We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Buena Vista Motor Inn to your Saves list
Buena Vista Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Broomfield, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We spent $310 for a one night stay at this motel on a Friday (weekend nite). Though it sports a roof top deck, it is tiny & smells of cigarettes from the 2 wall installed ashtrays. You do get a nice view of the golden gate bridge however! The place is pretty run down & in serious need of an overhaul. There was a slight odor & it felt overall like things were not as clean as they could be (in our room) & certainly not worth $310/nite. The breakfast was just okay (slightly stale danishes & watered down coffee). The parking lot below is awakward to get in & out of & the location of the motel is pretty noisy (though it is in rather close proximity to some of the tourist stops. Overall, I'm glad we only spent 1 nite there, but overall felt a bit ripped off. I can't say I would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: If you stay here opt for a room in the back of the hotel to avoid all the noise from the street traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    235
    143
    30
    14
See reviews for
123
222
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex,
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights with our 2 adult children, all in one room. We found it to be more than adequate for our needs, afterall we were out most of the time. Had a problem with the room card not working but it was sorted straight away. We were on the top floor looking over the rear of hotel, quiet and a view of the backs of houses etc which we actually found quite interesting coming from the UK. Best thing was location, a flat 25 min walk to fishermans walk and on the same route as The Big Bus Tour. We also walked to the crookedest street and the Mrs Doubtfire house.

Breakfast was cakes, pastries and fruit, plus tea, coffee and juices but plenty of it. Best to take it to the sitting area on 3rd floor, or back to your room.

Area seemed safe.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 2 nights, location was right for us, reception team very helpful. Good size room but overlooked the back of the hotel so not a great view. Room was clean. Expensive for this type of motel room but it was San Francisco so to be expected due to location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a great place to stay. Myself wife and child stayed here and was in a perfect location to the pier precinct and restaurants in Union street. Staff were very nice and helpful too. Locals nearby were friendly and didn't see any "riff raff" nice and clean also.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I would not recommend the Buena Vista Motor Inn. I recently stay here with my family it was very disappointing. Rooms were dated, not clean, smelled like smoke and needed updating. There is no lobby and the breakfast was very poor. This hotel cost me $300 per night. It should have been $129 per night. We booked very late, but still very poor value. Our first room smelled like smoke so much that we had to complain. We were told it was a no smoking room and the smoke was coming in from next door. We switched rooms and the smell was not there. But the rooms needed an updating badly. The paint was peeling and chipped the furniture was 1980's at best and the halls were dark and not interesting. The bathroom was also in need of an updating. It seems that a lot of the travelers here are from Europe. This hotel is not representative of hotels in the USA for this price. Do not stay here there are better choices in San Francisco.

Room Tip: Both street and back are poor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is not only in a great location, inexpensive for San Francisco, and pink but also has FREE PARKING. The rooms are quite large, nicely furnished and very clean. The bathrooms are small but nicely finished. The beds are very comfortable and the A/C provides nice white noise. Breakfast is provided and ample with great coffee. Right on Lombard Street and a 10 minute walk from everything. Free Parking will save you $$ as nobody else offers it. Stay here and you cannot miss.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I went to this hotel after leaving another hotel ( diva hotel ) in SF
Selected it based in the TA reviews

Although the rooms , at least mine 316, need some renovation they are clean and that's the most I'm interested in

I would ban the moquette either from every hotel on the planet but this is to ask too much

Hotel is located in a safe and quiet neighborhood , no homeless as in union square
I asked for a room with garden view to avoid street noises and it was very quiet indeed

Staff is very keen on helping
As others said the breakfast is minimal and you have to carry your tray up to third floor or in the room because of the lack of space on the hall

Overall is a good choice for the price

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buena Vista Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Motor Inn

Address: 1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Buena Vista Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buena Vista Motor Inn is an exceptional value hotel, offering comfortable rooms, friendly service, a convenient Lombard Street location in San Francisco's Marina, and exciting Bay Area packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Buena Vista Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Motor Hotel San Francisco
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buena Vista Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.