We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Choice for San Francisco” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Motor Inn

Save Saved
You added Buena Vista Motor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Buena Vista Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Bad Choice for San Francisco”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I would not recommend the Buena Vista Motor Inn. I recently stay here with my family it was very disappointing. Rooms were dated, not clean, smelled like smoke and needed updating. There is no lobby and the breakfast was very poor. This hotel cost me $300 per night. It should have been $129 per night. We booked very late, but still very poor value. Our first room smelled like smoke so much that we had to complain. We were told it was a no smoking room and the smoke was coming in from next door. We switched rooms and the smell was not there. But the rooms needed an updating badly. The paint was peeling and chipped the furniture was 1980's at best and the halls were dark and not interesting. The bathroom was also in need of an updating. It seems that a lot of the travelers here are from Europe. This hotel is not representative of hotels in the USA for this price. Do not stay here there are better choices in San Francisco.

Room Tip: Both street and back are poor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    232
    141
    29
    14
See reviews for
120
220
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntersville
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel is not only in a great location, inexpensive for San Francisco, and pink but also has FREE PARKING. The rooms are quite large, nicely furnished and very clean. The bathrooms are small but nicely finished. The beds are very comfortable and the A/C provides nice white noise. Breakfast is provided and ample with great coffee. Right on Lombard Street and a 10 minute walk from everything. Free Parking will save you $$ as nobody else offers it. Stay here and you cannot miss.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I went to this hotel after leaving another hotel ( diva hotel ) in SF
Selected it based in the TA reviews

Although the rooms , at least mine 316, need some renovation they are clean and that's the most I'm interested in

I would ban the moquette either from every hotel on the planet but this is to ask too much

Hotel is located in a safe and quiet neighborhood , no homeless as in union square
I asked for a room with garden view to avoid street noises and it was very quiet indeed

Staff is very keen on helping
As others said the breakfast is minimal and you have to carry your tray up to third floor or in the room because of the lack of space on the hall

Overall is a good choice for the price

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was fantastic for the price we paid. The rooms were clean and the staff friendly and helpful. The location was very good. It felt like a very safe area. We were able to walk to the touristy bits of San Fran from the hotel. It is also very close to the cable car stops etc. breakfast was also very nice. The breakfast room itself was quite small but we just took ours back up to the room. Parking is also available at the hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

room was ok bathroom could do with updating but room was cleaned well every day. staff were friendly and helpful. close to marina area, 10mins walk. tour bus stopped right outside door. was a bit road noisy. breakfast was pastrys and coffee or juice and fruit. not very appertising.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here in August 2014 - had a lovely spacious room, very clean, and with really awesome complimentary toiletries. We were traveling with a car, so it was quite easy for us to navigate. Great location - The "Crooked street" is within the walking distance as are some other sightseeing points. It was a bit tricky to park the car- but I assume that's because of the high season. Also, there's a sightseeing bus stop right in front of the hotel - may be convenient for some. The staff was very helpful and welcoming! Would come here again for sure:)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location perfect, free car parking, the staff absolutely fantastic,nothing to much trouble for them.really enjoyed our stay their would recomend to everyone.Clean andvery friendly.The big bus company that has tours round the city stop right outside,you can get tickets from reception.

Room Tip: We had back room very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buena Vista Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Motor Inn

Address: 1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Buena Vista Motor Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buena Vista Motor Inn is an exceptional value hotel, offering comfortable rooms, friendly service, a convenient Lombard Street location in San Francisco's Marina, and exciting Bay Area packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Buena Vista Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Motor Hotel San Francisco
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buena Vista Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.