San Francisco hotel experience well suited for vacationers, families, and business travelers alike and is the ideal setting for small business meetings and social functions.Located in the vibrant South of Market (SoMA) district, the convenient location provides quick access to many of San Francisco's top attractions including Civic Center Plaza, Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Westfield Shopping Centre and Cable Cars that will take you to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Americania Hotel San Francisco
Best Western Hotel Americania
Best Western San Francisco
San Francisco Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.