We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Budget Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Motor Inn

Save Saved
You added Buena Vista Motor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Buena Vista Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
East Hampton, CT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very Good Budget Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

Room was clean, location good for us, front desk staff polite. Remember this is a budget hotel so the rating of very good is for a budget hotel. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    233
    141
    29
    14
See reviews for
121
220
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

The Location is perfect to visit San Francisco. Walking distance from Fishermans Warf, Union Street; the bus station to Fillmore street in quite near. The staff is very kind . Very clean rooms. Go there , definitely

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

I stayed there 3 nights. It was very quite, clean and safe. The parking was a bit cramped but free! That was a good deal as parking at other hotels was running $20 and up per night! The hotel is the best value in San Francisco. Close to everything. If you want to see other things ( Coit Tower, China Town ect. ) that have a little bit of walking involved the # 30 bus runs every 12 minutes just 1 block over on Chestnut St. The staff is helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

we chose this hotel after reviews from trip advisor and we were not disappointed. Rooms were basic and clean, very safe at night, its walking distance to all spots. We had 2 kids (4 & 1) and we walked to fishermans wharf (about 20 mins) and even back from Union Square (about 30 mins) so we found it was a great location. Only gripe to mention is that it does not have a bar fridge so we had to use the ice bucket to keep the milk cold and you do get a bit of street traffic noise if you are on the road side.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

My wife and I stayed at this motel in May, 2010 for 3 nights while on vacation. It is a very good looking hotel from the outside. It is an older hotel so everything is not going to be latest and greatest. However, it was very adequate for a 2 start hotel. It was clean with newer carpeting. Our room had a single queen bed and was accordingly smaller. The staff and the front desk were very friendly and helpful for any questions or needs.
The continental breakfast was cereal or danish with coffee and juice; nothing spectacular. It had a lounge area on each floor where you could eat your breakfast or just relax. The top floor had a roof patio where you could sit outside and look over the city.
It has two entrances for the inside parking garage, which is under the rooms. We had no problem with parking, even though it is tight. If it would ever happen that they have too many cars for the garage, then you have to double park and give your car keys to the front desk. We never experienced any need for that.
It is on a busy street, but the traffic noise was not an issue. It is 4 blocks from the "Crooked" section of Lombard Street. It is also very close to bus and trolley stops. The neighborhood appears to be very nice. We had no concerns about walking to restaurants or bus stops at any time of the day.

The best part of the hotel was the location and free enclosed parking (fairly close to Fisherman's Wharf). It was easy to get to various sites in the San Francisco area either by public transportation or by car.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

tried checking in at 10am; but no rooms available. front desk said we could leave our car parked in the garage and check in later, which was nice. limited parking on both levels. requested a quiet room which overlooked a neighbor's window and we were right across from the ice machine; but it was quiet. security cameras were on every floor near the elevators and down hallways so i felt secured. location was perfect, 2 blks from van ness bus stop, with 2 routes running north/south every 5 mins. we used the california street cable car (no waiting/lines in either direction) which goes west from van ness and ends @market & close to ferry bldg. to get as close to where we wanted to go. we got a 7-day visitor passport for $26, which includes unlimited muni bus, cable car and trolley use.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanson, MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

The staff were very friendly / helpful / responsive. The complimentary breakfast wasn't fantastic, but still nice to have the option (coffee/tea/oj; pastries/muffins/fruit). The hotel is semi-close to Fishermens Wharf - within walking distance (but it will be a HILLY walk). There is an attached parking garage - given the expense of parking in the city, that's what sold us on staying here. The roofdeck area was also nice.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buena Vista Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Motor Inn

Address: 1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Buena Vista Motor Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buena Vista Motor Inn is an exceptional value hotel, offering comfortable rooms, friendly service, a convenient Lombard Street location in San Francisco's Marina, and exciting Bay Area packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Buena Vista Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Motor Hotel San Francisco
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buena Vista Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.