We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very friendly.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chelsea Motor Inn to your Saves list
Chelsea Motor Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2095 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Marina)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save!!
Ranked #90 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Tweed Heads
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not very friendly.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I booked in advance at this hotel, two rooms,for 1 night, I had a few requests, 1st was I would like the rooms to be next to each other, 2nd I asked for the highest floor and 3rd was a early check-in as we had come all the way from Australia. None of my requests were meet. When we arrived the man at the front desk was very unfriendly, rude not helpful at all. We ask him where a good place would be to have breakfast and he grunted down the street. We really need to have a shower before we went sightseeing. we spent the day out feeling grubby. When we returned to check-in later that evening it was someone different at the desk, he wasn't much better. Check-in was to much hassel after a really long day. The rooms were big and nice the beds were comfortable, the bathroom was clean. Not having a fridge was a bit of a pain, but as we were only there for 1 night it didn't matter to us. The free parking was good. But that is about all I could say regarding our stay here.

Room Tip: Don't bother as they will just put you anywere they like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    222
    55
    15
    9
See reviews for
90
183
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meadow Vista, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

After numerous trips to San Francisco, we finally figured out that staying in the Union Square area was equivalent to throwing money out the hotel window. With $300 rooms and $50 parking, it just wasn't worth it. Check out the Marina District, where this jewel resides. It fronts on Lombard Street, which used to be the main thoroughfare in the city. It is lined with many "old" motor inns, which appealed to the traveller driving through the city. Now they are an oasis of normalcy in a city that has destroyed many a tourist's budget.
We could stay 3 nights at the Chelsea for the price of 1 night in Union Square. Spend your money at the many shops and restaurants within a couple of short blocks on Chestnut Street and Union Street.
As noted in other reviews, the place is old, but well maintained. The maid service was excellent, with a very friendly staff, always smiling. The bathroom was spotless, and the bed, while a bit cushy, still comfortable.
Access from the parking garage to any other part of the city is a plus. Presidio is 5 minutes, Golden Gate Park, maybe 15 minutes. ATT Park, 20 minutes.
Just don't expect more than it is. If you are looking for luxury, go to Union Square. If you are on any semblance of a budget, try this place.
PS, I would not recommend the sister property one block down the street (Cow Hollow Motor Inn). Stayed there recently, and the room was not nearly as well kept.

Room Tip: If you want QUIET, ask for room 318. Nobody on either side and the view out is to a building wall 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager600, General Manager at Chelsea Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hi Ric95722,

Warm greetings from Chelsea Inn. Thank you for your detailed feedback on TripAdvisor. As a valued guest, your observations and feedback are greatly appreciated and attentively considered so that we may continue to strive to improve the services and facilities of Chelsea Inn
Overall, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the Chelsea experience and on the behalf of our associates, I extend our very best wishes and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the in the near future.

Ric95722 we look forward to your return.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The good: safe, in-town location; helpful staff; nearby restaurants and shops in walking distance; nice sized rooms, comfortable bed, decent price and free self-parking in their underground garage, so there's no valet needed to go in or out. Some SF hotels charge up to $60 a night for parking, so this was a real perk.

The bad: The fluorescent lighting in the elevator and the hallways gave the place a seedy feeling; the valve on the hot water knob leaked and the faucet sprayed to the side; long crack in the sink; old analog TV that had trouble holding the signal; the noise from the traffic on 4-lane Lombard St. was mostly drowned out by the HVAC, but the HVAC made all kinds of weird and sleep-disturbing noises.

I would consider going back if I stayed on the back side of the building.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager600, General Manager at Chelsea Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hello tribblet,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travelers on TripAdvisor!

It is great to learn that you stay has been enjoyable and appreciate the free parking at our hotel.

We have well noted all your comments, which will be shared with all our team members, to seek ways of further improvement.

Thank you once again for staying with us, and we look forward to your return.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We had just come from a 14 day cruise to Hawaii and since we were on the coast decided to take a train up north do some sightseeing in San Francisco and Napa Valley. To be honest I am leery of motels and motor inns that are not off a well traveled highway. This inn had several nice reviews so we closed our eyes and hit the select button..Best decision we made, From the desk clerk who greeted us after midnight to the room fit for a queen we were more than pleasantly surprised. Our first night was the continuation of Saturday night and the windows were not in the least bit soundproofed so the party went on till about 2am.. if it had continued I was planning to ask for another room off the street side. But from Sunday to Thursday morning we loved it. The room was very charming and well kept. The furniture very well maintained and always spotless. Our front desk manager was always the epitome of charm and advice from eating to tour excursion tickets and always with a smile. I can't wait to come back to San Francisco and stay at the Chelsea on busy Lombard St. I will be sending our travel clients there also!

Room Tip: You don't need a car rental if you didn't drive in.San Francisco has premier mass transit an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

First of all, one of the best things about the Chelsea is free, as in totally free covered parking while you are a guest at the hotel. When you park downtown at nearly any major hotel you could pay $40 at least for overnight parking so this is a real deal. Rooms are affordable and comfortable; try to get a room in the rear of the hotel where there's less street noise.

The other thing is the proximity to the many shops and restaurants around. It's a very short walk from the hotel to Chestnut street - with super places to eat on nearly every block. You can't go wrong at the Chelsea!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager600, General Manager at Chelsea Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hello Bill L,

We are extremely pleased to learn that your stay at our hotel was fantastic, and that you appreciate the luxury of having a free covered parking for your car. As you mention in your comment it is expensive having a car in San Francisco and finding a parking with a reasonable price. The city just added mandatory parking until 6:00pm on Sunday.

All our Chelsea associates, will continue to provide consistent exceptional service to all our valued guests, and we do hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Bill L, thank you once again!

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I pretty much always stay here. Driving from the North Bay, the location is ideal. As someone who likes to stretch his legs a little, the location is also ideal -- 20 minutes to everywhere on Chestnut St., 20 minutes to the Wharf, 5 minutes to Union St. The rooms and the beds are always comfortable. And most of the time, the price is right -- often under $100 plus tax. Added bonus: One of the best neighborhood bars in the city, almost catty-corner from the back door. For someone who is visiting for the first time, I'd say, go stay near Union Square or the Embarcadero. For someone who wants every luxury, try the Fairmont or any of several other 5-star places. But if you want a decent, comfortable, and fairly priced location with free parking, the Chelsea is the best of all I've stayed in.

I do recommend asking for a room in the back. Though if you get up at 6:00 a.m. all the time, you might not mind being in the front. It's fun to see Lombard St. from the comfort of your room, but the traffic noise will wake you up, especially on weekday mornings. Or, of course, you might bring earplugs....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chelsea Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Motor Inn

Address: 2095 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#74 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#85 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Marina District, between Fillmore and Lombard. Centrally located in a lively neighborhood with restaurants, bars, shops and public transportation within walking distance. One mile away from Fisherman's Wharf or 25 min. Walking distance.One block away is the Bus 30: takes you Fisherman's Wharf, North Beach, China Town, Union Square. We offer complementary parking for one car per room. Weekends offer a lot of activity in the streets around the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chelsea Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Motor Hotel San Francisco
Chelsea Motel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.