We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goods and bads” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Buena Vista Motor Inn to your Saves list
Buena Vista Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Marina District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Goods and bads”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The goods: Clean place, free (small) parking, breakfast included. About 15 minutes walking to Fisherman's Wharf, two blocks away from Union St and one from Chestnut St. It is not a bad hotel, but it is not a good one either. Fair price for the value, considering San Francisco standard average.

The bads: Breakfast is served on a place that fits for no more than 10 people simultaneously, which rarely is enough. The street in front of the hotel is quite busy all day long. During the night, it can be a little noisy. Small room, not much space for luggage.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    261
    159
    33
    16
See reviews for
138
247
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having read reviews on this hotel we chose to stay here because it was placed fairly central to the attractions we wanted to see, the bus stopped very close by and the price was good compared to other hotels in the city. We asked for, and got a quiet room, away from the main roads. Our view was on to the entry way of some private apartments which suited us fine as we did not intend to spend hours in the room. Our room was comfortable and fairly spacious and everything worked OK. The staff were friendly, polite and very helpful. The area where breakfast is served is definitely too small for the amount of rooms the hotel has but you can take your food back to your room or do as we did and take it up to the small sun room on the 3rd floor. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the main roads unless you like watching the traffic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a good value motel in the heart of San Francisco. There is nothing fancy but the rooms are clean, the service is good, and the breakfast is good. The parking is free but tight - don't bring a huge truck or SUV! There were clean linens, clean bathroom, no issues there. The furnishings are dated - maybe early 80s? But clean and in good repair. For breakfast there were some cheerios and flake cereal, milk, bananas, apples, and pastries, and coffee and tea. Good value for the price. No view at all but was told that the "side" was quieter so we got a room that was quieter but view of a wall, which was okay.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloverdale, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is centrally located in the heart of "Cow Hollow"; easy access to restaurants, parks, local sites and public transportation. Nice breakfast area and breakfast items. In room coffee maker. Free parking is a big plus.
The hotel is in need of a makeover and hopefully it will happen soon because it could be a real gem.

Room Tip: 3rd floor, back of hotel is quieter. Third floor has a little gathering spot overlooking the Golden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

So, they have parking, large clean rooms, lovely continental breakfast and roof top conservatory and outdoor seating. It is in the perfect location, the staff were friendly, I don't think I have anything bad to say. When we first turned up there was scaffolding and I thought what have I done but first impressions were very wrong, they were painting, its cream not pink now, love it love it, love it!

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs,Ar
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Even though we chose this as a result of reading good reviews, we were a bit nervous, considering the price in expensive San Francisco. No, it is not elegant by any stretch of the imagination, but it IS clean, comfortable, convenient, and includes parking, which is a big plus. Rooms are large, beds are comfortable. We paid extra to get a back side room away from Lombard street, and it was worth it. No decor in the rooms at all, and it would have been nice to have at least a mirror. The lobby could certainly use a makeover to be more appealing, and a microwave would help with the dry looking pastries. Would we come back? Yes!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Myself and my partner stayed 4 nights in this hotel. Each day we either hopped on the hop on hop bus which you can at the front door, fantastic, or we walked down to our destination. The rooms are large and have whatever you need for your stay. Our room was on 3rd floor next to the lift and near the breakfast room. Breakfast was ordinary. My only complaint was the bed linen was not changed at all during our stay, which I felt was not acceptable. After many years working in hospitality I feel this area was lacking. Upon our return home I received an email from manager of the property asking us to comment on our stay, in which I stated I felt bed linen should have been changed. To this date he has not responded.

Room Tip: Not too close to communal room on 3rd floor. Night revellers stayed up late and were roudy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buena Vista Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Motor Inn

Address: 1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Buena Vista Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buena Vista Motor Inn is an exceptional value hotel, offering comfortable rooms, friendly service, a convenient Lombard Street location in San Francisco's Marina, and exciting Bay Area packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Buena Vista Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Motor Hotel San Francisco
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buena Vista Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.