We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coventry Motor Inn

Save Saved
You added Coventry Motor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coventry Motor Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1901 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct and Save!!
Ranked #12 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We spend 3 nights in this hotel. The location is great, near many restaurants and shops. The rooms are amazing and the service is perfect. I just had some issues with the noise in the rooms : we ear a lot of cars... The windows is not silencious enought.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    409
    399
    51
    6
    1
See reviews for
236
441
33
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

we stayed 4 nights in september and had a great stay. The hotel is conveniently located: walking distance from trendy chestnut street and not far from the fisherman's pier. There is also a convenience store at the corner across the street.
The bedrooms are large, bed comfortable, bathroom spotless. Receptionists were professional and helpful but don't expect the LA style enthusiasm. Very good price for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Will definitely stay at this motel again, location is good and the staff is the best we've encountered in a long time; Isbelle/a was exceptionally knowledgeable and helpful in answering all our questions. Weekend rate is a bit steep but then again for San Francisco it was probably OK, week rates were good. Would recommend to anyone visiting SF. The Plant Cafe a couple of streets up has great organic sandwiches and Mel's Diner, down the street from motel, served as our breakfast place, they give a lot for the money, one breakfast can serve two people.. All in all very happy we chose this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose room in back to avoid noise factor as Lombard Street can get quite loud at night with all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This hotel exceeded our expectations. We were looking for value and most definitely found it here. I found it by checking out the reviews and everyone was spot on with this one.

Upon arrival we were greeted by Tony who was also so happy and eager to help us out. He gave us a map and highlighted tracks and sent us on our way. Our room was great, we requested a room on the side street as per the reviews and it really was quite quiet there. There was a huge king bed (a little hard, but im not picky), free wifi and free parking. It was quite a walk to fishermans wharf which we made a few times, but taxi'd a few times also.

We had some great dinners on Chestnut Street which is so close.

We stayed in 7 hotels while visiting the USA and this way by far best value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for extra pillows and a room on the side street (starts with M)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA, USA
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Spent two nights prior to a conference at a big hotel. Enjoyed the smaller size motel as well as the friendly and helpful staff. The bed was very comfortable and the room was nicely furnished. There was space for my wife and I to both work in the room. We walked down to the bay during a break in the rain. We had great breakfast each morning (10% reduction) at the Bay Watch Restaurant a couple of blocks down the street at the Cow Hollow Inn, which is part of the same group on inns. Would definitely stay again if and when we return to San Francisco.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at the Coventry Motor Inn numerous times over the past decade. It's always clean, the beds are huge, comfortable and quiet. And I guarantee you won't find a more helpful or friendlier staff anywhere! This hotel is located close to major Muni lines, so it's easy to get anywhere in the city, including Fisherman's Wharf, North Beach, Chinatown, Union Square, The Golden Gate Bridge, Golden Gate Park and AT&T Park (Go Giants), or to connect to BART. There are great restaurants on both Union and Chestnut streets within a few minutes walk from the hotel, and you can be at Crissy Field, the Marina Green and Fort Mason inside of a half-hour at a leisurely stroll. This place is the best value in the city, nay, the world, bar none.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights as part of a West Coast road trip. We booked late but prices were still favourable. Parking was FREE (the only place to offer this on our trip so far) so that was a huge plus after paying up to $30 per night in some places. Internet access was very important to us so we could plan the next leg of our road trip and it was offered here free of charge (as you come to expect), except for one night when we could not gain access.

The hotel itself was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The staff were extremely polite and professional at all times. After reading other reviews on here we asked for a room at the back of the property (the main road is BUSY) and we found it to be very quiet. We did get woken once at 3am by the sound of the TV from the room next door, but this was an isolated occurrence and we put it down to disrespectful guests!

The location was perfect for what we had planned. Less than 20 minutes walking and we were in Fisherman's wharf. We walked this several times and its a great place to sample the local seafood or have a look in the tourist souvenir shops. We rented bikes from here to cycle the Golden Gate Bridge. For Union Square, you can catch a bus from one block away that will take you there in about 20 minutes. If you don't want to go into Union Square, Chestnut Street is one block away and has plenty of shops, delis and restaurants. Also Amici's pizzeria on Lombard Street does an excellent pizza (my wife is Italian so that is high praise indeed!)

On the whole I would highly recommend this hotel. We would definitely consider staying here (or in one of the sister properties) if we ever come to town again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coventry Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coventry Motor Inn

Address: 1901 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#68 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coventry Motor Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coventry Motor Inn features spacious, tastefully decorated rooms. Rooms are available with your choice of one king, two queen, or two double beds to ensure your comfort.Each room has a comfortable, well lit seating and work area, individually controlled heat and air-conditioning, direct-dial phone, coffee maker, and color TV.Other conviniences include free covered parking and ready public transportation to all parts of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Coventry Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coventry Motor Hotel San Francisco
Coventry Hotel San Francisco
Coventry Motel San Francisco
Coventry Inn San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coventry Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.