We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chelsea Motor Inn to your Saves list
Chelsea Motor Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2095 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Marina District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Costa Mesa, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

I have tried several budget hotels on Lombard in the Marina District and think Chelsea is probably the best so far... good location, nice large room. Friendly staff. The elevator is a bit slow and creaky and the hair dryer didn't work (they never do), but overall that is was a good value at $100 per night.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    238
    57
    17
    12
See reviews for
101
205
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

The beds were so comfortable! The room was large and very nice. Friendly staff, and clean hotel. The parking was great (and free) and the location was perfect for us (we were walking around town everywhere.. long walks, but worth it). Only complaint was the noise from outside. Bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager600, Manager at Chelsea Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments on Tripadvisor. We value any comments and take into consideration your feedback. I am very pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with our hotel and hope to see you soon again at Chelsea Inn in San Francisco.
Please make sure to contact us if you need assistance with your reservation in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Though showing her age a bit, the Chelsea Motor Inn is still a great place to stay. The rooms are nice sized (if a bit dated) clean and well maintained. No breakfast or wine hour here, but with the money you save you can go up the block and have either. The only sticky part is getting to Union Square. Though possible with just one bus, it is a very popular bus that makes quite a few stops. We actually taxied our way back. But we came to hang out in Cow Hollow and the Marina and to ride our bikes around the Presidio and the waterfront. For that, this place was excellent. Oh, and FREE PARKING!!! In SF that's a $40 per night savings.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager600, Manager at Chelsea Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2010
We appreciate you are taking the time to write your excellent experience on Tripadvisor and hope to see you soon again at Chelsea Inn in the near future. Do not hesitate to contact us should you have any questions or help you with your reservation. We look forward to serving you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

Chelsea was nice and in a decent location. There were 4-5 bus lines within a couple of blocks. Price was better than being closer to downtown. We were in a room on the Lombard side which was loud until about midnight. Our room looked like it had just been updated. Clean and safe. Room key was required to gain access into the building. I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

First let me state this is a budget hotel ($100 a night range). With that said, I'd say this is one of the better budget hotels on Lombard. The 1 king bed room appeared to have been updated within the last few years. Carpet, furniture, and bed had that new feeling to it versus something you'd see at Hotel 6. Remember this hotel is located on a main artery to the Golden Gate bridge and is close to Chestnut St restaurants. A degree of noise is expected. My room was in the back that faced an alley, which was much quieter. You will hear people talking through the night outside. A popular bar called City Tavern half a block from the hotel lures in a lot of people due to its cheap happy hour prices. If your room faces Lombard expect to hear traffic noise. Its not that bad. Make sure your windows are completely closed...makes a big difference.

The location of the Chelsea is in an excellent location! You are blocks from the very popular Chestnut area with lots of places to eat and shop. There's a Taco Bell/KFC across the street if you are really on a tight budget. Several bus lines stop near the hotel. I don't suggest walking to Union Square, Pier39, Market St. like some have said on here. Take the bus! Its $2 ride OR you can buy a 3 day pass for $20 that gets you unlimited rides on the cable cars, buses, and trains. The #30 bus line stops one block from Chelsea. This line will take you to Fishermans wharf, North Beach, Chinatown and eventually to Market/ 4th. For those of you who are returning after 1am, the #91 OWL bus line stops right in front of the Chelsea. The 91OWL line goes through all the major areas of the city till 6am.

The parking is somewhat of an issue. They have 2 levels of parking with just enough spaces for majority of the rooms. It does fill up every night because parking is a premium in that area. Chelsea does not charge for parking which is bonus for that area. Most hotels charge on average $20-30 a night to park in their lot. For me, I parked and used the buses and taxi to get around for the 3 nights I stayed at Chelsea.

Chelsea offers free internet access via wireless and wired. Its slow but workable for checking emails and looking at Google maps. Streaming video such as Skype'ing or iChatting will fail.

Overall, my room was clean and the bed was comfortable with lots of pillows. I'd recommend this room to my friends if they were staying on a budget. The free parking alone will save you $20 a night. The front desk was professional and had me checked in and checked out in no time.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel, FL
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

We stayed at the Chelsea Motor Inn for 1 night, with a late arrival, and it met our needs. The rooms were clean and updated. Our room was wheelchair accessible (we don't have a wheelchair need, but it was the last room) The shower was wide, with flat entry, with a fold down seat. The toilet had a high seat.
It's not a luxury hotel but is reasonably priced ($100 per nite) We stayed here with our 10 yr old daughter and thought the Chelsea was fine. Can get loud if you have a room over Lombard Street, esp on the weekend. Staff was helpful.
Free parking was convenient. The location is good, on the Muni (bus) line and close to tourist sites.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

This was our second stay. The rooms are spacious and very clean. A bonus is all the great food nearby, the Marina and the extra bonus is that the #30 Bus which goes to Ghiradelli Square, Fisherman's Wharf, North Beach, Chinatown, Market Street, etc., is one block away. Don't go expecting 4-star service, but for convenience, you can't beat it. Ask for a room in the back, facing the alley. Relatively quiet (it IS Lombard Street after all) . We used to stay in fancier places but the $50 a night parking is a drag. You can't beat this for convenience.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Chelsea Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Motor Inn

Address: 2095 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#78 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Marina District, between Fillmore and Lombard. Centrally located in a lively neighborhood with restaurants, bars, shops and public transportation within walking distance. One mile away from Fisherman's Wharf or 25 min. Walking distance.One block away is the Bus 30: takes you Fisherman's Wharf, North Beach, China Town, Union Square. We offer complementary parking for one car per room. Weekends offer a lot of activity in the streets around the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and BookIt.com so you can book your Chelsea Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Motor Hotel San Francisco
Chelsea Motel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.