We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Chelsea Motor Inn to your Saves list
Chelsea Motor Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2095 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Marina District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Book Direct and Save!
Ranked #82 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good location, nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Chelsea Motor Inn has a great location - it's a 5-10 minute taxi ride or a 40 minute walk to Fishermans Wharf and Union Square. We had breakfast at Mel's a Diner everyday and loved it there. The hotel itself is very nice. We had an easy check in. Our room was great, it was VERY big and so was the bathroom. It was very clean too. Only thing to mention is that is it very noisy if your room is on Lombard Street. I'd read reviews beforehand advising of this but we didn't quite know what to expect until we arrived. Take some ear plugs!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    261
    64
    18
    13
See reviews for
113
229
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Chelsea on July 15-17. We had a large 2 queen bed room on the 1st floor. Room was very spacious, beds were comfortable, shower was great. With free parking, free internet and 10% off for breakfast at a restaurant a block away, who could beat it? We took the Big bus tour and there was a stop on the next block. Very happy and satisfied with the stay and service at the motel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I stayed here recently with my daughter and her two sons. The room was clean large for San Francisco we had a distant view of the Golden Gate Bridge and the street noise was not a problem. No fridge but coffee maker free WIFI and parking which was a big plus.Bathroom clean beds comfortable. Yes the room was a bit tired looking and could do with an update. Staff helpful with maps at the ready and happy to share their local knowledge. Great location on bus route and easy walk to great restaurants and Ihop for breakfast, ask reception for directions to great Pizza eatery. We walked to the Golden Gate Bridge which took about 45mins pram pushing and came across The Walt Disney Museum do not miss this is fantastic.Chelsea Motor Inn is good value and I would stay again maybe refurbishment is in the plan.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Spent one night at the Chelsea and was very disappointed. This property is rundown and in desperate need of overhaul. Old TV, old beat up furniture and uncomfortable mattress. On the plus side: free WIFI, free parking and a quiet room if you ask for one off the busy streets. This property has sister hotels that have been refurbished, are down a few blocks and are the same price. I recommend checking them out.

Room Tip: When parking make sure ALL of your belongings are removed from your car. The parking is unsecure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager0101, General Manager at Chelsea Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear lipstick,

We regret to hear you were disappointed with the furniture and are aware of the situation. We are working to make some changes in the coming months. We hope this will not stop you for coming back on your next visit to San Francisco.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We were concerned about noise at a busy intersection, as I am a light sleeper. The front desk suggested a king room with a rollaway, as the rooms with two beds all face the street. We did not have a view fro our interior room, but the room was very quiet. It was close to transportation and restaurants and the free parking was great. The City Map available at the front desk was great and showed all the Muni bus routes. The hotel is very clean, the WIFI worked fine for us, and we probably would not consider another hotel when visiting San Franciscon in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The Chelsea Motor Inn is good value and in a great location. I was recommended to use it by my brother and sister-in-law, particularly for its free parking. This was the first stop on a wonderful California road trip, and was a great start to the journey

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We did not expect a lot when we booked our stay here. Free wi-fi, free parking, prime location, easy access to restaurants, grocery shops and bus facilities, very clean rooms and good service. As another person has mentioned the decor is a little outdated, but it was not an issue at all. Recommend this place to anyone who wants to stay comfortably on a budget.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#77 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 381 reviews
Marina District
Redwood Inn
Redwood Inn
#117 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 396 reviews
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#18 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
San Francisco at The Presidio Travelodge
San Francisco at The Presidio Tr...
#51 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 822 reviews
Marina District
Cow Hollow Motor Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Motor Inn and Suites
#32 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 657 reviews
Marina District
Marina Motel
Marina Motel
#96 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Motor Inn

Address: 2095 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Marina District, between Fillmore and Lombard. Centrally located in a lively neighborhood with restaurants, bars, shops and public transportation within walking distance. One mile away from Fisherman's Wharf or 25 min. Walking distance.One block away is the Bus 30: takes you Fisherman's Wharf, North Beach, China Town, Union Square. We offer complementary parking for one car per room. Weekends offer a lot of activity in the streets around the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Chelsea Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Motor Hotel San Francisco
Chelsea Motel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.