We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for a short stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Chelsea Motor Inn to your Saves list
Chelsea Motor Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2095 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Marina)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save!!
Ranked #91 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ideal for a short stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Just leaving here today after 3 night stay. Rooms very large and very clean. Decor little dated but who stays here and sits in the room all day?? Local to all amenities and plenty of bars and restaurants close by. All staff really helpful but special mention to Mohammed who helped us book trips and shuttle to airport. Would def recommend to others.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    224
    56
    15
    9
See reviews for
91
184
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Very good motel, quite cheap for the standard of San Francisco.
- with no pc desk if you need to print
- be care if you are on the first floor: very noisy street
- you've to walk 20 minutes to arrive to everywhere (use bus)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

stayed here for 2 nights in april, rooms are ok i found them very dark and the noise is so bad we had a room over the main road ' lombard street ' and asked if we could move to another room but was told no. the windows are so thin and the traffic is crazy its the main road to the golden gate bridge. the motel is out a little from the main buzz, but the streets around are nice with little coffee shops etc tho there are a lot of homeless/drunk people around. take a 10 minute walk down towards the bridge and you get the best views around tho for the 2 days we where there the fog covered the golden gate the whole time and if you drive over it mae sure you pay the toll where you pay is another thing other wise you will be hit with a nice fine from your car hire company.
all in all the motel is fine for price apart from not sleeping with the noise but who needs sleep !!!

Room Tip: get a room to the side streets or back of motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Found out about this place from a co-worker who had been staying here regularly. Comfortable nicely appointed rooms. Nothing fancy, but free WiFi AND parking. A lot of places charge anywhere from $15 - $35 / night for parking. Lombard Street can get rather noisy and the one elevator is really slow. Plenty of restaurants and bars in the adjacent Cow Hollow and Marina District neighborhoods. If you are looking for no frills, clean, safe, and convenient accommodations for under $200/night (often under $150 depending on season, advance booking). A bargain in a city full of expensive hotels with plenty of add on charges.

Room Tip: Avoid a room that is on Lombard, rooms overlooking the side streets are quieter. Good selection for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We just climbed out of Yosemite valley and wanted a few days in the city and picked this Inn based on TA reviews. We were happy with our room. It was clean, and pretty spacious with a view of the G. Gate Bridge. We asked for a room off Lombard street, and that too was a little noisy but I am sure much better than being off Lombard St. The bath was large, but the shower head was short. The beds and pillows were OK. The nicest thing about this Inn was the location. It was a 10 min walk to the Marina where you could sit by the bay and relax. The area was trendy with little restaurants/pubs and shopping. It felt safe too. The walk to Fisherman's wharf by the water took us about 45 minutes. On the way the kids stopped at the beach area and played in the sand. We ate at Mel's Diner a block away (ok for breakfast, better for lunch) but the real treat was dinner at Pacific Catch 1 block away on Chestnut St. Back to the room, the lights were dim, but plenty of comfortable seating which was nice in the room. It was also a quiet place. We heard very little outside the room except for the street noise which seemed to die down around midnight. The front desk staff were helpful, and friendly. Overall a nice place to stay at a great price, especially with the free parking.

Room Tip: Room off Fillmore Street (Third Floor) are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My SIL stayed in a sister hotel to Chelsea when in San Francisco, and highly recommended any of their hotels. After reading reviews, and finding a vacancy for my timeframe, I booked a room with 2 queen beds. The room was very large, clean and actually had a small glimpse of the Golden Gate Bridge from our window. It was quite noisy Saturday night with all the nightlife around there, but quickly died down after 2:00. (I am a light sleeper, my other family members slept right through it). The location was excellent, central to many walking places, and when driving we did not have to drive very far. The parking was limited, but you cannot complain when there is no charge, especially in San Fran. And the rate was very well priced. I will definitely stay at the Chelsea again, or one of their sister locations.

Room Tip: When booking with 2 queen beds you pay a little more but have a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chelsea Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Motor Inn

Address: 2095 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#74 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#85 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Marina District, between Fillmore and Lombard. Centrally located in a lively neighborhood with restaurants, bars, shops and public transportation within walking distance. One mile away from Fisherman's Wharf or 25 min. Walking distance.One block away is the Bus 30: takes you Fisherman's Wharf, North Beach, China Town, Union Square. We offer complementary parking for one car per room. Weekends offer a lot of activity in the streets around the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chelsea Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Motor Hotel San Francisco
Chelsea Motel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.