We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location on a budget” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Chelsea Motor Inn to your Saves list
Chelsea Motor Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2095 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Marina)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save!!
Ranked #90 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Hollywood, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent location on a budget”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

First let me state this is a budget hotel ($100 a night range). With that said, I'd say this is one of the better budget hotels on Lombard. The 1 king bed room appeared to have been updated within the last few years. Carpet, furniture, and bed had that new feeling to it versus something you'd see at Hotel 6. Remember this hotel is located on a main artery to the Golden Gate bridge and is close to Chestnut St restaurants. A degree of noise is expected. My room was in the back that faced an alley, which was much quieter. You will hear people talking through the night outside. A popular bar called City Tavern half a block from the hotel lures in a lot of people due to its cheap happy hour prices. If your room faces Lombard expect to hear traffic noise. Its not that bad. Make sure your windows are completely closed...makes a big difference.

The location of the Chelsea is in an excellent location! You are blocks from the very popular Chestnut area with lots of places to eat and shop. There's a Taco Bell/KFC across the street if you are really on a tight budget. Several bus lines stop near the hotel. I don't suggest walking to Union Square, Pier39, Market St. like some have said on here. Take the bus! Its $2 ride OR you can buy a 3 day pass for $20 that gets you unlimited rides on the cable cars, buses, and trains. The #30 bus line stops one block from Chelsea. This line will take you to Fishermans wharf, North Beach, Chinatown and eventually to Market/ 4th. For those of you who are returning after 1am, the #91 OWL bus line stops right in front of the Chelsea. The 91OWL line goes through all the major areas of the city till 6am.

The parking is somewhat of an issue. They have 2 levels of parking with just enough spaces for majority of the rooms. It does fill up every night because parking is a premium in that area. Chelsea does not charge for parking which is bonus for that area. Most hotels charge on average $20-30 a night to park in their lot. For me, I parked and used the buses and taxi to get around for the 3 nights I stayed at Chelsea.

Chelsea offers free internet access via wireless and wired. Its slow but workable for checking emails and looking at Google maps. Streaming video such as Skype'ing or iChatting will fail.

Overall, my room was clean and the bed was comfortable with lots of pillows. I'd recommend this room to my friends if they were staying on a budget. The free parking alone will save you $20 a night. The front desk was professional and had me checked in and checked out in no time.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    224
    55
    15
    9
See reviews for
91
184
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sanibel, FL
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

We stayed at the Chelsea Motor Inn for 1 night, with a late arrival, and it met our needs. The rooms were clean and updated. Our room was wheelchair accessible (we don't have a wheelchair need, but it was the last room) The shower was wide, with flat entry, with a fold down seat. The toilet had a high seat.
It's not a luxury hotel but is reasonably priced ($100 per nite) We stayed here with our 10 yr old daughter and thought the Chelsea was fine. Can get loud if you have a room over Lombard Street, esp on the weekend. Staff was helpful.
Free parking was convenient. The location is good, on the Muni (bus) line and close to tourist sites.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

This was our second stay. The rooms are spacious and very clean. A bonus is all the great food nearby, the Marina and the extra bonus is that the #30 Bus which goes to Ghiradelli Square, Fisherman's Wharf, North Beach, Chinatown, Market Street, etc., is one block away. Don't go expecting 4-star service, but for convenience, you can't beat it. Ask for a room in the back, facing the alley. Relatively quiet (it IS Lombard Street after all) . We used to stay in fancier places but the $50 a night parking is a drag. You can't beat this for convenience.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

How do you have a bathroom with no vent or window? And, what were they thinking putting a coffee maker in the bathroom. Yuck!! Lombard Street is a six lane thoroughfare. Between the non-insulated windows, traffic and bar noise, it was impossible to sleep. Great location to restaurants, Marina and Union Street shopping. A tad long, but nice walk to Fisherman's Wharf if weather holds up. Would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul MN
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

We picked Chelsea Motor Inn only because it had free parking but it really in a nice clean place Mohamed behind the counter was very friendly and we really had no complaints in fact I have just called to reserve a room again for a return trip in May. It is walking distance to many nice places to eat and right along bus lines to get to downtown. Only down side to this place is no pool sauna and there is no email address on their website

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany NY
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

I came to San Francisco to visit my daughter and booked this hotel , depending on numerous good reviews. I am very disappointed. We got one bed instead of two reserved. In the room we found scratched sink, torn curtains and broken coffee machine. Besides, there was one tea bag and one shampoo for two of us. Smell in the corridor was sickening. But the worst happened after I checked out. Beware! I checked my credit card account and was shocked to find out substantial hotel charge. I called manager, who said they charged me for smoking in the non-smoking room !. Neither of us (me and my daughter) smokes. He said they found evidences, though refused to tell what exactly. Manager was very rude. I guess they are trying to improve their financial state by making up fraudulent charges. I don't recommend this motel. Better to pay more and get reliable service .

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

This hotel is a joke. Extremely Noise, dirty rooms, and double charged credit cards are just a few of their ammenities. Expect a side dish of rudeness to accompany it. These clowns double charged my Credit card for a one night stay, they argued with me till no end that they didn't, but they did. They are extremely rude to their customers, and the next time I'm in San Francisco I'll gladly waste a day and stand in front of this place and tell every possible customer/potential victim to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chelsea Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Motor Inn

Address: 2095 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#74 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#87 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Marina District, between Fillmore and Lombard. Centrally located in a lively neighborhood with restaurants, bars, shops and public transportation within walking distance. One mile away from Fisherman's Wharf or 25 min. Walking distance.One block away is the Bus 30: takes you Fisherman's Wharf, North Beach, China Town, Union Square. We offer complementary parking for one car per room. Weekends offer a lot of activity in the streets around the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chelsea Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Motor Hotel San Francisco
Chelsea Motel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.