We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant value and location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coventry Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Coventry Motor Inn to your Saves list
Coventry Motor Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1901 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Marina District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Surrey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
351 helpful votes 351 helpful votes
“Brilliant value and location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed here for the last part of our honeymoon and had 3 nights in what can only be described as a room with a view! We arrived really early (just after 11am) and Tony on reception, who was super friendly and helpful, informed us our room was ready. Wow! The room are nicely decorated, quite large and very comfortable and we were lucky enough to be given a room with a view of Golden Gate Bridge - stunning!
The motel itself is perfectly situated on Lombard Street. The area is safe - we walked back from the great little pub over the road at 1am; I went out alone early in the mornings for a coffee to the streets either side of Lombard (there are some fab restaurants and coffee shops either side, so worth venturing out). You can walk everywhere from The Coventry Motor Inn - it takes about 30mins to Pier 39, same to the crooked part of the street - but parts are very steep, and about 40 from the central shopping area - however, all of it is a pleasant (and mainly safe - avoid Eddy St) walk.
Yes, the motel is on a busy main road, but we booked it for convenience of being able to get around (though we actually didn't use the car at all in SF), and the parking is included in the price. And, in all honesty, the traffic noise isn't intrusive when you're in the room - Lombard St isn't that busy late at night.
The staff were great and helped us with all our queries. The only down side to the motel is a distinct odour of cigarettes when you exit the lift - maybe 3rd floor used to be the smoking floor. It's not in the rooms (well we didn't notice it in ours'), but definitely in the hallway. However, that doesn't detract from what a great find this motel is - I think you'd struggle to beat it for value and location.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    499
    68
    9
    1
See reviews for
291
546
39
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Perhaps the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in! Despite being on the main road it was reasonably quiet. When we visited temperatures reached over 70oF so we were pleased to have full air-conditioning in the room. Modern and well maintained rooms with limited parking in the basement. We left the car in the car park and walked and used public transport to see the sights. A bus runs on the next road to fisherman's wharf.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Located on the busy Lombard St in the Marina and within easy (and safe) walking distance of the busy Fisherman's Wharf area. Very much geared towards those driving - I wasn't - but you can easily manage with the multiple bus stops nearby. Big rooms, comfortable beds, free wifi and a large TV to match. Room had a nice view towards the Golden Gate Bridge. Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This hotel is located in the Marina district which was perfect for us with a number of bars and restaurants nearby.

The rooms are clean and the beds were very comfortable. We booked directly through the hotels website and picked up a room for around $100 which was a steal. If you're thinking about booking this place from the tripadvisor reviews I'd say go for it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Close to all attractions, only blocks away from Fisherman's Wharf and Golden Gate Bridge. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Memory foam mattress was awesome. Staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. Parking included is a definite plus as parking in the city is very limited and expensive. May be hard to get to hotel at various times during the day as during rush hours you can not make certain turns off of Lombard Street. Great hotel in a great city!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The rooms are very clean and the beds extremely comfortable. Free parking and free wi-fi. Great price for what you get. It is also close to some of the tourists attraction. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Very clean, amazingly comfy beds, strong morning coffee, and in a great location a walk away from Bobo's, Fisherman's Wharf, House of Prime Rib and the main Marina shopping street. Generous parking area with friendly helpful staff. Big room too!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coventry Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coventry Motor Inn

Address: 1901 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coventry Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coventry Motor Inn features spacious, tastefully decorated rooms. Rooms are available with your choice of one king, two queen, or two double beds to ensure your comfort.Each room has a comfortable, well lit seating and work area, individually controlled heat and air-conditioning, direct-dial phone, coffee maker, and color TV.Other conviniences include free covered parking and ready public transportation to all parts of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Coventry Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coventry Motor Hotel San Francisco
Coventry Hotel San Francisco
Coventry Motel San Francisco
Coventry Inn San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coventry Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.