We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Chelsea.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Chelsea Motor Inn to your Saves list
Chelsea Motor Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2095 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Marina District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stoke On Trent
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Convenient Chelsea.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had a long drive from Long Beach and arrived via Fillmore Street. That was an experience, up bank and then down bank! The trainee assistant at check in was very friendly, clear with information and efficient. Our room on the second floor was on Fillmore as requested. A view of the Golden Gate Bridge! The room was spacious and clean and the furniture was really smart. We loved the dresser! Everthing in the bathroom was fabulous. We always found the ice machine in working order. The location of this hotel and customer parking provided was for us outstanding. Public parking can be expensive in San Fransisco so we left the car at the hotel and walked. Lombard Street, Pier 39, Union Square, Cable Car Museum, Pier 33 for Alcatraz etc etc. The beds were very comfortable but being centrally located there are some noisy neighbours who go to bed at 2am on a Friday and Saturday and 3am on a Sunday. They do however have a night off on a Sunday/Monday! If you stop at this hotel, check out Mel's Diner nearby!

Room Tip: Choose a room on Fillmore to see G G Bridge but take earmuffs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    236
    57
    17
    11
See reviews for
100
199
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Encino
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We chose Chelsea Motor Inn because of the other reviews on trip advisor, maybe they didn't go when it was freezing, but I had the worst night's sleep.
The room and bathroom were nice, very clean. Except for tape that was left on each corner on the bed and on top of each corner of the dresser, which I thought was weird. Everything was fine, until night time came.
We fell asleep early since we were exhausted from our long drive up, and woke up in the middle of the night freezing. The bed had a sheet and a tiny skinny little blanket that wouldn't warm anybody up. We turned on the heater but then it got too stuffy. I went to the closet since most hotels usually have extra blankets in there, but nothing.
Once I woke up my neck and back were aching because of the uncomfortable bed and pillows.
Before we left, we left a note for housekeeping to please bring us extra blankets. Once we got back into our room, the blankets were there. The second night was a little better since we were warmer, but the bed and pillows were still horribly uncomfortable. I probably would not stay there again. Parking was also horrible.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Accomodation is so expensive in san fran! We stayed in a basic room which had a nice view out the window of lombard street. One big bed and a clean bathroom. Also had a big tv and desk, but we didnt spend much time in the room to enjoy this. Very central to alot of restaurants. About a 20 minute walk down to the golden gate bridge. ALot of the buses stop just outside the hotel. And the staff at the front desk are very helpful and resourceful. They seemed experienced. So glad i found this place. Would definatly stay here again.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

This was a great surprise for us. This place was recommended to us by locals from San Francisco that we met in Sydney last year. They said it was were all the locals stay when heading into the city.

It is away from the main tourist area which is great and has some of the best food and bars around the surrounding neighbourhood.

The Big Bus tours have a stop right infront of the hotel which is the best way to see and experience San Francisco.

Rooms were clean and very comfortable. We stayed on the 3rd level with a internal view into nothing which was great with no noise.

Parking is on sight and included in the rates.

Enjoy San Francisco :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

On a street (Lombard) of many hotels and motels this stands out as a gem. From the price we paid(93dollars) to an excellent room with two queen beds ,bay window, and excellent bedding we were pleasantly surprised. Parking is free and there are many very good restaurants in the immediate area. we walked to the water front and took the cable car into town. We will stay there again.

Room Tip: room on the side or the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel was right in the neighborhood we wanted to be in, so for us it was great. Spacious room and bathroom. Clean and comfortable with an excellent desk staff. Free parking on site. The price was definitely right for a night at a great location in San Francisco. The frontage to a busy street could be off-putting enough to look for a quieter place next time.

Room Tip: Are there rooms off the street? If so, I'm not sure about their windows or views, but they migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Large hotel rooms! Amazing comfortable big bed. Room was very clean. Great service at front desk. Nice central location and easier to get public transport around San Fran. Would definately recommend. An older style hotel but everything was immaculate. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chelsea Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Motor Inn

Address: 2095 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#80 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Marina District, between Fillmore and Lombard. Centrally located in a lively neighborhood with restaurants, bars, shops and public transportation within walking distance. One mile away from Fisherman's Wharf or 25 min. Walking distance.One block away is the Bus 30: takes you Fisherman's Wharf, North Beach, China Town, Union Square. We offer complementary parking for one car per room. Weekends offer a lot of activity in the streets around the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and BookIt.com so you can book your Chelsea Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Motor Hotel San Francisco
Chelsea Motel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.