We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little dated, but a decent stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coventry Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Coventry Motor Inn to your Saves list
Coventry Motor Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1901 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save!!
Ranked #15 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
Kent, England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A little dated, but a decent stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed here 5 nights with my sister, we had a huge room with 2 double beds, a small table and 2 chairs plus a TV unit. The room itself was dated, the wall paper faded, with parts starting to peel off, but overall it clean and the beds were comfy. the only struggle we had is that we had real difficulty in turning on the 2 lamps in the room, so much so that we had to get a member of staff to show us and he even he had difficulty at first!! the bathroom was also very clean, but wished the shower had a bit more pressure.

We booked this room based on the reviews on trip advisor, mostly because it was one of the few hotel / motel in san francisco that wasn't horrifcally over priced and had generally positive reviews, the only negative would be that when i booked online I had requested a room away from Lombard Street, but instead we got a corner room which faced Lombard.

Staff on front desk were nice and friendly (? tony) he was able to give us directions to a local food store, plus local restaurants and he also told us of an area to avoid in san francisco.

Our first night we went down a few blocks for dinner, to a diner called Mel's however the food was really poor here, cold and generally not pleasant. we didn't bother to eat here again, instead choosing to eat down in pier 39 which is a 40minute walk from the hotel. for breakfast we went to an iHOP which is just a little further down from Mel's.

The only concern we had was that we met a couple in the lift on our first morning and they said they had ipads, money, jewellery stolen from their room and advised us to either lock our valubles away or take them with us for the day. How true their story is I will never know, but it's always smart not to leave valuables out on display and it did make our stay a little uncomfortable as we couldn't be sure the staff could be trusted.

Conveniently, the Big Bus Sightseeing tour company had 2 stops on Lombard Street so we could hop on and hop off just 2 blocks down the street from the Motel.

I would happily recommend this place, sure the rooms are a little dated, but they are clean, comfortable and a great place to lay your head at night

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    426
    57
    6
    1
See reviews for
249
468
35
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The welcome at the reception was really warm.
At first, I thought I would be disappointed, but after the warm welcome and the nice clean and
roomy room, I was really glad for my selection.
I requested a room with the view of Golden Gate and I got it.
As my room was on Lombard street, I thought it would have been very noisy at night, but I have not heard anything.
The rate was very reasonable take in mind I made the reservation only 2 weeks before.
The only downside was that I had to go to South San Francisco every day, so I had to take the bus and the train, so I needed 45 minutes.

Room Tip: A room with the view of Golden Gate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This place was great...I am so glad that I trusted all the good reviews on Trip Advisor. The rooms are large and clean as can be...yes they are dated but who cares...they are spotless!!! Free parking and WIFI....for this price....honestly cannot be beat. Plus the location was great...I almost booked the Union Square area and after seeing that area compared to Coventry Motor Inn location I was VERY thankful for booking here. You are just blocks from many great shops & restaurants and can walk to almost anything from here. I would stay again in a heartbeat!
My only minor negative was that I asked for a quiet room and they put me next to an ice machine and the elevator? So not sure how that happened....we did get our sleep interruped a few times from noisey neighbors coming in at night & from people using the ice machine. Lesson learned, next time I will ask to be moved right away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Our friend who visits San Francisco regularly recommended the Coventry to us on our first visit to the city in 2005. When we returned in 2012 it was our first choice. the location is ideal for visitors to the city who wish to explore northern California. Being right on Lombard St it makes travel to the north of the bay, the city and the bayside and marina districts so easy for someone unfamiliar with area. The hotel itself is no frills, clean, comfortable and affordable. The stafff are welcoming and ready to help with advice and details of local events etc. The rooms are large and of a good standard (being improved between our visits) and suprisingly quiet being on such a main road. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and will, without doubt, stay there when we next visit this wonderful city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We live about 90 minutes from San Francisco and have stayed at the Coventry probably at least 5 times over the last 10 years. To pay only $108 in 2013 for a room with free parking and free wifi is remarkable and to add in the fact it is San Francisco is mind boggling! We like the Marina area and all of the great restaurants on Union Street and Chestnut. It is fun to walk around the neighborhood and to Crissy Field. The rooms at the Coventry are very large with a table and chairs. Granted the bed may not be the most comfortable and the room can be noisy if facing Lombard but you just can't beat the price! The staff is friendly. The bathroom is large and the fixtures are new and there is even a coffee maker. This trip we tried a new breakfast place just down Lombard: The Home Plate. It was fantastic and very reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

If you have a car this is the place to stay. Clean comfortable and half the price of chain hotels + free parking (Very rare in SF). If you don't mind a 10-20 walk you can get almost anwhere on foot. Nice neighbour hood with lots of options for food/nightlife. Front desk was very helpful with suggestions and reservations to hot spots.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

If you're only staying a night or two and you're going to be out most of the time, this is a good crash pad, well located, well priced. No amenities but it was clean and comfortable - a short walk to the Marina, BATS improv, a bus ride to other places. Near good eateries like Zushi Puzzle and Greens. The management was a little snotty. (Note, I was here in 2010 or 2011, not 2012, so management may have changed.)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coventry Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coventry Motor Inn

Address: 1901 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#69 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coventry Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coventry Motor Inn features spacious, tastefully decorated rooms. Rooms are available with your choice of one king, two queen, or two double beds to ensure your comfort.Each room has a comfortable, well lit seating and work area, individually controlled heat and air-conditioning, direct-dial phone, coffee maker, and color TV.Other conviniences include free covered parking and ready public transportation to all parts of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Coventry Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coventry Motor Hotel San Francisco
Coventry Hotel San Francisco
Coventry Motel San Francisco
Coventry Inn San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coventry Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.