We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coventry Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Coventry Motor Inn to your Saves list
Coventry Motor Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1901 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Marina District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

This hotel is just fine. Brilliant location. Almost level 15 walk to Fisherman Wharf. Lovely restaurants and shops on chestnut street one block away and Union Street shops a few blocks uphill. the room at the back was very quiet and had a good view of Downtown SF and Pacific Heights too. Lovely clean spacious room . We asked for a fridge and it was in the room. Recently refurbished I think, bathroom was lovely. bed very comfy. Friendly helpful staff and the bonus of a free in and out garage just makes this the perfect place to stay for budget hotel. Highly recommend the Spanish restaurant opposite called Alegrias...fantastic meal and lovely service too at very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a back room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBristol234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
136 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

A very nice hotel in a great location. Priced just right for a budget minded tourist. The room was spacious ,clean and comfortable. Less than a block away from a bus that can take you to many want to see places. The bus was 2 dollars and you received a transfer which could be used again and again until it expired.Must have exact change. This hotel also offered free parking rare for the San Fran area. If you want it quiet ask for a room in back , front rooms are a little noisy due to street traffic. Staff was friendly and helpful. Lots of restaurants within walking distance. There was also a small store on corner for snacks and beverages,neighborhood seemed very safe. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms in back sre quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boopdboop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

After much searching on the internet I decided to stay here and I was very happy with my choice. It is a nice hotel in a great location with FREE PARKING! The staff was very nice and helpful. No knocking on the door even at 11am with the "Do not desturb" sign. Lots of great bars & cafe's nearby. I will be back!!

Room Tip: Try and stay on the side street side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Very good motel; excellent location for sightseeing. Noisy rooms (if you're in the front of the motel).

Room Tip: Make sure room is not on the main street; very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mawmawanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

The Lion's Club Eye Clinic in San Fran booked a room for us here while my husband was receiving treatment. (It was quickly apparent to us that parking would be impossible.) Not only was the staff efficient and friendly, the room was very clean, roomy and comfortable. And best of all? Free parking! Additionally, the location was perfect for our need to come and go from the Eye Clinic by taxi at a reasonable rate. We have been there 3 times so far and expect to return at least 3 more times. It's a huge relief to know we will have a clean room and easy access to great food. This hotel made all the difference for us.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valorie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca
Level Contributor
156 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

The Coventry is one of several sister properties It is in the Marina area, where the restaurants and choices are all good! We were welcomed warmly and with a big smile, by Isabella, who made our reservation a month before. She was an asset to hotel industry. Made us feel welcome and right at home and did her job superbly well! Day of departure , she was with another wonderful employee who's name I believe was Annabelle, I hope. She started on 9/23/11. She had the same love of people Isabella had, a delight!
We liked the updated decor , new carpets, beds, and some furniture. We LOVED how quiet our room was in the back! Much quieter than it's sisters, Cow Hollow and Chelsea. It was a very pleasant experience! Thank you to all who made it so! Vincent reminded me to try Brazen Head Restaurant, right behind the hotel. WOW! We loved it!!!!!!!!! The BEST of the BEST!!!!! Thank you Vincent!

Room Tip: Back rooms are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betsybubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Coventry Motor Inn for two nights at the start of September and were delighted with the hotel.
The hotel was easy to find. Check in and out was quick and easy. Staff were very friendly. The lady on reception gave us advice on buses, trams, directions etc and was only too pleased to help. Our room was spacious and very clean with a large bed and seating area. Parking was free which was a real bonus. If you want to stay in the ctr of things then this hotel may not be for you as it was about a 15 minute walk from Ghardelli Square and 30 minute walk to Fishermans Wharf. Then again, if this hotel was more central it would no doubt be much more expensive.

Room Tip: We were offered a room at the back or side of the hotel. The lady at the desk explained the rooms at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshchick86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
#19 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,431 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,867 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel
Argonaut Hotel
#7 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#12 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,461 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#101 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,938 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#35 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coventry Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coventry Motor Inn

Address: 1901 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coventry Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coventry Motor Inn features spacious, tastefully decorated rooms. Rooms are available with your choice of one king, two queen, or two double beds to ensure your comfort.Each room has a comfortable, well lit seating and work area, individually controlled heat and air-conditioning, direct-dial phone, coffee maker, and color TV.Other conviniences include free covered parking and ready public transportation to all parts of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Coventry Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coventry Motor Hotel San Francisco
Coventry Hotel San Francisco
Coventry Motel San Francisco
Coventry Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing