We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient stay in San Fran” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coventry Motor Inn

Save Saved
You added Coventry Motor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coventry Motor Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1901 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Convenient stay in San Fran”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Our family of 4 spent 2 nights at this motel. Lombard street was a convenient place to stay. We walked to fisherman's wharf, crookedest street (which is actually Lombard street a few blocks down), and china town. None of these are too far away from hotel but be prepared for the up-and-down hills that come with exploring San Francisco on foot. Price was right and included parking. We had the 2 queen room with sofa on top floor and had plenty of room. No noise issues for us. Their website has a couple sister properties that are very nearby on Lombard and all looked very similiar from the outside so probably safe staying at any of them. We would stay here again. Good central location for exploring town.

As a side note when visiting San Francisco: We rented a car in LA for a 2 week visit throughout California. Review your car rental agreement for how they handle tolls since bridges (including Golden Gate) are tolls. For some reason, I never though of this until we were about to cross golden gate and saw signs about not accepting cash on bridge. Some car rentals use some kind of fast trak pass system and others do not in which case you need to log onto Golden Gate website and pay for toll BEFORE you cross. I wish I had taken care of this before hand so I didn't have to try and figure it out from parking lot of gas station before crossing.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    392
    392
    54
    8
    1
See reviews for
214
425
31
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ames, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Very friendly hotel staff. Large clean room that accommodated 2 adults and 3 kids. Our room was on the corner of Lombard and Buchanan and the the sound at night from the highway did not bother any of us. Free parking can be a very tight fit but it is manageable. Return to the hotel after check-out time and before people check-in and you should land a good spot! Overall excellent experience and would highly recommend for families looking to stay in SF. Walking distance to Ghiradelli Square and Fishermans Wharf area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed 6 nights, and had asked for a room at back, and got one. The staff at the desk were always friendly and very helpful. Rooms were always clean and made up. Great value! Would always stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This hotel does not look like much on the outside but was perfect on the inside. We were not expecting much based on the pics of the outside but the room itself was excellent. Bathroom was clean, carpets updated and the bed was Tempurpedic/memory foam- and so comfortable! This was a perfect location for us as we had a rental car and were able to drive to all the places we wanted to go. Parking is free (YES) although not for large SUV's or trucks. There was an underground garage but the spaces are tight so be prepared to have someone guide you into the spot if you have a larger vehicle. The neighborhood is not scary as some areas in San Fran can be, although I see no reason to walk around the area of the hotel. There is a liquor store right across the street for a late night in room cocktail. There is no lobby for socializing just a check in area. We will definitely stay here for our next trip to San Fran.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bright, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed hear for a few nights. Great price for San Frans standards , lovely walk to all the waterfront attractions very large rooms and great staff to make your stay even more enjoyable free car parking which is great but you will not have to use your car whilst hear. Very handy if you are going to use the hop on hop of bus as it has a pick up point only a few hundred meters down the road.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goes, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in june. Made the reservation 6 months before. Asked for a quiet room on the back, got a noisy room on the front facing Lombard Street. We could hear much traffic noise coming from the street. (but had some scenic view on the other hand). So if you are a light sleeper ask a room on the back. After all we had a good night sleep. Rooms are clean, basic and a bit dated but big enough and the beds are comfortable. Free parking in the basement is top ! No breakfast included, we had great breakfast at Mells ( 4 minutes walk).
Location is also good and close to the Pier (15 minutes walk). Next to the hotel there is a shop where we rented great bikes for 20 dollar a day. Hotels in SF are not cheap, this hotel had a nice price. Great value and helpful staff! My wife rated it very good. Would stay here next time.

Room Tip: rooms on Lombard Street are not free from traffic noise, ask a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We traveled to SF with our 11 months old to visit family and sightseeing. I was a little skeptical of the hotel at first because of the great price. But everything turned out great. Free parking, free pack n play style crib, and the room was roomy & clean enough for a 11 months old to crawl around. We were really SATISFIED with our stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coventry Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coventry Motor Inn

Address: 1901 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#72 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coventry Motor Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coventry Motor Inn features spacious, tastefully decorated rooms. Rooms are available with your choice of one king, two queen, or two double beds to ensure your comfort.Each room has a comfortable, well lit seating and work area, individually controlled heat and air-conditioning, direct-dial phone, coffee maker, and color TV.Other conviniences include free covered parking and ready public transportation to all parts of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Coventry Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coventry Motor Hotel San Francisco
Coventry Hotel San Francisco
Coventry Motel San Francisco
Coventry Inn San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coventry Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.