We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Buena Vista Motor Inn to your Saves list
Buena Vista Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Marina District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in this hotel in June 2015. The neighborhood seems safe. It is a 15 minute pleasant walk to Fisherman's wharf. The rooms were a bit dated but comfortable and clean. The roof terrace and the sun room were great places to relax for a while. Staff seemed helpful enough. The breakfast was basic but good with plentiful supply of food. There is a large supermarket within 15 minutes walk. We didn't have a car so can't comment on the parking. Short walk to the "crooked street". This hotel is a good base for exploring San Francisco. I would return.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    276
    166
    36
    16
See reviews for
148
263
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Electrical outlets & lamp didn't work. Called for service on TV not working no one came. Also called for toilet paper & Kellenex (both ran out), no one came. Had to help myself to housekeeping cart. Front desk personnel were either rude or disinterested.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

On a 3000 mile motor trip we stayed in everything from Hostels to 5 star mega Hotels. All had their good and bad points of course but this hotel set a new low bar for poor customer service, which is a pity as its in a great location. But, fear not, there are multiple hotels on the same street so you can choose any of them!
When we arrived at 1pm (check in is at 3pm) we were met by a surly and disinterested receptionist who stated "you're early" in a negative tone. Well sure, we knew that and didn't expect the room would be ready, but we were made to feel that we had, in some way, done some awful wrong! So we handed over credit card, and the paperwork was completed. My wife asked to use a toilet (we had been driving some distance) and the receptionist replied, no, he couldn't help because the toilets were in the guest's section of the hotel - which had a locked door - and we weren't check-in. No idea where we could find a toilet.
Even the corner grocery store or cafe will let you use a toilet if you are in some ways a customer. Not the Buena Vista Motor Inn! A lifetime of traveling the globe and this is the very first, and I suspect last time I will ever get this type of response to such a request.
Just to be clear, this total "get stuffed' attitude was not something directed at me specifically, or that I felt and others didn't. We were all amazed. I was expecting him to laugh and say 'just joking'. But no.
The room was ok, the bed hard but the wifi was ok. There were cheery messages from the management and a survey form from memory...The breakfast was woeful. Even the cheapest motels we stayed at did better and this was one of the most expensive hotels we stayed in on our trip! Over $300 for a single room with three adults sharing.
Checkout was similarly flat. Different person at the desk but again a bored lack of interest.
So choose somewhere else. Anywhere would be better.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015 via mobile

The rooms are oldish. The hallways smell. The rooms on backside are quiet. Front desk staff are kinda friendly. The maid sort of cleans the room. Parking is tight. No safes. 15 minute walk to the wharf. Big Bus(tour bus)stops at door. Nice neighbourhood. Breakfast is basic but good. As close as you will get to the centre of the city for a decent price

Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear fastrob,

I am happy that your were kinda happy with your stay with us. We have been in the process of updating the property. We have come a long ways with painting the entire building, remodeling the lobby and Front Desk, getting new 42" flat screen TV's, new beds. And are in the process of working on updating the bathrooms.
We have had concerns sometimes when guests prepare ethnic foods with smells that go into the hallways but have been able to take care of the problems as they arise. For the most part these incidents have been very short term.
I hope your visit was more fulfilling and hope we can make it up to you in the future.

Yours Truly.

Andrew Andow and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

Booked this hotel over a year ago. Was wondering what it would be like since the price was much cheaper than other hotels a few blocks away. Well, I can finally say, it is GREAT! Parking is free (most other more expensive hotels charge extra for parking), excellent location on Lombard St, very good sized room, excellent internet, coffee maker in room, and free continental breakfast every morning. About an 8 block (20 minute) walk to Ghiridelli Square and the city site-seeing buses stop right in front of the hotel. So glad we picked this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

Great location five minutes walk from Fisherman's Wharf. Staff were excellent. Thank you very much to the man at reception who helped us with further accommodation at Yosemite. Breakfast is in the reception area which is a bit small or you can take it to the third floor into a lovely sun room. We also were able to have free parking which was wonderful and left us to enjoy Sanfransico on local travel options. There was also free wi-fi. The only downside is there are no fridges in the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

The hotel was clean (but dated) and the staff was incredibly helpful. There was a free breakfast, but it was very minimal. The location is great just a short walk to Ghirardelli, Lombard Street, and the waterfront. The hotel is a great value considering the location and ample free parking.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Redwood Inn
Redwood Inn
#117 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 396 reviews
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#116 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 839 reviews
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#125 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Nob Hill Motor Inn
Nob Hill Motor Inn
#108 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 666 reviews
Nob Hill
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#111 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 717 reviews
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#82 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buena Vista Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Motor Inn

Address: 1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Buena Vista Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buena Vista Motor Inn is an exceptional value hotel, offering comfortable rooms, friendly service, a convenient Lombard Street location in San Francisco's Marina, and exciting Bay Area packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Buena Vista Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Motor Hotel San Francisco
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buena Vista Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.