We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERRY GOOD LOCATION GOOD SERVICE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Buena Vista Motor Inn to your Saves list
Buena Vista Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Marina District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Jerusalem, Israel
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“VERRY GOOD LOCATION GOOD SERVICE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed there for 4 nights and we were very happy of the choice
Room was nice and clean and service was very good
Free parking provided which was important to us
On Lombard street in the front of the hotel there is a stop of the Big Bus Company which allows an easy way to start city tours
The hotel is at a walking distance from Fisherman wharf and public transportation is available including famous cable car
One disadvantage is breakfast and breakfast room location
The room is to small for all people having breakfast at the same time
The only pastries served are sweet and I would to suggest adding some non sweet stuf

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    264
    160
    33
    16
See reviews for
141
249
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had stayed at the Buena Vista several years ago and were very pleased. So in planning a return 5 day visit to San Francisco, we booked it again. The rate was very reasonable when we booked far in advance, and I noticed it almost doubled as our visit time approached. Lucky we booked early. We had a wedding to attend in the Presidio, and we also wanted to be close to the waterfront (Marina, Cannery, Giardelli Square, Fisherman's Wharf) with accessibility to public transportation. These were our objectives.

The Buena Vista fulfilled those objectives. And here are some of the positives. Cost, Free Parking, Continental Breakfast (Coffee, Juice, Danish, Croissants, Cereal, Fruit). Relatively quiet (in terms of street noise, Inter room noise, hall noise), And the common areas, though small, were comfortable) Front desk staff was polite and responsive and the housekeeping staff was responsive and cleaned the rooms and premises very well.

Here are the negatives:
Bathroom
Filthy exhaust vent in Bathroom, Bathtub surrounds appear to be fairly new, but shower rod was installed incorrectly, so that you could not keep the curtain closed when showering, so the floor got wet. The bathroom floor tile is cracking, probably because underlying surface has been compromised by the water.

Bedroom:
The room was completely devoid of any decoration, the walls were bare! The Wood Furniture is showing wear and the rug and Easy Chair had black grease stains. The cable TV system was not properly setup, requiring the use of two remote controls, and some stations continually dropped the signal. And lastly, the room was much smaller than the room we had several years ago.

Now none of this was so severe that we complained and /or left.
But I will say we were disappointed that management has not kept up the property

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear AandDfrom USA.

We are sorry that you were disappointed in your stay but we have been diligently working on renovations at the property. We just finished painting the entire building and remodeling of the Lobby area. As we speak the restroom renovations are under way and we are working with a designer to update the room with plans to update the rooms.
We had just installed the new flat screen TV's and were approved for an upgrade to HD TV but Comcast canceled the install and said we had to rewire the entire property or they would not proceed. We are looking for options because the $30k cost of rewiring is something we had budgeted for.
I hope with your next visit you will find us totally updated and to your satisfaction.

Yours Truly.

Andrew Andow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent location. Marvellous hotel in good district large room good bathroom. FREE parking in San Francisco! Unbelievable. Breakfast fine and you can take to the roof terrace with views of Golden Gate Bridge. There is also a shady little garden all this in the heart of the city. Truly fantastic. We'll done we should certainly return here.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Janiensk,

We are truly happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate that you find us such a great value.We are currently in the process of updating all of our rooms so the next time you stay you can say how much we have improved.

Best Regards.

Andrew Andow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is modest but nice and has a fair price. The staff is very friendly and helfpful. We were able to add an extra bed in our room to accomodate 5 adults instead of having to rent two separate bedrooms which was great. Location is good, not right in the city centre like most hotels, but has a bus stop very close. Walking distance to Fisherman's wharf is about 20-30 min. Breakfast area is not designed to accomodate too many people but we had a table and chairs in our room so it was easy to bring everything back to the room on a plate. Would definitively recommand if your budget is limited as you get great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Adelaide,

Thank you for your kind review. We are in the process of updating our property and hope that your next visit will be an even greater value. We are always striving to improve the quality of our service and amenities.

Best Regards.

Andrew Andow and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

The goods: Clean place, free (small) parking, breakfast included. About 15 minutes walking to Fisherman's Wharf, two blocks away from Union St and one from Chestnut St. It is not a bad hotel, but it is not a good one either. Fair price for the value, considering San Francisco standard average.

The bads: Breakfast is served on a place that fits for no more than 10 people simultaneously, which rarely is enough. The street in front of the hotel is quite busy all day long. During the night, it can be a little noisy. Small room, not much space for luggage.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear 2014Marit..,

We are happy you found us a good place to stay. Thank you for letting us take the worry of being comfortable while you spend your important time taking in our beautiful city.
When you visit again in the future please come and stay with us. We should be even better the 2nd time around.

Best Regards.

Andrew Andow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

Having read reviews on this hotel we chose to stay here because it was placed fairly central to the attractions we wanted to see, the bus stopped very close by and the price was good compared to other hotels in the city. We asked for, and got a quiet room, away from the main roads. Our view was on to the entry way of some private apartments which suited us fine as we did not intend to spend hours in the room. Our room was comfortable and fairly spacious and everything worked OK. The staff were friendly, polite and very helpful. The area where breakfast is served is definitely too small for the amount of rooms the hotel has but you can take your food back to your room or do as we did and take it up to the small sun room on the 3rd floor. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the main roads unless you like watching the traffic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Sandy T,


Thank you for staying with us for all the right reasons. We are truly blessed with the perfect location just outside the touristy area but within walking distance of many attractions and local gems.
As you stated our breakfast area is limited but you took advantage of all of the options we like for our guests to consider.
The weather here has been exceptional partly due to a long drought but is perfect for visitors to get the most of the short time you have to cram all of you activities in.
It also affords the guest who loves to take peaceful breaks outside on the observation deck just to chill.
My staff and I are always striving to add value to our property and the next time you come to visit, I hope you will enjoys our ongoing improvements.

Best Regards.

Andrew Andow and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

This is a good value motel in the heart of San Francisco. There is nothing fancy but the rooms are clean, the service is good, and the breakfast is good. The parking is free but tight - don't bring a huge truck or SUV! There were clean linens, clean bathroom, no issues there. The furnishings are dated - maybe early 80s? But clean and in good repair. For breakfast there were some cheerios and flake cereal, milk, bananas, apples, and pastries, and coffee and tea. Good value for the price. No view at all but was told that the "side" was quieter so we got a room that was quieter but view of a wall, which was okay.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear marshallmakin,

Very happy that you were ok with the quiet side room. Surprisingly, there are guest who like that side, saying that they only have so much time to enjoy the city and come back only to get a quick shut eye before they continue their explorations. San Francisco is such a great location that they use us a base to check out Napa Valley to Muir Woods taking in as much as they can in just a short time. What we say is you need to come back again. We hope you won't think we are so average the next time around.

Best Regards.

Andrew Andow and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buena Vista Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Motor Inn

Address: 1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Buena Vista Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buena Vista Motor Inn is an exceptional value hotel, offering comfortable rooms, friendly service, a convenient Lombard Street location in San Francisco's Marina, and exciting Bay Area packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Buena Vista Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Motor Hotel San Francisco
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buena Vista Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.