We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely customer service, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Buena Vista Motor Inn to your Saves list
Buena Vista Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Lennox Head, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely customer service, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

San Francisco was our first stop flying in from Australia, the gentleman on the front desk gave us an option of the front of the hotel with a view or the back where it is quieter. We chose the back option which was quieter until the breakfast was moved upstairs while they renovated downstairs so early every morning we could hear the staff dragging things across the floor. We have two young children who wake early anyway and we were always keen to get up early and off to explore so it was kind of our wake up call.

We had two morning breakfasts up stairs and one downstairs and I would have to say take it back upstairs, it was a much better option. Nicer atmosphere, more seating and a view of the bridge. I had read the reviews about breakfast prior to staying here so I new what to expect and enjoyed it every morning and our kids thought it was a real treat having muffins and danishes for breakfast which they wouldn't have at home.

Overall this hotel was a nice start to our holiday and the staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were simple and clean which is all we wanted when only sleeping in there.

Thank you Buena Vista for a nice welcoming start to our holiday.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    241
    148
    32
    14
See reviews for
127
230
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived after a long trip, and found the hotel easily.

We parked up, and found the under hotel parking a little tight, but very adequate. A hotel with parking in San Francisco is a great advantage in itself.

Entrance is up a series of steps, and the reception staff were friendly.

We were offered a couple of different rooms, one with a view, and one that was quieter. We chose the room with a view, however it was not much of a view.

We had to pay for a fold down bed for our son, and that was not an issue. They did not however prepare the bed at all, and we found we had to do this ourselves. I was not happy about this, and once the bed was setup the room had no/zero/zilch space! Fortunately as we were not planning to spend a long time in the room, we were not too concerned.

Breakfast is served in the reception, but is best taken back to your room. I ran the shuttle for my family, and found it very acceptable. Tea/Coffee/juice plus croissants with fruit were available. Remember to take your tray down from the room, as none are available in the reception.

Location is the best feature. The Muni is a block away in any direction, and Fisherman's Wharf a 15/20 minute walk. The walk is very pleasant especially if you walk up to the bay first then along the promenade.

Bathroom was very basic, and the shower cubicle a bizarre plate of glass that you slid along a metal slot in the floor.

Apart from this a fine experience that I'd repeat again.

Room Tip: Might try the quiet room if I came again, as view not very special
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was convent to fishermans wharf, liked the breakfast even though it's jyst muffins and pastries, rooms had cracks in wall and outdated. Shuttle just outside door , convienent.. The maid left a nasty note accusing us of smoking in room which was untrue. Wouldn't stay here again

Room Tip: Don't get room Lombard side, very noisy traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When we checked in we were given a first floor room at the back. It was very dark and very depressing with a tall brick wall a few feet from the window. We complained following morning and were moved to a larger room at the front on the same floor for the remaining 3 nights of our stay. Apart from road noise this room was fine. Décor and carpets a bit tired and dated and breakfast basic but adequate.
The hotel is located close to bus routes and you can walk to Fisherman's Wharf in a brisk 20 minutes. Although we did not have a car there is free parking underneath the hotel. Staff were friendly enough and generally efficient. Not cheap but probably reasonable value for San Francisco. Would possibly stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose room carefully. Rooms at back are quieter but avoid those with view of a wall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Oxscot,

Thank you for you review. Unfortunately you stayed just before our final phase to update our property which will be complete by the end of the year. I hope you can return and witness the transformation from what is was when you stayed here.

Best Regards.

Andrew Andow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in this hotel in September 2014 and were generally a little disappointed. The room was clean but the decor was very poor. There were 2 patches on the wall under the television which had been repaired with a filler but had not been painted over. I felt this was very disappointing as it made the room look shabby and touching up these areas would not have cost a great deal.
The location was good with a short walk to the nearest bus stop, and the staff were pleasant.
The tour bus actually stops in front of the hotel which is a bonus

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Peter D,

I'm sorry you felt that we had not followed up in repairing the patch on the wall. We recently installed new HD flat screen TV's and changed the location up the wall for easier viewing. The repairs are being staged as we are doing a full paint renovation for the entire room. The next stage is to retexture and prep the entire room and bathroom walls for fresh paint. I am sorry you were caught between these stages. We will be finished with the complete renovations of the property before the end of the year and we are making sure to do it correctly so our future guest will enjoy our new rooms.
Again I thank you for your understanding.

Yours Truly.

Andrew Andow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is in need of a refurbish and although clean has a tired appearance the rooms are in need of a makeover, all our plug sockets wouldn't hold our plugs, they seemed to fall out and had to be propped up with various items to be able to charge. The breakfast we were told was continental however it neither continental or breakfast it was a cake and coffee, I do feel to say you have breakfast this is misleading and shouldn't be stated on advertisement The best feature is that it is approximately 10 minutes walking to fisherman's walf. I wouldn't stay here again and wouldn't recommend to friends.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Andrew R.

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay at our property. We are currently in the process of renovating our rooms with fresh paint and repairs which should conclude before the end of the year.
For our breakfast: Dictionary.com- The definition of a continental breakfast is a light morning meal that is provided by many hotels and motels. It traditionally includes bread products, fruit juice and hot beverages.
Our free breakfast consists of 14 varieties of pasties which include croissants, turnovers, danish and muffins freshly baked and delivered every morning. We also provide apples, bananas, coffee and orange juice. Though very basic, this is standard for many hotels that offer a free Continental Breakfast within the city.
If you are expecting a full American Breakfast there is the Golo Café (top rated) located right across the street from us, which serves an excellent breakfast for around $12 - $16 dollars. Many of our guest come back raving about how great they are.

Best Regards,

Andrew Andow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed for 3 nights during week days. The Buena Vista is fairly well located with easy access to many key spots. Many shops and restaurants near by on Union and Chestnut street. All in 10 min walking distance. Tour bus stop right infront of the hotel.
The hotel certainly needs renovation, but in a city like SF you have to choose where you spend you money, hencs value for money is just about ok.
Staff is very friendly and tries to help where possible
Parking space is very limited. But even when full the staff tries to find a solution so your car is Taken care of.

Room Tip: The hotel is right at HWY101 which is very noisy even with the windows closed. We had to switch the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Awala2000,

Thank you for your review. It is very honest in saying we need a renovation, but I am happy to inform you that it is in progress and should be done by the end of the year. Having one of the best locations in town has been a big plus but now we are able to invest in long overdue update, which we are very excited about. By the end of the year all rooms will have been repaired and painted to make us one of the best values in town.
I wish you are able to come to see our new and improved property.

Best Regards.

Andrew Andow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buena Vista Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Motor Inn

Address: 1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Buena Vista Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buena Vista Motor Inn is an exceptional value hotel, offering comfortable rooms, friendly service, a convenient Lombard Street location in San Francisco's Marina, and exciting Bay Area packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Buena Vista Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Motor Hotel San Francisco
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buena Vista Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.