We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Free Parking, Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coventry Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Coventry Motor Inn to your Saves list
Coventry Motor Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1901 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save!!
Ranked #19 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Value, Free Parking, Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Free parking is a big deal around here and the Coventry Motor Inn came through.
Security at the hotel was very tight. You need your room key to get inside the building at all times.
The room was very spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was also very large.
The decor was outdated in the room but we didn't spend much time there anyway. For all practical purposes this hotel served us well.
The downers were that both front desk clerks we encountered were rude. Not really sure why but they were. Our bathrrom ceiling leaked water froom the room above when they were showering. Odd. The elevator was a bit dated but it worked. I preferred the stairs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    446
    60
    9
    1
See reviews for
262
495
37
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kempsey, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

If you are expecting room service and luxury surroundings then this is not the hotel for you, but if you want clean, quiet accommodation in a great location you will find it here. Our room was huge with a big bay window with table and chairs, super comfy king bed, massive tv and large bathroom. The Coventry really only offers accommodation but there is so much around you it doesn't matter. The staff are wonderful and willing to help with all enquiries and patiently marked maps for us each day and told us what buses to catch.

One block away is the 30 bus that will take you right near Fishermans Wharf or cable cars that connect straight to the city, or its 20 minute walk!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed here again for 4 days over NYE. Really great location next to the Marina district and Union street. Can walk lots of places for drinks/food or catch the 30 bus a block away on Chestnut.

Asked for and received a room on the 3rd floor in the back of the motel which was VERY quiet. Same room we had as last time. Has free WiFi and parking. Staff very nice and price was right considering it was a holiday weekend. Room was clean and has a nice AC/heating unit with a fan that you can use for "white" noise to sleep. Very comfortable beds and newer TV.

Only reason doesn't get 5 stars is because no fridge or microwave which comes in handy when staying for more than a few days or bringing leftovers from the restaurants.

Room Tip: back of the motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed here a few days ago and this place is CHEAP - so cheap that I booked TWO double rooms for my children and I to stay in. The price for 2 rooms was the same price that I paid for 1 room in Santa Monica.

So I didn't have high expectations - but I have to happily say that this place was truly WONDERFUL and I would not hesitate to stay here every time I was in San Francisco.

The rooms are extremely large and clean, the beds had foam mattresses so are generally harder than innerspring, but I found them quite comfortable and I had a satisfying night sleep each night we were here. The parking is FREE and the internet is also FREE.

The location is fantastic - we walked all around the area at night and felt very safe. The Union St and Chestnut St shops and cafe's were very close and served excellent food for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

It's a quick drive to the Golden Gate Bridge, Parks, Piers for sightseeing or the Alcatraz Tour, and also less than a 5min drive to the city for shopping.

I would definitely go again.

Just one quick note - it's on a main road and can be quite noisy. We were so tired each night that it didn't really bother us too much - but you may want to ask for a room away from the road.

Room Tip: It's on a main road - so you will have to ask for a room at the back if you have trouble sleepin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Coventry Motor Inn, for the price its in a great loation. Maybe about 20min walk to the centre, but the free parking they offer makes up for it.

The hotel is nice from the outside, the lobby areas are nice, brightly lit and clean.

For the price we paid for the hotel the rooms were big and spacious, and clean. There was a safe in the room also, aswell as tea/coffee makin facilities.

The hotel staff are very helpfull and will answer any questions that you have on places to visit and eat.

The room had a massive bed that was so comfy, the room was very clean and so was the bathroom. This is a hotel i would go back to and recommend to anyone who is visiting. Such a great warm and friendly hotel close to everything you want from SF.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicagoland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were really going on our faith in other TripAdvisor reviewers when we booked the Coventry Motor Inn for our recent trip to San Francisco with our two boys. It just seemed too good to be true - $100 a night AND free parking in San Francisco???? It ended up being a terrific, friendly, uber-clean motel and we had an extremely large room with two queen beds and a sitting area with a table, chairs, and a loveseat. We absolutely loved the location, just blocks away from fabulous restaurants and shops on Union Street and Chestnut Street. Public transportation was also nearby and easy to take advantage of. The only problem we encountered was two of our windows wouldn't close properly, but once we reported this to the front desk they had someone up to fix them in less than 10 minutes. I would recommend the Coventry Motor Inn to anyone and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked the Coventry Motor Inn based on the reviews and expecting it to be basic, but we were very pleasantly surprised. The room was quite large and very clean and the standard of the room was much higher than we were expecting. Yes it is a bit of a walk to the centre, but we knew that, and this is offset by the free parking. We had a really nice 2 night stay before touring down the coast and the Coventry was just what we needed. Warm, comfortable, clean and convenient. The front office staff were really helpful and pointed out places to eat. Mel's is OK, but for breakfast try the Home Plate, just up the road on the opposite side of Lombard Street. It doesn't look much but it is fantastic. All in all a very good inn for the money

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, it does help a bit, but this is a city
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coventry Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coventry Motor Inn

Address: 1901 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coventry Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coventry Motor Inn features spacious, tastefully decorated rooms. Rooms are available with your choice of one king, two queen, or two double beds to ensure your comfort.Each room has a comfortable, well lit seating and work area, individually controlled heat and air-conditioning, direct-dial phone, coffee maker, and color TV.Other conviniences include free covered parking and ready public transportation to all parts of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Coventry Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coventry Motor Hotel San Francisco
Coventry Hotel San Francisco
Coventry Motel San Francisco
Coventry Inn San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coventry Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.